2U Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Marketing

2U Marketing Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
2U CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
12 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Lucky to call this my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Marketing Coordinator in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inspiring and collaborative environment Opportunities for growth within departments Great leaders who know how to manage people Unlimited PTO Work from home 1 day per week (at least) Like minded people, who have a "student first" mentality Incredibly fun environment (monthly happy hours, snacks, company meeting (great speakers and performers) Salary is competitive All higher-ups are really friendly and... involved with employees

    Show More

    Cons

    401k match could be better

    2U2019-06-17
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Email Marketing Specialist in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic company-wide onboarding process that familiarizes you with the company and your specific role. - It's clear everyone in the company is working toward a mission. People are friendly, management is friendly. - Unlimited PTO + Appointment Leave. - The company's core values are embedded in everything we do and it shows. - The cafeteria + outdoor working space at HQ is nice.

    Cons

    - Health insurance plan is on the expensive side and 401k matching is low.

    2U2019-05-28
  3. Helpful (26)

    "Was great, but the ship is starting to sink"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary, some opportunities for promotion and salary increases. This obviously varies between managers and departments. Healthy work/life balance. People come in around 9:30/10 am, rarely feel the need to stay late. Lavish, yearly company meeting in new cities (Long Beach, New Orleans, Vegas etc.) Beautiful office in Brooklyn, with a rooftop and stunning views of NYC. Free snacks, cold brew, coffee... and 'bagel Monday'. Big game room with ping pong, video games and arcade setups.

    Show More

    Cons

    As an employee, the company feels like a sinking ship. We're unable to scale our marketing and admissions costs as we bring on new programs. It's not a shock considering the admissions department is a call center, practically harassing prospective students with phone calls every day. Since marketing pushes anyone and everyone to fill out an interest form for a program, admissions is tied up reaching out to every... single lead, even if they're not qualified or not ready to start an application. With every new program we bring on, each department in marketing needs to hire new people as each launch requires a dedicated brand and advertising strategy. There isn't a structured process in place where employees can consistently provide feedback to their managers, similar to our quarterly reviews. I think this is a core problem. There is only a top-down approach to management in marketing, where employees who are experiencing the pain points I listed above don't get the opportunity to share this feedback. Benefits are just okay compared to other large companies in NYC. Lack of women and poc in leadership roles across the organization, and just about everyone is under the age of 30.

    Show More
    2U2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Still work, but 2U does a great job at making me feel appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm a relatively new employee in a non senior role, but I still feel valued as an employee and asset. When I was hired, I was able to sit down for 30 minutes with the Chief Revenue Officer as a part of my on-boarding process. This kind of thing isn't unique to 2U and isn't unique to me. Shortly after, the CEO hosted a talk and Q&A for all of the new hires. For a company with 2k+ employees, I know how valuable... time is for leadership, so those left big impressions on me. I haven't felt like a number at all in my time as an employee, and that makes me feel very fortunate. As far as my own team, I get along well with my coworkers. This is the first job I've ever had where the members of my team are actively friends. Not just lunch-together-at-work-friends, but real life hang-out-on-weekend-friends. I know how rare this is in a workplace. Majority of employees are young, especially in non senior/leadership roles. Seems to be plenty of room for advancement as long as we work hard and do a good job. The office in HQ is beautiful. It has a wonderful gym, plenty of snacks, a cafeteria with reasonably prices options for lunch, and great spaces to collaborate and have meetings. This will only improve, and even within the last several weeks there's been a noticeable change outside of the office entry. There's a rumored 'game' floor that everyone is anxiously waiting for. Lastly, my pay is very fair. The rest of the pros are nice to have, but we all work to make a living. I've never felt underpaid for the work I do, even as I'm busier than I have ever been in previous jobs.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a whole I think the benefits aren't too great. Only a 2% 401k match, and it doesn't get matched until the following year. If you leave your job in December for example, you don't get a match at all. I understand a bonus being paid out this way to improve retention, but I'd love to see this change for the 401k match. Unlimited vacation time may be a benefit for some, but statistically this will lead to less... vacation time for employees moving forward. When I was hired I was offered 18 days. Now realistically I doubt I'll take nearly that much time off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to make new and lower level employees feel welcomed. This will help with retention, especially as 2U employees are becoming more sought after from other companies.

    2U2019-03-17
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Not Great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The mission keeps you going.

    Cons

    A lot of favoritism and discrimination.

    2U2019-02-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A+ culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    2U and Chip care deeply about the company's culture and how it is perceived (both internally and externally.) Generous time off + PD benefits (including tuition reimbursement) demonstrate that the company is invested in keeping you.

    Cons

    The investment in company culture and making 2U a "fun" and "cool" place to work can often outshine other incentives like professional growth and personal fulfillment of the job. Working among peers that become your friends is wonderful, but not when your perks can sometimes make you forget a mismatched work/life balance.

    2U2018-11-14
  7. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Marketing Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time

    Pros

    The culture and the working environment is great. Everyone is truly motivated to make a positive impact in the higher education space.

    Cons

    Working for a company that is growing so rapidly presents many challenges. Often times it can feel like you are spread too thin, or your bandwidth is exhausted.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to lead your teams, streamline process, and inspire others to care about the work we do.

    2U2017-01-19
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Fun, but beware..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing in Landover, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 2U for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, work-hard-play-hard culture. Plenty of perks and generous PTO. Good work/life balance for most; many departments can work from home at least once a week and are flexible about leaving for appointments etc. Yes there's a cult of personality around the CEO, but he is a genuinely nice and fun guy. Much more caring and personable than a lot of CEOs. Good pay and opportunities for growth. Benefits are ok but nothing... special.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nepotism is a SERIOUS problem across the board at this company. HR claims to have "listened" and put new processes in place to prevent this, but still people are hired, fired, and promoted just because they're someone's best friend (or not their best friend...) They have a No A-hole policy, and yet some individuals - including those in upper management positions - are incredible rude and unprofessional to others.... Despite some of them being repeat offenders, and HR and their superiors know this, they are still working here and still in management positions! There's that nepotism again... So be careful - you might go from doing an excellent job one day and navigating through all of the confusing and contradictory policies one day, to your manager all of the sudden being hyper-critical of everything you do and feeling like you're being pushed out the door, just because you haven't drank enough Kool Aid.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A lot of you need to LEARN how to manage!! And try sticking to the No A-hole policy a bit more for EVERYONE, not just people who aren't your favorites.

    2U2016-08-03
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with a ton of growth opportunities if you work for it. Despite a ton of growing pains 2U has done a great job of supporting its employees and staying true to its mission.

    Cons

    It often does feel like a cliquey high school that aren't very welcoming to new comers - going from lower to upper management.

    2U2016-05-06
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Full of energy and passion -- sometimes almost too much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Landover, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Culture: every day is dress down day, free snacks, extremely easy to make friends, Company Meeting - Flexibility: most departments/supervisors are flexible when it comes to making your work/life balance up to your standards - Emergence in the space: in a good position to dominate the online higher education space - Technology: truly one-of-a-kind (for now) - People: everyone seems to get along really well and... it's a very young, energetic environment full of (mostly) hard workers

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work/life balance is almost TOO good: difficult to separate personal life from work at times - Promotions: not all come to those who deserve them (this happens in probably every company in the world) - Lack of standardization: across departments and even across programs within departments

    Advice to Management

    Standardization would go a long way in helping streamline everything. Company has come a long way and it undoubtedly trending in the right direction. Keep promoting those who deserve it.

    2U2015-06-03
Found 16 reviews