24 Hour Fitness Operations Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

24 Hour Fitness Operations Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
42%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
1 Ratings
  1. "Great Opportunity to Gain Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Bedford, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of Hours chance for overtime

    Cons

    Lots of hours can get a bit much

    Advice to Management

    Expanding compensation package

    24 Hour Fitness2019-02-10
  2. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free membership Discount on retail items

    Cons

    High turnover rate Does not pay well for the work you do They don’t care about you

    24 Hour Fitness2019-12-06
  3. "wasn’t worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    gave me good experience now for other jobs

    Cons

    horrible when it came to favorites and giving people jobs they didn’t deserve

    24 Hour Fitness2019-12-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "100% Sales focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can advance in your career pretty quickly but that is partly because of very quick turnover. Free membership.

    Cons

    The pay for everyone not in upper management was at the least that they could possibly get away with. I was in charge of writing the schedule for the retail/front desk team and was told not to give anyone more than 28 hours so that we didn't have to offer them any benefits. Upper management was 100% focused on their own bonuses and weren't even shy about it. They'd coach us all on how to reach a goal that only they... would benefit from. I also found the environment to be incredibly inappropriate. It was very normal to hear the male employees talk about the women in the gym in very rude and sexist language and management would do nothing to stop this behavior or would even join in!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This company needs real leaders who are focused on morale just as much as results. The company on a whole needs to rethink the bonus schemes because it attracts really unsavory people and allows for horrible morale among the team.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-20
  5. "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to move up with the company.

    Cons

    Low pay raise. Needs to accommodate with cost of living.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the work values but need life balance.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-04-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, inconsistent leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love what you do and you don't work a day in your life. This is embodied by 24 Hour Fitness. There is tons of "opportunity" for growth, and you learn so much. Somewhat flexible hours lots of fun.

    Cons

    The company has really inconsistent leadership, lots of CEO changes, which does trickle down to club level team members. Every time someone gets a "great" idea they change the whole operation. Pay is AWFUL. As a manager of a 24 hour business you're expected to be on call 24 hours. However the GMs usually give this responsibility to operations managers. Even though the GMs get paid double sometimes triple what the... OMs get paid. The company has some pretty ridiculous sales expectations, everything revolves around sales even when they say it doesn't. If the sales team doesn't meet their goal guess which department gets cuts? I put "opportunity" for growth in quotes, because while the company is growing, they would rather hire externally. It's also very difficult for operations managers to get promoted because they do not come from a sales background.

    Show More
    24 Hour Fitness2019-02-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Part Time Job Not A Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free Gym Membership Fast Paced If you're not in management the schedule is flexible

    Cons

    Low Pay Long Hours if you're in management also on call Not a lot growth inside the club if you plan on making it a career

    Advice to Management

    You will never have stable long term employees if you don't pay them what they are worth. The company loses a lot of good people because of a lack of training, long hours and low pay.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-02-03
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Nanuet, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free membership to a dirty poorly cleaned facility

    Cons

    Management is Incompetent, hours are ridiculous

    24 Hour Fitness2019-01-28
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Operation Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working here is the Employees and the members that come in and out of our building

    Cons

    The worse part is they talk about growth but they tried to low ball you when it comes to pay there is other company out there that actually pay better that 24 does and the love to overwork their employee. I have personally been with the company for 4 years and I just left a month ago and I am in a different company that treats me better than 24 ever did

    Advice to Management

    Lear how to treat your employees better and actually pay them better for the hard work they do for your company

    24 Hour Fitness2018-12-09
  10. "Fast paced and never a dull moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The coworkers and members too

    Cons

    Workload and unrealistic expectations of duties

    24 Hour Fitness2018-11-09
Found 41 reviews