24 Hour Fitness Master Trainer Reviews | Glassdoor

24 Hour Fitness Master Trainer Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Personal Trainer in Katy, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A buffet of clients to choose from

    Cons

    You must be willing to put yourself out there to gain clients

    Advice to Management

    Assigning more fit appointments

    24 Hour Fitness2019-05-27
  2. "If you love training and you have what it takes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Trainer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If your hiring fitness manager is really good, and exceeding they will help you out

    Cons

    If your fitness manager leaves or transfers, I hope you have built up your business, because they won't give a F about you Giving all new business to people that they hire, who usually suck and leave because it's high turn over

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-22
  3. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Personal Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great learning opportunities amazing members & clients friendly workplace

    Cons

    they don't pay enough to the trainers

    24 Hour Fitness2019-02-07
  4. "Personal Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Master Personal Trainer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness for more than a year

    Pros

    - received more training and knowledge here than school - many will complain its tough but it is EFFECTIVE - easy to move up

    Cons

    - little communication on company vision, in fact IDEK what it is - do or die mentality, many can't keep up (again not necessarily bad)

    Advice to Management

    Just be more clear on the vision of the company. Focus on that over the numbers.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-12-02
  5. "If you hustle, you will succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Personal Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -No micromanaging -Create your own schedule -Many commission opportunities

    Cons

    -For me it was just the commute

    24 Hour Fitness2018-09-25
  6. "As good as it gets for big box gyms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Trainer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is fair for a staff trainer working for a large gym.

    Cons

    Not alot of company support in terms of outside continuing education.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-05-29
  7. "Master Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Trainer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free gym membership. - Discounted personal training - Flexible schedule

    Cons

    - High turnover rate - Management is inconsistent (in less than 4 years: 6 club managers, 5 fitness managers, 4 operations managers) - Minimal communication between fitness and sales dept. allows leads to fall through the cracks.

    Advice to Management

    - Train sales force to present personal training - Create consistent onboarding process (videos are pretty useless)

    24 Hour Fitness2018-01-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Adult Playground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Personal Trainer in Lake Creek, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay/hour Management is hands off Relationship with members/clients The job itself is satisfying Newer equipment Flexible schedule You get to wear shorts

    Cons

    Poor Management Decisions Corporate Structure Hiding Commission (Point of sale scam) Unprofessional environment (junk food, informal, sex, cliques) Overstaffing (12 trainers in a gym that needs 5) No performance tracking to reward best trainers Turnover Almost impossible to make a living on 15-20 sessions week

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring. If your top trainers aren’t even busy, why are you still hiring? People wouldn’t quit if we had enough to do. This is a job. A career. Don’t hire people who are retired or don’t want to work when you have people who are/were serious about this business. Don’t reprimand employees in public. That’s what the office door is for. Don’t call my clients the second I quit when I tell you I’m writing a formal letter of resignation with advice on who they want/need to train with. Don’t hide commissions from your employees. We all know that Point of Sale is a scam and that trainers should be paid that commission. You still owe me a few thousand dollars for those sales.

    Show More
    24 Hour Fitness2018-01-03
  9. "Inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Trainer 

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IF you have a knowledgeable Fitness manager, you can learn a lot. But they never stay longer than 3 months. Free memberships!

    Cons

    High turn over in management Trainers are not compensated for their time They do not care about continuing education Not a steady source of income

    Advice to Management

    It is hard to create a true “team” environment if there is a new club, membership and Fitness manager every few months. The high turnover effects employees significantly.

    24 Hour Fitness2017-11-07
  10. "Master Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Trainer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome Team!!! Great Clientele! Very fun atmosphere!

    Cons

    Not a consistent pay. Benefits take a while to qualify for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    24 Hour Fitness2017-10-16
Found 38 reviews