24 Hour Fitness "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

24 Hour Fitness Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated 20 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
70 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They don’t give raises ( barely minimum wage) & unfortunately the front desk reps are usually expose to danger (they’re exposed to risks)(in 94 reviews)

  • "The pay for everyone not in upper management was at the least that they could possibly get away with(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Kids club attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kids' Club Attendant/Service Representative in La Mirada, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work while you're a student! Your coworkers are your second family! Flexible scheduling and free gym membership!

    Cons

    Management gets changed a lot! Minimum wage job but if you works kids club you get paid a bit more!

    24 Hour Fitness2017-04-24
  2. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Manhattan Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve met some amazing people ^_^.....most of them members!

    Cons

    Management sucks ! They’re all about themselves & rely wayy too much on lower level employees to pick up their slack! They don’t give raises ( barely minimum wage) & unfortunately the front desk reps are usually expose to danger (they’re exposed to risks)....especially the graveyard reps! There have been many lawsuits with this company because they don’t treat their employees with respect ....without the... employees you wouldn’t have a gym....there I said it! Respect goes along way!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give raises! There are people who have been there for years & if it wasn’t for those kind reps some of your members wouldn’t come back! So please recognize the talent that you have before you lose them! .....& stop hiring managers that don’t know what they’re doing! No wonder you guys keep getting sued!!!

    24 Hour Fitness2019-11-20
  3. "Good job for college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kids Club Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, fun job if you like kids

    Cons

    no company growth, not enough hours, starts off at minimum wage

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-12
  4. "Great for new trainers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in Pembroke Pines, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They give you clients and consultations

    Cons

    Base pay is minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    Great management

    24 Hour Fitness2019-06-22
  5. "Worth a paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist 

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    You get a free 24 hour membership, the culture is pretty easy going, and not a bad job to have during college

    Cons

    It’s open 24 hours so you get some early shifts at 6 am, and they pay below minimum wage

    24 Hour Fitness2019-06-14
  6. "Good Entry Level Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Kids Club Attendant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and welcoming environment. I became friends with many of the other girls who also worked in Kids Club. Would be great for young people in college who live at home that are looking for a part-time job.

    Cons

    Very part-time, split shifts, minimum wage, worked 7 days a week just to get 30 hours, not much room for growth

    24 Hour Fitness2019-03-22
  7. "Perfect job for student that lives fitness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Can be a very fun atmosphere. A great place for people who love fitness to interact with members on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Many jobs other than management only oat minimum wage. Sales team has a commission structure that is very difficult for any to achieve and that can be extremely frustrating for them

    24 Hour Fitness2019-01-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good for Members, bad for Employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Representative in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    24 has good equipment and a lot of the members are nice.

    Cons

    Corporate sucks. They cut the pay rate, and when I decided to step down from lead, even though I was an employee before the cut rate, my pay went from 10 to minimum wage, instead of back to the 8.84 I had before I became lead. They don't care about their low wage employees, they're bad at developing their managers, and they don't really have development opportunities unless you're looking to go to club or district... manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get it together, treat your low wage staff better and give them a reason to actually want to work there, since you won't pay them well.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-11-13
  9. "it you're into fitness, you'll enjoy this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    commission friendly environment different customers each day, not a retail job room for growth, because its such a big company highly recommend for people who know how to communicate with others

    Cons

    pay is mainly through commission, unless you're happy with minimum wage. traffic varies among clubs.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-10-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    •atmosphere is fun •meet great people (members and team members) •free membership for you and family •discount personal training

    Cons

    •High turnover (frontline team members) •Lack of holding your team accountable bc of fear of losing them. •lowered standards as manager due to low pay for team members •life work balance Had to set my expectations low when recruiting bc couldn’t find any quality employees. They usually turn down the job due to pay. As a manager had to lower my standards and settle for team members that usually wouldn’t be hired.... Accountability is thrown out the window bc you can’t hold or build a great team at minimum wage. No time to manage bc we are always recruiting. No time to develop our current team bc we are always looking to hire. It’s gotten so ridiculous.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice do CEO. If you care about your team then take care of them. This $7.25/Hour is ridiculous. You will lose a lot of amazing managers due to the lack of managing we are doing. We are just trying to survive daily.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-09-09
Found 94 reviews