24 Hour Fitness Reviews | Glassdoor

24 Hour Fitness Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2105 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
49 Ratings
  1. "Great People to Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Representative in Fontana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Free gym membership *Had a great team of coworkers *Nice environment

    Cons

    *Low pay/min. wage *Sales job/Trying to meet quotas for the day

    Advice to Management

    *Focus more on creating a great team.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-19
  2. "24 hour fitness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kids Club Attendant 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    Free membership, but just for you.

    Cons

    Care little about their employees

    24 Hour Fitness2019-09-02
  3. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great clients, flexible hours, free memberships.

    Cons

    Micro managing managers, constant meetings, never positive encouragement.

    Advice to Management

    Let your trainers do their job.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-31
  4. "24hr Personal trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    Great place to work and gain new experience

    Cons

    You many not like the people you work with especially if you’re mature and professional.

    Advice to Management

    Be sensitive when talking to your employees

    24 Hour Fitness2019-09-02
  5. "Good job, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in East Grand Ra, MI

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed meeting the people here, but it was long hours and low pay

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, not much room for growth

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-28
  6. "24 Hour fitness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay,great environment, great people, free gym

    Cons

    Work load, hours, high stress

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "100% Sales focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can advance in your career pretty quickly but that is partly because of very quick turnover. Free membership.

    Cons

    The pay for everyone not in upper management was at the least that they could possibly get away with. I was in charge of writing the schedule for the retail/front desk team and was told not to give anyone more than 28 hours so that we didn't have to offer them any benefits. Upper management was 100% focused on their own bonuses and weren't even shy about it. They'd coach us all on how to reach a goal that only they... would benefit from. I also found the environment to be incredibly inappropriate. It was very normal to hear the male employees talk about the women in the gym in very rude and sexist language and management would do nothing to stop this behavior or would even join in!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This company needs real leaders who are focused on morale just as much as results. The company on a whole needs to rethink the bonus schemes because it attracts really unsavory people and allows for horrible morale among the team.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-20
  8. "Good Part-time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kids Club Attendant in Fremont, CA

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Free membership plus discounts for family Great employee culture

    Cons

    Sometimes disorganized, some employees would not show up for work and left facility unmanaged

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-08
  9. "Kind of a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked most of my coworkers, and there were definitely a lot of opportunities to move up.

    Cons

    Management was all over the place. It might have been the specific club I worked at, but I felt judged and demeaned a lot. I also had to do a lot of extra work - things that weren’t in my job description. I also was not offered the position of lead, just applied for it and then one day at an all hands on deck meeting for operations my manager just announced I was the new lead. There was a while where I was the lead... and I had all of my general manager’s passwords and was the MOD for like a week because both my ops manager and him were on vacation. Also, even if you are in operations, there is a high demand for sales. If you aren’t great at selling memberships or protein powder expect to get yelled at by your management team. Even if you are good, you’ll never be good enough. Corporate puts way too much pressure on GMs to sell membership and it trickles down. Even us little guys making min wage at the front desk are expected to sell memberships. And then put in our manager’s names so they get credit instead of us.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I’m not a management person - I like to be responsible for my own work. And I’m not an expert by any means. But I could have done a much better job.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-09-11
  10. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Lake Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, from the members to coworkers. Free gym membership.

    Cons

    Ownership, most clubs don’t pay well.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-04
Found 2105 reviews