2U Reviews | Glassdoor

2U Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
2U CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
409 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, Unlimited PTO, Employees perks

    Cons

    Current uncertainty about growth and holding leadership positions.

    2U2019-10-18

    2U Response

    October 22, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you're enjoying your time at 2U.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Poor Executive Leadership and a culture of sheep."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Success Advisor in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office to work out of a lot of great amenities. Work from home opportunity is nice. If you can bear it for a few years you or your spouse can get a Masters for free or highly discounted....but be warned you will give up part of your soul.

    Cons

    Its like a High School culture with an overall lack of professionalism. Clique culture is rampant and your identity is more important than your quality of work. But if you are a good actor and skilled at telling people what they want to hear you will move up quickly. Also helps if you are anything but a straight white male. They have a culture of "Feedback" but only if that feedback totes the company line. Granted some divisions are more corporate than others but anything student facing is a challenging environment to work in. Who wants to work a job where they record your calls?

    Continue reading
    2U2019-11-18

    2U Response

    December 3, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. We take allegations of discrimination very seriously. We fully investigate all complaints, no matter the nature or channel in which we receive them, and take whatever corrective measures that our investigation reveals are appropriate. Your descriptions of our management team are concerning because we take pride in ensuring all employees are managed and treated with respect and without bias. We want all of our employees to feel comfortable collaborating with colleagues across every corner of the organization. As a company experiencing hyper growth, building a bench of smart, thoughtful, and dynamic leaders is imperative to setting a strong foundation for the future. We are making significant investments in managers, such as our ongoing leadership development curriculum. As we grow, this will continue to be a top priority because managers are the heart of our organization and the linchpin to our future success. If you are open to it, we would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you directly to better understand your experiences. Please email feedback@2U.com and reference “my Glassdoor review.”

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Just when you think it can't get worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every day you get to see if our management team will make a worse decision

    Cons

    - mass layoffs - recording everything you do on the phone with students - distrustful management

    Continue reading
    2U2019-11-13

    2U Response

    November 18, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. We’re growing quickly, revealing areas we need to focus on, and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. One example is a required training curriculum for all people managers at every level, covering comprehensive leadership skills, including new employee on boarding and training. We believe that hands-on training is key to developing our employees and we take our relationships and communications with our students very seriously. To help, we record calls with students, like other companies, as a way to help us continue to improve and provide our students with the best level of service. As we grow, this will continue to be a top priority because employee development and growth is the heart of our organization and the linchpin to our future success. While you are no longer with 2U, we value your feedback and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please reach out to feedback@2U.com and reference "my Glassdoor review" so we can talk.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Great company, great mission, poor business decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, thriving company culture, strong team members

    Cons

    The business model is flawed, after over 70 people laid off they are still making crazy business decisions

    2U2019-10-15

    2U Response

    October 18, 20192U Communications

    Employee feedback is important to hear as we continue to grow and evolve our culture. While you are no longer with 2U, we genuinely value your feedback and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please reach out to feedback@2U.com and reference "my Glassdoor review" so we can talk.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, Great Culture, great management

    Cons

    Unwilling/No salary negotiation at hire

    2U2019-10-17

    2U Response

    October 28, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to know that you feel a positive camaraderie with your fellow 2Utes!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Management disconnect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office (gym, gourmet meals for cheap, unlimited snacks)

    Cons

    Management disconnect, slightly-phony company culture, weak camaraderie because a lot of people are remote

    Continue reading
    2U2019-10-04

    2U Response

    October 11, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your insights into some of our growing pains, revealing areas we need to continue to focus on, and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. One example is a required training curriculum for all people managers at every level, covering comprehensive leadership skills. At 2U, we are proud of our people-first culture and the importance of having candid, honest, and open conversations about the business. We’re disappointed to hear that you don’t feel this and think the work of your team is undervalued. We would like for every 2Ute to feel as though they can take pride in coming to work and provide white glove service to our university partners and their students. Employee feedback is critical to hear and we welcome the chance to learn more about your time at 2U. If you are willing to chat, please contact us at feedback@2u.com and reference “my Glassdoor response.”

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (13)

    "I hate coming to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Engagement in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are good and free snacks. Tuition reimbursement, but they trap you for 4 years and you can't apply for a program until you've been here for a year.

    Cons

    I hate my job. 2U used to be promising and a place to grow your career. That is no longer the case. A lot of your potential career advancement is based on the school you are placed with. It's easy to notice that people on the easier programs move up faster. You also can't switch teams or move departments if you aren't hitting your numbers. It feels like you are trapped into difficult programs because it's hard to retain talent on those programs. You also HAVE to get along with your manager. They don't have to help you with much, but they can prevent any mobility. Very metrics driven and if you work in student engagement, you are working in a call center and it genuinely feels that way. There's call recording, smile and dial, and answering tech concerns. If you have the opportunity, don't work here.

    Continue reading
    2U2019-11-10

    2U Response

    November 18, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are concerned to hear your feedback regarding promotions because we take pride in ensuring all positions are filled appropriately and without bias. Helping you grow within your career is very important to us. We encourage you to talk with your manager and request constructive feedback and a plan outlining what you need to accomplish in order to position yourself for the next step in your career at 2U. Overall, your insights are valuable to understanding what’s most important to our employees. If you would like to discuss further, please reach out to your HR business partner or email feedback@2U.com and reference “my Glassdoor review.”

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of change but overall a great mission driven company with competitive benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, Competitive Salary, a lot of training for entry level positions

    Cons

    401 match, decent but not great benefits

    Continue reading
    2U2019-10-08

    2U Response

    October 9, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your insights into some of our growing pains, revealing areas we need to continue to focus on, and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. One example is a required training curriculum for all people managers at every level, covering comprehensive leadership skills. As we grow and evolve, developing managers will continue to be a top priority for our leadership. Employee feedback is critical to hear and we welcome the chance to learn more about your experience. If you are willing to chat, please contact us at feedback@2u.com and reference “my Glassdoor response.”

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Lack of Diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Based on benefits and mission, it seems like a great place to work for.

    Cons

    Diversity: while doing through the interview process, there seems to be a lack of people of color (POC) at the organization. Aside from myself, I know other POC who have applied and were excluded from the beginning or went through the interview process and were denied, despite their strong qualifications. The organization seems to have a lack of diversity from the top to bottom, and it is something that is recognizable. I’ve seen company events hosted by 2U and there is an obvious lack of black and Latino representation among the staff. It all begins with the interview process.

    Continue reading
    2U2019-11-06
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Think Twice - Free Snacks aren't everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Snacks -Unlimited PTO (if you have hit your numbers, or you will be fired/ put on corrective action..... therefore beware, admissions isn't gonna be a walk in the park.

    Cons

    Honestly, if you need the money or you throughly enjoy working in a call center, this is the job for you. Admissions is not what you think it is, or what they tell you during the interview process. This IS a call center - watch the movie "Sorry to Bother You" if you like that environment, you will love 2U.

    Continue reading
    2U2019-09-28

    2U Response

    October 2, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Describing the work environment for Admissions as a ‘call center’ is not something we take lightly. Instead, we would like for every 2Ute to feel as though they can take pride in coming to work and provide white glove service to our partners. Our Admissions Counselors are relationship managers and the process from prospect to applicant is long and complex. Many students state they would not have gone through the process without the support, guidance, and persistence of their admissions counselors. We genuinely appreciate your feedback and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please reach out to feedback@2U.com and reference "my Glassdoor review" so we can talk.

    Continue reading
Found 523 reviews
</>Embed