24 Hour Fitness "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

24 Hour Fitness Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
77 Ratings
  1. "Poor management, filthy gym"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Free gym membership nothing more

    Cons

    Pressured to be available for 12 hours a day. For consultations, cleaning, writing programs you are compensated minimum wage. When training, you get 7.25 plus a $7 session premium. You are expected to reach sales quotas and make new business. The gym is filthy. The management doesn’t care about the appearance of the gym, only numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Update the equipment. Pay your employees what they are worth.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-05-19
  2. "Great place to work through college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    You get to meet a lot of new people Free gym membership Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Minimum wage job Management is always changing

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within, improve current clubs

    24 Hour Fitness2018-03-19
  3. "You Get What You Put In (if you’re using the right tools)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Katy, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People (guests and peers) Growth potential(you get what you put in so ask questions) Fun environment (if you let it be) Free membership

    Cons

    Sales person stigma Hourly pay ( if you don’t make commission you’re making minimum wage) which is difficult to live on.

    Advice to Management

    Putting more tools in the Sales Advisors hands to increase guest traffic. (Lead box equivalent, maybe an app that allows mass text to leads and guests, more social media use, in club events, updated threshold policy, more training on capturing people as individuals)

    24 Hour Fitness2018-02-14
  4. "okay for the extra money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good if you are going through college and need some pocket money. The people I've worked with was very casual and relaxed, though I did work the closing shift and started with the company on overnight shift. I was able to do homework because there wasn't much traffic in and out, but with the closing shift, I had to be more attentive because of the retail.

    Cons

    The pay is really low, almost around the minimum wage. Theres no advancement whatsoever, and people I knew that wanted to be trainers, didn't get into the program because its all about who you know.

    Advice to Management

    Raise the base pay for the representatives. The overnight shift literally runs your company and they get paid next to nothing.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-01-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales advisor- Horrible place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership. Almost impossible to get fired.  Low professional standards.   There are literally no perks. You don't get reimbursed for mileage, no holiday pay, no vacation time.  This company doesnt spend a dime on employees.  High turnover rate, so if you hate your coworkers dont worry, they're probably moving on to something better soon. 

    Cons

    Constant change in direction and focus with no transparency. When policies change there is no company wide communication clearly explaining the plan. These people are playing operator. So by time the info gets to you it has a million variations. But you are expected to know everything and run the "company play" efficiently. Keep your head down and work is verbatim the school of thought my managers told me to adopt.  They care nothing about their employees. Everything is set up to benefit the company amd the managers in the clubs treat you as such (and i worked at multiple clubs). NO benefits of any kind (dental, health, vision, 401k, vacation time)  until you're in management, which takes atleast a year. Best part is you make minimum wage plus commission. But you must first make your productivity threshold- thats your #of hours workedx9. So if you work  8hrs, you must first make the company $72 then you can get 80%of a $30 dollar membership.  Or more times then not. Minimum wage.  The minute you clock in youre worked like a dog, following a ridiculous and unimaginative marketing scheme of hassling ppl on the phone and  bugging members for their friends contact info to employ the aforementioned flawed marketing tactic. If you want to work in an environment where you have limited voice and literally no benefit to the job,  besides a free place to workout,this is the place. You will be living to work if you work here as your primary source of income, barely scraping by. Jan -March maybe the best money you will see. But weighed against the fact you GET NOT 1 BENEFIT TYPE or any perk ( company discounts to things non 24 related, meal stipend, mileage reimbursement when you go to trainings, ANYTHING) all your money goes to paying for adult life. ALMOST FORGOT- they only follow California employer laws when its convenient and beneficial for the clubs P&L. I gave my 2 Week notice, worked the 2 weeks and 9 days later i still haven't received my check- the labor dept states that you are to receive it within 72 hours....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put back into the lives of your employees.  A free gym membership and minimum wage(plus commission.. maybe) isn't very motivating, and will not keep quality employees who know that compamies offer these things. If you have no interest in pouring into our futures, only what we can do for you today give out some company perks to make today easier. And get with this communication thing. Sending the DM to talk to club managers in a closed door meeting about the company focus then having him paraphrase it, then that message being paraphrased for employees who were off that day doesnt work.  And if there is a company communication instruct your clubs on how to access it. I worked at 24 for a year and all the comm might was well been sent by smoke signal.

    Show More
    24 Hour Fitness2017-12-23
  6. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in. Rewarding because you get the chance to help people out.

    Cons

    You make phone calls all day and the it's hard to make much more than minimum wage because of the "threshold" commission structure.

    24 Hour Fitness2017-11-22
  7. "Unsupportive work environment that doesn't place value on workers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kids Club Attendant in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, the only reason I have stayed as long as I have. I am a full-time student and the position has offered me the ability to focus on my studies.

    Cons

    In working for this company for several years, they have refused to pay me higher than minimum wage despite being one of the most qualified and reliable people in my department. The actual environment is not supportive for workers, and often I end my day feeling taken advantage of. As someone who works in their drop-in daycare, I have been left hours without bathroom breaks, as I am unable to leave the daycare unless it is being watched by a trained staff member and I am also usually the only one those working at the time. Mandatory meetings are often scheduled with short notice. Issues are not resolved in a timely manner, I have frequently seen issues that I have raised overlooked or ignored. Everything is disorganized and it doesn't feel like anyone communicates inter-departmentally. The biggest example of this would be how management will either leave, not show up, or show up at random hours leaving people feeling stranded as they are often left alone for long periods of time and in the case of the daycare, this usually means that I am left to either not be able to use the restroom, or I am left to field angry parents when I have reached my maximum capacity and there is no one else to call to create more room for families to be able to drop-off as we do follow the Oregon state laws regarding adult to child ratios. The level to which this job has negatively impacted my mental health and has added to my stress level enormously outweighs any of the benefits and I have heard this sentiment from others as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with employees and begin compensating them fairly. This is especially true of the way that corporate dictates how compensation should be handled.

    24 Hour Fitness2017-11-08
  8. "Merry go round of Misery and broken promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay rate for employee training , free gym membership, very nice coworkers even management is friendly and nice

    Cons

    After your 2 week computer training and shadowing is completed you are paid minimum wage plus commission. I was only trained for 1 week. You must hound customers in order to sell them personal training packages you are left to do this on your own even though at the time of interview you are promised a few clients to get you started. The music is extremely loud with the same 7 songs and commercials on rotation you can't hear yourself think. The work environment and bathrooms are dirty only one poor soul on an 8 shift to clean the whole club. No paper towels dispensers in the bathroom.Clients get out the pool and the whole locker room and bathroom counters are wet cause there is no paper towel to wipe anything down. Most of the equipment is dated, broken, and rusted. This place literally stressed me out, made me sick and actually left me traumatized weeks after the experience hearing the same bloody 7 songs they would play there over and over. I was hired as "part time" however the companies interpretation of part time is a split shift of 4 hours in the morning, off 4 hours then come back and work 3-4 hours which will have you feeling like your working 12 hour shifts you will have no life. This is a high pressure sales job if you don't sale you make minimum wage. If you don't have any reservations with approaching multiple gym goers daily while they are working out before, during or after this may be a good fit for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice fell on death ears but here goes in a perfect world a Personal trainer should just be that only providing a service of personal training. As for the gym please fix the equipment fix the A/C roof leak from 2 years which creates a puddle on the floor and is the first thing you see when you walk in it is an eyesore. Please provide paper towel in the bathrooms also have minimum of 2-3 people on shift to clean the club it's a very big club and all the other competitors have them. Please don't make promises that are false if you hiring full time dont say it's part time. If you offer full employee training and support then do so and last as per the customers complaints and I, PLEASE turn down the music a few notches I have work at night clubs and this is too loud for a gym working out to the same 7 radio station pop songs, lawyer and car commercials is not conducive to a productive workout or healthy work environment.

    Show More
    24 Hour Fitness2017-10-05
  9. "Enjoyable job. Not many advancement opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Representative in Victorville, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy job. Welcome members. Help Guests. Anwer phones. Handle membership billing. Free membership for employees.

    Cons

    Hourly pay is at minimum wage

    24 Hour Fitness2017-07-30
  10. "Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    So the only positive thing for me is that I have great managers. They try to give me as many hours as they can. The only positive thing that I get from this company is a free membership.

    Cons

    I've worked for 24 HF for almost 2 years. They don't provide an opportunity for you to grow. They pay you minimum wage even if you go above and beyond. They don't give raises which is sad. I've worked at several locations the club culture is always different. A lot of members can either be entitled a- holes or the nicest people ever. I feel like no matter what you do to provide a better customer experience it's not enough. I current work in the state of California and they pay the minimum. Which is current $10.50. This job is asking for A LOT for minimum wage. There's team cleans, which require you picking up garbage, emptying DIRTY towels, and re-racking weights. You fold towels, clean the store, set up the store, run the store, handle updating all account information when needed, doing laundry for towels, dealing with ALL of the complaints about things that are broken in the gym. I could go on. If you're taking this job make sure you can stand your ground and can have thick skin. This job is super stressful for $10.50

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This isn't for management this is for 24 HF Corporation. TAKE CARE OF YOUR EMPLOYEES BETTER. Stop being cheap. You have employees that bend over backwards for this company and you don't provide any discounts for anything. Stop sponsoring major sports teams if you front desk staff isn't being paid at least $15 and machines are being replaced and catered to correctly. They deal with a lot it's the least you could do for people who take the blame for all of your faults.

    Show More
    24 Hour Fitness2017-06-04
Found 94 reviews