21st Century Fox Reviews | Glassdoor

21st Century Fox Reviews

Updated 7 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
21st Century Fox CEO James Murdoch and Lachlan Murdoch (no image)
James Murdoch and Lachlan Murdoch
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "And just great people to work with(in 8 reviews)

  • "Forward thinking in use of technology, good benefits, employee screenings, lunch time learning opportunities(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work-life balance, Unreasonable expectations at times(in 5 reviews)

  • "With the Disney acquisition the work environment is not a very healthy one; everyone is on edge and expecting to be let go(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Coordinator 

    I have been working at 21st Century Fox full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, entrepreneurial environment to work in

    Cons

    Compensation is lacking at lower levels

    21st Century Fox2019-06-11
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 21st Century Fox full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, Good compensation & benefits, Competitive and fast paced work environment

    Cons

    No work-life balance, Unreasonable expectations at times

    21st Century Fox2019-10-08
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at 21st Century Fox full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Forward thinking in use of technology, good benefits, employee screenings, lunch time learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Depending on the area, work environment can be very collaborative or rather isolating.

    21st Century Fox2019-08-12
  4. "Not great atmosphere anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at 21st Century Fox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun company with a great environment and an ever-changing experiences.

    Cons

    With the Disney acquisition the work environment is not a very healthy one; everyone is on edge and expecting to be let go.

    21st Century Fox2019-08-15
  5. "Decent media job for starting out and building a resume, but not one to stay in long-term if you are looking for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 21st Century Fox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very laid back and accepting environment for an office. Decent pay for what job is. Flexible scheduling with proper notice of conflict. GREAT healthcare plans.

    Cons

    Low and infrequent raises. No room for upward growth. May be asked to do several different jobs outside of your job description for no increase in pay.

    Advice to Management

    Since direct office management isn't responsible for pay grade or growth opportunity, there isn't much they can do to make the job better in those areas. Management is actually pretty great in the Atlanta office.

    21st Century Fox2019-03-21
  6. "A great place to gain so much experience and knowledge..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Century City, CA

    I have been working at 21st Century Fox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So many talented and smart people to work with...

    Cons

    Way too many personalities to deal with...

    21st Century Fox2019-03-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "New Company but no new ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Management in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 21st Century Fox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Location - prime real estate CTO and CISO offices have great new technology ideas - shame about the choice of CIOs .

    Cons

    All good talents are going to Disney. No new talents to develop the company, old dogs and no new tricks. Unwillingless to change. Top Heavy, there are more CIOs in the new spinned off Fox Corp than the 80% that are being sold to Disney, and all waiting for retirement. Not investing in any new idea or technologies. Cannot realize the real potential of the studio and remaining assets. lack of diversity... in senior management in operations. FoxNews...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    get rid of the old (white) boys club mentality, take a chance on a more diverse work force.

    21st Century Fox2019-03-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "No real leadership!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Specialist in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 21st Century Fox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can get away with murder at this company. It’s great. The manangers don’t come out of their office and the director plays on Facebook all day. The supervisors try their best but no one has their backs so there is only so much they can do. HR and the GM are the worst but since they only focus on looking good it’s a playground. I watch streaming videos all day and then go home, just like the managers.... Since no one has a clue the “substances” flow freely. Buying and selling is rampant and you can be pretty out of it and no one will know or care. They also don’t promote diversity or innovation, which I am a fan of. I’m tired of seeing those people get handouts and those other types push their agenda. If you want a job or a promotion just agree with HR and move right in. As long as all the basic boxes are checked you got an easy job for life.

    Show More

    Cons

    None. Seriously, this place is amazing. You get a great paycheck and the managers don’t care what you do after that. HR and the head guy don’t have a clue so you never have to interact with them.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t change, keep being the way you are.

    21st Century Fox2019-01-24
  9. "Was a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at 21st Century Fox full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the people were great to work with

    Cons

    large uncertainty with it being bought by disney

    21st Century Fox2019-01-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in Century City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 21st Century Fox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved most of the people I worked with and enjoyed the cool factor and perks of being on a studio lot. I had a great work/life balance and I never felt pressure to work long hours or on weekends (but there were others, particularly on the product team, who felt obliged to be on-call too often). The design team is also full of talented folks who are all lovable and laid-back. My manager was by far the best I've... ever had the good fortune to work with. And I say "work with"' because unlike other manager/direct report relationships, he gave me the autonomy to learn, experiment, and thrive by giving me opportunities, as opposed to micromanaging me or treating me like just another worker bee. He cared about my career goals and asked me how I wanted to shape it at Fox. Were it not for regrettable organizational changes, his vision for the design team would have included a place for me to continue to lead and innovate.

    Show More

    Cons

    The organizational structure is too hierarchical, there are too many executives with large egos, and too many cooks in the kitchen that prevent working in an actual agile environment and pushing quality products. I was also underpaid the market value for my skillset and experience and I learned others are severely underpaid overall. Morale has also been meh considering being under a cloud of uncertainty for a... year. While the weekly Thursday stand-ups are a good idea and step in the right direction for acknowledging people's efforts, they do little to inspire or elicit pride in the products everyone works on. The second annual team off-site was also a mild disaster that only exacerbated anxiety about the future of the group, not to mention the entire line-up of speakers were white men. If you decide to work here, know that you are inextricably supporting the state media machine that is Fox News, even if your role is as innocuous as an accountant or executive assistant. This will be especially true after the Disney acquisition is complete. I was hopeful when I started two years ago that things would change after the ouster of Roger Ailes, Bill Shine, Bill O'Reilly, et al, but Fox news has only gotten worse. I don't judge my friends and colleagues who still work at 21CF because not everyone has the privilege to leave. I'm just lucky to have that choice.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest the company focus on hiring more diverse people, make promotions and career advancement processes more transparent, and address the serious conflicts of interest arising out of the relationship between the Murdoch family and the White House as well as the role that Fox News plays in escalating division, fake news, and dangerous conspiracy theories that affect many of the people who work at 21CF.

    21st Century Fox2018-10-17
Found 58 reviews