2U Admissions Counselor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Admissions Counselor

2U Admissions Counselor Reviews

Updated 7 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
2U CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
84 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Admissions counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This companies culture is better than anywhere I have worked. They know how to give us little things(food, snacks, events, etc) Sounds like the upcoming changes should help the student outcomes because ideally that is our goal to change students lives. I can not say how much I've enjoyed working for this company and changing lives.

    Cons

    When it comes to benefits they are fancy but not what is needed. My last company would help me pay my student loans. We are a company that wants to help others with their education but not employees. Which in admissions is a requirement to get the AC position. Even a little bit to help cut down cost of interest. Being in the middle of Denver means most of us have to take bus or train to travel. We can't afford to live close but the monthly cost of travel is overwhelming. An Eco pass could help everyone with travel and would be a benefit everyone would use at some point. Admissions is a very numbers base department. We need something to keep us going (raise, commission, advancement) you will have too much turnover if there is nothing to keep them in "sales".

    Continue reading
    2U2019-09-13

    2U Response

    September 30, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback, as we are always open to exploring new benefits for our employees. We are happy to hear you feel empowered to make change in the organization and to help our mission of eliminating the back row in higher education.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Navigating Choppy Waters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Competitive salaries for higher ed space - Approachable leadership - Growth opportunities for those that make a point to stand out - Friendly coworkers - On-site gym, cafeteria, and coffee bar - Fun company events and generous PTO policy - Mission driven: genuinely achieves high-level outcomes for students and partner universities

    Cons

    - Complicated business model in a volatile space that is subject to a lot of scrutiny from both the public and political arenas - Clumsy handling of change management (several influential and beloved Admissions leaders hastily let go without apparent anticipation of negative morale ripple effect that has since followed) - Inefficient practices and shortcuts/workarounds as commonly implemented strategies - With a few exceptions, not many inspiring, thoughtful leaders remain within the Admissions department

    Continue reading
    2U2019-10-15

    2U Response

    October 28, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your insights into some of our growing pains, revealing areas we need to continue to focus on, and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. The recent restructuring helps to successfully shift our focus to improving the student journey. We will continue making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. We genuinely appreciate your feedback and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please reach out to feedback@2U.com and reference "my Glassdoor review" so we can talk.

    Continue reading
  3. "This company and its People deserve everything coming to them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some people are nice co-workers, but once the true colors of this company are revealed, they leave.

    Cons

    Shame on this company and its ceo. They claim to value diversity and have forward thinking values, but it's all a sham. One of my coworkers went through their grievance process and as soon as he filed the complaint 2U fired him. These people honestly have no souls and live on a fake image. That's why their stock plummeted and soon, this company will hopefully be nonexistent. All the negative reviews get the same generic fake reply pretending to care...if you really care you should quit this nasty company. Karma has an awesome way of making things even. The more people you screw over, the more it comes back to you. Keep it up 2u.

    Continue reading
    2U2019-12-08
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Roller-coaster of Disappointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some really great people at the company on a peer level. Casual environment. A place at times I have really loved working due to the what I believed our mission to be and some great co-workers.

    Cons

    Many of the negative reviews here are fairly accurate which is sad because I wanted to at least say they were exaggerated but nope. It's also not a shock that most of the negative reviews come from one department. Since Admissions has a great deal of pressure on them and from our viewpoint there are only negative consequences to anything (if you are doing well you get to keep your job is the perk I've heard). But for any other department that messes up it doesn't seem like there are the same pressures or consequences. Between the PMP and the call recordings it feels like there is zero trust with our department and what little we had keeps getting taken away bit by bit. If you start the company in admissions it's often hard to move to a role outside of admissions. I've heard those working outside of admissions really like their jobs so that's something. It's a sales job for education which is one thing but pushing counselors to push students into programs they may not be right for by saying "They never knew they wanted to do this until you encouraged and kept pushing them to do it" is maybe not the best practice. Then counselors feel obligated to do it to meet their "aggressively achievable goals".

    Continue reading
    2U2019-11-21

    2U Response

    December 3, 20192U Communications

    Employee feedback is important to hear, and we thank you for sharing. Your insights into some of our growing pains, especially as we become a global organization, are valuable to understanding the areas we need to continue to focus on. We’re growing quickly and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. We believe that hands-on training is key to developing our employees and we take our relationships and communications with our students very seriously. To help, we record calls with students, like other companies, as a way to help us continue to improve and provide our students with the best level of service. Helping you grow within your career is very important to us. We encourage you to talk with your manager and request constructive feedback and a plan outlining what you need to accomplish in order to position yourself for the next step in your career at 2U. Overall, your insights are valuable to understanding what’s most important to our employees. If you would like to discuss further, please reach out to your HR business partner or email feedback@2U.com and reference “my Glassdoor review.”

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Think Twice - Free Snacks aren't everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Snacks -Unlimited PTO (if you have hit your numbers, or you will be fired/ put on corrective action..... therefore beware, admissions isn't gonna be a walk in the park.

    Cons

    Honestly, if you need the money or you throughly enjoy working in a call center, this is the job for you. Admissions is not what you think it is, or what they tell you during the interview process. This IS a call center - watch the movie "Sorry to Bother You" if you like that environment, you will love 2U.

    Continue reading
    2U2019-09-28

    2U Response

    October 2, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Describing the work environment for Admissions as a ‘call center’ is not something we take lightly. Instead, we would like for every 2Ute to feel as though they can take pride in coming to work and provide white glove service to our partners. Our Admissions Counselors are relationship managers and the process from prospect to applicant is long and complex. Many students state they would not have gone through the process without the support, guidance, and persistence of their admissions counselors. We genuinely appreciate your feedback and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please reach out to feedback@2U.com and reference "my Glassdoor review" so we can talk.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Just when you think it can't get worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every day you get to see if our management team will make a worse decision

    Cons

    - mass layoffs - recording everything you do on the phone with students - distrustful management

    Continue reading
    2U2019-11-13

    2U Response

    November 18, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. We’re growing quickly, revealing areas we need to focus on, and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. One example is a required training curriculum for all people managers at every level, covering comprehensive leadership skills, including new employee on boarding and training. We believe that hands-on training is key to developing our employees and we take our relationships and communications with our students very seriously. To help, we record calls with students, like other companies, as a way to help us continue to improve and provide our students with the best level of service. As we grow, this will continue to be a top priority because employee development and growth is the heart of our organization and the linchpin to our future success. While you are no longer with 2U, we value your feedback and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please reach out to feedback@2U.com and reference "my Glassdoor review" so we can talk.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great Perks but Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Lanham, MD
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, Family Friendly work environment, Good for Grad students

    Cons

    Terrible Management, Play favorites A LOT

    2U2019-10-09

    2U Response

    October 11, 20192U Communications

    Employee feedback is important to hear as we continue to grow and evolve our culture. While you are no longer with 2U, we genuinely value your feedback and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please reach out to feedback@2U.com and reference "my Glassdoor review" so we can talk.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of change but overall a great mission driven company with competitive benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, Competitive Salary, a lot of training for entry level positions

    Cons

    401 match, decent but not great benefits

    Continue reading
    2U2019-10-08

    2U Response

    October 9, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your insights into some of our growing pains, revealing areas we need to continue to focus on, and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. One example is a required training curriculum for all people managers at every level, covering comprehensive leadership skills. As we grow and evolve, developing managers will continue to be a top priority for our leadership. Employee feedback is critical to hear and we welcome the chance to learn more about your experience. If you are willing to chat, please contact us at feedback@2u.com and reference “my Glassdoor response.”

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (30)

    "It might seem like a great company... but looks are deceiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admission Counselor in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO and Free snacks (first come first serve tho)

    Cons

    the company's culture has changed drastically. When i first started the company was amazing and it was laid back and a relaxing place to work. As time progressed, people who started with the company in its inception are being placed in leadership roles that they are completely under qualified for. Upper leadership within the organization is absolutely terrible. There is absolutely no need for manager role within the company If directors in the company actually did there job properly. Also the benefits suck,

    Continue reading
    2U2019-09-07

    2U Response

    September 11, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Your insights into some of our growing pains, especially as we become a global organization, are valuable to understanding the areas we need to continue to focus on. As we grow and evolve, developing managers while creating a more seamless student experience will be top priorities for our leadership. While we know we have work to do, it is important for you to know that we hear your concerns and hope that with some recent changes you start to see improvements. Our business is healthy, growing, and today, we believe no other company is better positioned to help universities serve the quickly evolving needs of learners. If you have suggestions of additional ways we can support your needs, we’d love to hear from you. Please do not hesitate to contact your HR Business Partner, or contact us at feedback@2u.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (79)

    "Steer clear for your own sanity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, nice office space, casual dress code, cool coworkers

    Cons

    Admissions Counselors at 2U perform work much closer to fraud telemarketing than "counseling." The volume bleeds the human element out of every phone call because you will constantly be striving to hit metrics and enrollment goals. For every cohort you are given a specific number of enrolled students you have to hit, at the risk of being placed on a Performance Management Plan (on a PMP, if you fail to meet your goal, you will likely be fired, and you cannot apply for other internal positions). These goals stem from ludicrously optimistic promises made by leadership about the company’s outlook (2U’s public statements on the subject were, in the words of one of several class action law suits now being filed, "materially false and misleading at all relevant times.” So... there's that). As an AC, you have little control over hitting your goal for several reasons: 1) many of these programs are highly selective, so most of the students you "counsel" don't have the remotest chance of getting admitted (of course, you are not allowed to tell them this, or in any way provide meaningful guidance. No, you have to waste their time and yours by harassing them over phone and email until their doomed application is completed and instantaneously rejected). 2) the students you're working with are, y'know, human beings with free will, so even if they do have a chance of getting admitted, they might not want to apply for that particular cohort. 3) 2U programs are godawful expensive. For many programs, 2U also has multiple offerings for the same discipline, so ACs working for the more expensive option are often out of luck if a student is admitted to a cheaper competing program. Kinda hard to convince someone to take out 40k more in loans than they have to. You will be tacitly encouraged to manipulate students into taking on more debt just to meet your goal. They want you to do everything just shy of outright lying. Admissions is a breeding ground for exaggerated claims, half-truths, and lies by omission. In short, you will be kicking water uphill every day in this role, trying to meet laughably unrealistic targets made by leadership. That's not even to touch on the sham "Core Values" 2U shoves down your throat. They literally have these values in neon tube lights on the walls in HQ. Now, of course every company has their own brand of BS, but 2U is insane about theirs. It is cult-like. People use the phrase “drink the Kool-Aid” unironically. Maybe it’s just me, but using the language of a mass suicide in a positive sense...doesn’t exactly sit right. Anyway, here are my thoughts on the core values. 1) ”Cherish every opportunity"--so long as you make 75 calls every day, annoying the heck out of people who just wanted a brochure about the program! Also, if someone has a low GPA or GRE scores and cannot help you meet your goal, that is not an opportunity, so don’t cherish it. This would be an accurate value if it said, "Cherish every opportunity that can make the company money. Forget everything else." 2) ”Be candid, honest, and open" —Honestly, for this one I might as well just post the précis of the pending lawsuit against this company: “[2U] throughout the Class Period made false and/or misleading statements and/or failed to disclose that: (1) the Company faced increasing competition in online education and particularly regarding graduate programs; (2) the Company faced certain program-specific issues that negatively impacted its performance; (3) as a result, the Company’s business model was not sustainable; (4) the Company would slow its program launches; and (5) as a result, 2U’s public statements were materially false and misleading at all relevant times. When the true details entered the market, the lawsuit claims that investors suffered damages.” 2U also doesn’t want you being “candid honest and open” with the students. Generally speaking, none of these students even know 2U exists, let alone that it gets a large chunk of their tuition money. You are lying by omission on every phone call, every time you send an email from your university email address. Students assume you are directly tied to the actual campus of the program you represent, because 2U spoofs the phone numbers, so every AC calling from say, Maryland, has an area code local to the school they are representing. Here's another hilarious thing: in September 2019, after mass firing 67 tenured employees and, again GETTING SUED BY ITS INVESTORS, 2U put out a "Framework for Transparency," which asserts, "2U has always publicly listed the degree and non-degree offerings we power," which, while technically true, is exactly the sort of PR/optics sophistry you should expect from this company. Yes, they list their university partners on their website. But at no point in an AC's correspondence with a prospective student is the name 2U ever brought up. Students would have to already know what an OPM is, and what 2U is for this "transparency" to actually do anything. As it stands, this Framework for Transparency looks to me like just another PR maneuver designed to give 2U rhetorical wiggle room to claim they’re being forthcoming while actually being the opposite. 3) ”Give a Damn!” -- but not about all those poor schmucks with low GPAs who can't help you meet your goal. 4) “Relationships matter!” - remember where I said above they mass fired 67 employees one day? Yeah, they gave these people no notice-- people who had been with the company for years, had helped build the business, and had bought into all of 2U's pompous, self-aggrandizing rhetoric about how they are "changing the world!" True believers, hard workers, in other words, fired en masse with no notice. These unfortunate individuals were literally called into an auditorium, let go, and informed “You’re welcome to work for the rest of the day if you want!” 5) “Don’t let the skeptic win!” — by which they mean don’t question anything or think for yourself, peon! Drink the Kool-Aid! DRINK IT I SAID! SHUT UP AND DRINK IT!!! HAVE YOU MADE YOUR DIALS FOR THE DAY YET?! 6) “Be bold and fearless” — I guess it was pretty bold and fearless to abruptly and callously fire a significant chunk of their loyal workforce, so kudos to 2U on this one. And it was pretty brazen to lie to their investors too. So, all right, I've give them this one. 7) “Make service your mission” — in other words, do good volunteer work and take pictures wearing 2U swag so we can take credit and get those sweet sweet PR social justice brownie points. 2U spends a lot of money promoting itself, getting named as a Great Workplace in magazines, maintaining this veneer that they are an ethical, socially conscious organization, when in reality, like most other companies, business is the first priority. Ethics and social consciousness are a very, VERY distant second. Actually, probably more like a very distant tenth or eleventh. This wouldn't even be annoying if they were just honest about it. I get it. A company exists and makes decisions solely to grow its business. So why does 2U seem to demand that its employees pretend otherwise? 8) “Have fun!” -- you know the phrase “bread and circuses?” It means to generate public approval, not by excellence in public service or public policy but by diversion, distraction, or by satisfying the most immediate or base requirements of a populace— by offering a palliative: for example, food (bread) or entertainment (circuses). Thanks Wikipedia. Yeah, that is 2U’s main operating strategy. They do all these extravagant events, e.g. random dance parties in HQ, renting out Six Flags for Halloween, or flying everyone to some destination once a year for company meeting. Superficially these are nice, until you remember that these events are bonkers expensive, and that 2U will then lay off 67 people at a moment’s notice due to monetary concerns. I feel reasonably safe in saying those employees would rather have kept their jobs than gotten to see Flo-Rida live in concert. Moreover, the events, particularly company meeting, are basically thinly veiled attempts at brainwashing, stoking the CEO's messiah complex. They give a lot of ra-ra, gosh-aren’t-we-awesome speeches and make you stand in an auditorium chanting company slogans (again, DRINK THE KOOL-AID, SERF). They get great performers and speakers—Michelle Obama in 2018, for example—who lend specious legitimacy to 2U’s alleged mission and values, but are probably told nothing about the company beyond its claims of being "an innovative tech start up increasing accessibility in higher ed." 9) “Strive for excellence!” — in other words, light yourself on fire daily to keep the higher-ups warm. Break your back to carry the company. In short, this company is an object lesson in disingenuous corporate doublespeak, bad faith business practices, and dogmatic, cultish conformity. Their core values are a bad joke, and if you are an independent thinker at all, you will not like it here. Also, for the record, I was not fired. I left of my own accord before all the firings and lawsuits started. This is not some disgruntled, terminated ex-employee sounding off. This is just an honest appraisal of how 2U does business from my perspective. Work here at your own peril.

    Continue reading
    2U2019-09-12

    2U Response

    September 27, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback on your experience at 2U. At 2U, we are proud of our people-first, highly collaborative, and team-oriented culture, and this includes company-wide events. These events are a critical part of our culture and what makes 2U, 2U. The recent restructuring was done to put the student journey first. It is agile and leverages our learnings from more than 70 partners and a decade at the forefront of digital education transformation. We believe that this restructuring will be beneficial in the long term for both the student and the 2U employee. We acknowledge that student debt is a challenging issue across the country. Tuition for 2U-powered degree programs, which is set by the university, is at parity, if not slightly less than the on-campus equivalent. Our business is healthy, growing, and today, we believe no other company is better positioned to help universities serve the quickly evolving needs of learners. While you are no longer with 2U, we genuinely value your feedback and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please reach out to feedback@2U.com and reference "my Glassdoor review" so we can talk.

    Continue reading
Found 103 reviews