2U Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

2U Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
2U CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
31 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Benefits, Take Care of Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing health benefits (HSA Account with Employer Contributions), Employee Stock Purchase Plan, Unlimited PTO. Pay is fair for roles.

    Cons

    Outwardly facing job titles can be confusing (Admissions being a sales minded role/department doesn't help for those looking for jobs outside of the company).

    2U2019-11-20
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Overall Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at 2U for 3 years and had a great experience working with incredible people. The pro's inclue: -Amazing culture -Unlimited PTO -Good benefits package -Great location (Denver) -Collaborative environment -Mission driven -Friendly and engaging upper management -A fun place to work

    Cons

    -Challenging to move up in the department and can be very political. -It seems that Senior Leadership is very out of touch with the actual work that their employees are doing compared to what they are selling. -Salary does not match the actual work in Student Engagement department -Change mangement needs improvement

    2U2019-10-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, Unlimited PTO, Employees perks

    Cons

    Current uncertainty about growth and holding leadership positions.

    2U2019-10-18
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Do more with less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admission Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, and honestly just the people

    Cons

    PMP, raised goals but cut spending on out program and would hold the counselors accountable if they didn't hit unrealistic admission goals.

    Advice to Management

    Get better, overall, get better. You mass fire managers and directors to save 12 million but yet spend tens of millions on your meetings and halloween every year. I know numerous people who gave you there careers and never wanted commission which people should have received or stock but then you fire the people who gave you everything. Yet you still have no idea what you are doing.

    2U2019-10-09
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Cronyism.... Nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO On-site Gym in HQ

    Cons

    Conducted mass layoff only to turn around and rehire staff due to poor succession planning. Currently no real direction. Rather than fire specifically incompetent staff. Layoffs were done based on how much the company could save by cutting those salaries. Unfortunately. they threw the baby out with the bathwater....Very few tenured staff left except for departments not related to recruitment or retention. Won't... fire friends from college or previous failed businesses so cut higher-paid staff with no regard for impact to lower-level staff. Despite the fact that many friends in fluff positions with ridiculous compensation packages. Taking advantage of lower-paid managers/directors. Demoted some even asked others to return after being laid off but expected to do more with less. Manage larger programs, more staff with no ability to earn overtime.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hold yourself to the same guiding principles you ask staff to uphold.

    2U2019-09-26
  6. Helpful (19)

    "On a downward spiral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Illusion of fun that wears off quickly

    Cons

    Everything about the way the company is run. Unnecessarily excessive number of people on some teams, no appreciation for research and best practices, all decisions are virtually made by a handful of people, incredibly wasteful spending on events meant to build up employee engagement right before surveying them while cutting jobs, overall industry presence that is becoming less and less relevant as dozens of other... providers enter the market and gain momentum, #nobackrow "mission" that doesn't actually help transform education in any meaningful way.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of some of your executives and start the transformation at the top. There is amazing potential in the middle or the company that's not being heard. Stop spending so much money on things that don't make a lasting impact. People would rather have a nice bonus than attend an extravagant company meeting where nothing impactful was accomplished.

    2U2019-10-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing company with an important mission and vision. It continues to redefine and evolve the higher education landscape. I have always been treated extremely well by mgt and believe in the strength of the leadership of the company.

    Cons

    None of note at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep charting the path forward. The world needs it.

    2U2019-09-10
  8. Helpful (51)

    "Trust Your Inner Skeptic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Support Manager in Landover, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Skills building to bring elsewhere.

    Cons

    Many people get damaged by their "hire slow, fire fast" policy. People are working way too much, checking emails in the middle of the night, and working holidays only to be all of a sudden let go- even with families. They claim they have your back, but it truly is dog-eat-dog. Trust your gut. If you think there's a target on your back, there probably is.

    Advice to Management

    When you lay off 73 people (some with families) in one day, "don't worry, we'll still have Halloween" is a disgusting thing to say. You've lost touch with the human beings in your organization.

    2U2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (45)

    "BEWARE OF A QUICKLY SINKING SHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Manager in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Honestly, none at this point.

    Cons

    I don't even know where to start but the TLDR = DO NOT WORK HERE. -The company profits off of putting students into large amounts of debt when they could get an equally valuable degree from anywhere else for half of the price. -They only promote within and provide basically no training so most leadership is absolute garbage -The tech platform actually sucks and student success (customer service) is so... under-staffed that they can't help anyone -They're in a hiring and promotion freeze, but even before that the hiring process was a joke. I referred many people whose interview process went on for months and they'd go weeks with no updates. I eventually became too embarrassed to refer friends to the company -THEY'RE LITERALLY IN BEING SUED BY INVESTORS!!! HELLO! -Chip is a narcissistic who somehow still thinks everything is fine -Favorites and egos play a huge part in big decisions, promotions, hiring, firing, etc. -THEY LAID OFF 60+ PEOPLE JUST THIS WEEK Again, there is SO MUCH wrong with this company. This list just scratches the surface. Many, if not most, of the positive reviews you're seeing were written by the hiring department in order to boost the glassdoor score. Seriously, pay attention and you'll notice that the writing style and wording seems to be similar in a lot of them. You're welcome!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Chip should resign immediately.

    2U2019-09-11
  10. Helpful (5)

    "What Makes a 2-Hour Commute Worth The Traffic? Only 2U, In My Opinion!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Communications Engineering in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    a) In my 30+ years as a professional, with experience at more than one Fortune 500 company, I have never seen such an efficient, timely, professional and personal hiring and on-boarding process as I was given at 2U. The Recruitment Team and Learning & Development have you set-up before Day 1 with logins and hardware, and the first three days are dedicated to on-boarding sessions, both live and pre-recorded.... During that time, the Hiring Manager cannot take you away from that training! 2) The culture is indescribable. The policies on Inclusion and Diversity, while not perfect, are living processes within the organization, and given a high level of priority from the CEO down. That I&D is reflected in the wonderful array of humans that come in every day and dedicate themselves to our student's success. iii) The benefits are very good, especially in today's environment. This includes a very strong focus on mental health and well-being - another first for me from all my previous employers!

    Show More

    Cons

    * While I am learning to appreciate working in a full SaaS environment, I'm not used to the open arrangement and minimal talking. Better than half of all communication is done via Slack, or G-Chat, etc...even if the person is sitting next to you! This is a culture change for me, and I recognize that at 56yo, I am older than literally everyone in our IT-Infrastructure team! So this is not a Con for 2U, so much as a... Warning to Baby Boomers out there - 2U will welcome your wisdom and experience, but be ready for a 21st century work place! * The organization is confusing, and that is a given with everyone I've talked to since starting. I'm not scared of the acronyms - I've been in IT for 25 years, and came from a broadcast company that owned over 180 stations! It's the interoperability within the organization that is my biggest hurdle. While I take a holistic approach, looking for the best solution for the company, I'm learning that there are teams that have definite priority over others, and the synergy isn't as prevalent as perhaps it could be - I'm still in the research phase.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are a long-timer that built the department/team to what it is today, I would ask that you trust in the people you hired, and become the Manager of Managers you worked so hard to earn. I've talked to people in various areas throughout the company, and that seems to be a common concern. I've been in that position, and understand how personal it is to step back from your creation, but to not do so limits the new... staff and their ability to bring their hard work into the mix. I would also take a hard look at the Remote Work Force capabilities and extend them across the board for certain situations/positions/circumstances. I wasn't lying to say 2U is worth a two-hour commute one way. It totally is! However, my car is not happy, having put close to 8k miles on in 90 days. If the new work culture is to hang out in Zoom meetings, and key stakeholders are not local, which is becoming more commonplace, then even managers should be successful working remotely. Going back to trusting the people hired, I think the full SaaS world and 21st century culture throughout 2U seems to be blocked at the Work From Home discussion, and I'm not sure why. There are so many good ways to monitor direct reports, and so much data being collected on transactions completed that to me, the question is why we don't let people work WHERE they are most comfortable, even if that is a 80/20 split between home and work. The savings in commute (for example) is made up in earlier productive time - a bonus when we have people in Cape Town South Africa and Hong Kong to support.

    Show More
    2U2019-06-17
Found 37 reviews