2U Reviews | Glassdoor

2U Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
2U CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
397 Ratings
  1. Helpful (19)

    "On a downward spiral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Illusion of fun that wears off quickly

    Cons

    Everything about the way the company is run. Unnecessarily excessive number of people on some teams, no appreciation for research and best practices, all decisions are virtually made by a handful of people, incredibly wasteful spending on events meant to build up employee engagement right before surveying them while cutting jobs, overall industry presence that is becoming less and less relevant as dozens of other... providers enter the market and gain momentum, #nobackrow "mission" that doesn't actually help transform education in any meaningful way.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of some of your executives and start the transformation at the top. There is amazing potential in the middle or the company that's not being heard. Stop spending so much money on things that don't make a lasting impact. People would rather have a nice bonus than attend an extravagant company meeting where nothing impactful was accomplished.

    2U2019-10-16
  2. Helpful (18)

    "It Once Had Promise..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Role in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -If you like frat parties, you'll like 2U. -If you liked Mean Girls, you'll like 2U. -If you liked your time in high school and miss the drama, you'll like 2U. Okay, but seriously... -Unlimited PTO though you aren't always able to use it when you'd like - as there are restrictions, especially if you are in a technical role. - La Croix water can be consumed in abundance. -Free snacks, if you are into... carbs and/or junk food. -Honestly, there are great people to be found -though they will rarely be in position of which you report to. -Lavish company meetings (that always left me wishing we would have gotten raises instead). -Flexible WFH options for some employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    -My manager and her BOSS were best friends who left early together every day (after eating breakfast together, lunch together, coffee together; on the clock) all of this whilst insisting we (lowly servants) be accountable for every single second of our time. And I mean seconds. -Said duo sat in the corner and gossiped and whispered like children. I saw them rolling their collective eyeballs at one of my colleagues... behind her back during a meeting this summer. They thought everyone was stupid and inept despite many of us having Master's degrees (they did not). -No matter how many of us reached out to HR regarding work conditions, nothing changed and HR basically blew us off time and time again. -A good example here: My son was in a roll over and they didn't want me to leave to leave as we were short-staffed. I should have quit right then but I stayed and worked, regretfully. -You cannot be promoted unless you are a favorite (read the reviews, this is rampant at 2U); or you must be willing to give up your family life to work the hours of a Vampire. -The work load we were expected to manage was ridiculous; I can't remain anonymous if I were to lay out the specifics but I cried at my desk for a good portion of my tenure once the new "leadership" took ownership of my team. - Micromanagement!! I have never been treated so poorly as a HUMAN BEING. I was micromanaged on the tiniest of details yet my productivity was over 120%. Maybe if you didn't demand such a heavy workload, people wouldn't make little mistakes. But then what would the managers have to do with their time? -We had to lie about who we worked for as well as be careful never to send emails from a 2U account. -If you are over 32, be prepared to feel like a dinosaur. -Benefits are okay but they are EXPENSIVE, especially if you have a family. -Transportation to and fro can be expensive as well as there is no compensation for commuting (or discounts on Eco Passes). -Loud offices so hard to hear on phone calls/bad for concentration.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There has been a lot of talk on Glassdoor about Management. I would branch off of that topic to include HR in this conversation. If certain names and/or departments are continually brought to HR's attention (ETHICS INVESTIGATIONS, even); perhaps HR should address it rather than ignore employees and brush it under the rug (bring in higher management to look at what is happening under the umbrella of their... departments). It's obvious that the "no ahole policy" was taken off the table - that's all I worked for, in the end. I always wondered what Chip would think if he had to work around these people or do my job for a day. Maybe the senior level management should put an ear out; do skip level check ins to take the pulse of the culture. Everyone knows HR is mainly for the benefit of the company but I believe they could help weed out problem managers and even help to boost overall company morale. I finally had enough of the fake, nasty management and quit. I honestly had no idea how much I hated it until I got settled in my new job. I haven't had one work nightmare since. NOT ONE WORK RELATED NIGHTMARE SINCE I LEFT. You have no idea how awful this experience was for me. I'm ecstatic my new, much cheaper (far less than half the cost) health insurance offers great counseling benefits. I probably need need it now.

    Show More
    2U2019-10-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (13)

    "4get you came across this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Placement Specialist in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything good is gone - even the good seltzer .. I don’t even like seltzer

    Cons

    - unrealistic metrics - goals based off old data that does not reflect the current business - lawsuit - firing 67 people overnight with no course correct - executives out of touch with managers - ceo takes no responsibilities for his actions - where did all the good snacks go - stock dropping drastically - no bonuses or promotions available in budgets - double workload without pay increases - admissions is... working against placement due to conflicting metrics and goals driven by money hungry upper management claiming - being shamed for using pto

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop working people to the ground and having unrealistic goals and creating a negative work environment where nothing is ever good enough. Listen to your staff.

    2U2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing company with an important mission and vision. It continues to redefine and evolve the higher education landscape. I have always been treated extremely well by mgt and believe in the strength of the leadership of the company.

    Cons

    None of note at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep charting the path forward. The world needs it.

    2U2019-09-10
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Culture and Morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO Holiday break in December

    Cons

    Management doesn’t have a metrics they’re measured on; thus creating an unfair environment. With layoffs there are no opportunities for growth. Many of the values the company was founded on is now lacking.

    2U2019-09-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Admissions counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This companies culture is better than anywhere I have worked. They know how to give us little things(food, snacks, events, etc) Sounds like the upcoming changes should help the student outcomes because ideally that is our goal to change students lives. I can not say how much I've enjoyed working for this company and changing lives.

    Cons

    When it comes to benefits they are fancy but not what is needed. My last company would help me pay my student loans. We are a company that wants to help others with their education but not employees. Which in admissions is a requirement to get the AC position. Even a little bit to help cut down cost of interest. Being in the middle of Denver means most of us have to take bus or train to travel. We can't afford to... live close but the monthly cost of travel is overwhelming. An Eco pass could help everyone with travel and would be a benefit everyone would use at some point. Admissions is a very numbers base department. We need something to keep us going (raise, commission, advancement) you will have too much turnover if there is nothing to keep them in "sales".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My current manager is AMAZING. Cares for my development and is very down to earth. I look forward to what is hopefully to come of my advancement with this company.

    2U2019-09-13
  8. Helpful (25)

    "Not Worth The Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Starting pay is above average. Raises are twice a year for this department -Good benefits (Child free and in good health) -Aesthetically pleasing office, cafe and outdoor courtyard -Coworkers and management are very friendly and it was easy to mesh with my team. Others are not so lucky

    Cons

    To be honest, this role is a total joke. We are NOT admissions counselors, we are telemarketers, making at least 75 dials PER DAY to prospective students. Many of these students are genuinely looking to learn more about our programs and are not at the stage where they are ready to apply, yet we aggressively follow up and badger them to start applications. Metrics are a joke as well. Each cohort, we are given an... unattainable goal (set by finance folks and higher ups) and if we miss said goal, we are on corrective action. If you are on CA, you pretty much run the risk of LOSING YOUR JOB if you do not hit your goal 100% the next cohort. You cant even apply for another job within the company until you are off CA. Many times, you cant hit your goal, due to things well out of your control: high cost of tuition, family emergencies, choosing other schools. We are also tasked to "project" our weekly numbers, aka play mind reader and hold ourselves accountable for the actions of other human beings. We work with top tier universities, but we come off as desperate for profit online programs, due to our telemarketer-like practices. We are even going to start recording calls. Imagine calling the admissions department of a top masters program and hearing that "The call is being recorded for training purposes". I had a different view of this job before I started, but now, I leave with a bad taste in my mouth every day. Its emotionally draining. I thought that piece in The Atlantic was a smear, but there is an uncomfortable amount of truth in that article. They want us to feel like we are changing peoples lives, but I just cant drink the kool-aid. I feel like a pawn in the game of higher education and stocks. Forgot to mention the nepotism, its rampant. Its so easy to get roped in because the the money is good, very good, but I am actively looking for employment elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Change the metrics system and get rid of CA. This is not fostering motivation. -Get back to BASICS with the role of an admissions counselor. Lose the telemarketer style call cadences. We DO NOT connect with students if THEY feel like WE bug them.

    2U2019-08-28
  9. "Mission driven, people focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2U is truly the most people focused organization I have been a part of. It is focused on the people it serves internally, as well as, external when it comes to the students and universities. Many people talk about the great benefits like snacks and the gym but when I think of our biggest benefits it is the people we get the chance to work with. As with any company, not every working relationship is perfect but I... know there are so many people inside and outside of my department I can go to at anytime for anything. I will also say to those of you reading the recent reviews don't believe everything you read. Yes, admissions relies heavily on calls but 2U is so much more than just that department and it would not be fair to based opinions solely on admissions. Yes, it is true there were layoffs but when a company is a brand new industry without clearly defined paths to growth and success re-orgs are bound to happen. From everything I have heard 2U never forgot about the people who were behind the jobs that were cut and have done their best to make it as painless as possible but of course you have to keep in mind 2U is ultimately a business and the goal is to serve the students in the programs. 2U has such a great future ahead and will continue to grow and thrive.

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be tough to move department to department within the company and many people view admissions as their foot in the door. When in reality they can often find themselves stuck there.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push forward and don't let the skeptics win. Listen to some of the quieter voices who might have some of the best things to say.

    2U2019-09-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admission Counselor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time

    Pros

    great experience and great work life balance

    Cons

    management needs better training. too much kool-aid

    2U2019-09-09
  11. Helpful (54)

    "Profit over people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time

    Pros

    Great company to start out after college. Wonderful, smart, tenacious, thoughtful, intelligent, kind-hearted people to work with. Benefits and salary were great until they eliminate your position to better align their bottom line.

    Cons

    This company fell under the uber conundrum. They have been in business for over 10 years but have yet to see a real profit because they overinvest in the input of running the graduate programs but don't see the profit payout. The CEO is a narcissist who clearly thinks he's the next Steve Jobs or Mark Zuckerburg. 2U bit off more than it could chew, by trying to have the largest market share and to push down... competitor/potential competitors by adding too many partners and making impulsive acquisitions to dominate their place in the market. As a result, the stock plummeted and they hired a third-party consulting firm to assess where the company could cut spending. This process took an entire YEAR. An entire year was spent figuring out where they were going to make layoffs in their attempts to cut a budget that was recklessly overspent, to begin with. Instead of cutting back lavish trips to Las Vagas (Where Christina Aguilera performed) or to New Orleans (where Michelle Obama spoke) or to Long Beach, California (where Flo-Rida performed), they bring the entire admissions department into separate rooms to keep the admissions counselors who bring in revenue (because #ProfitMatters) and lay off managers, and directors who have devoted the past 8+ years to this company. After walking into the lobby of the Landham headquarters where you see your superiors in tears holding boxes of their belongings, you then get invited to a call so leadership can "explain everything." To then have them cite a glassdoor review and have that justify why they let go 60-70 employees who have worked their butts off for this company. I hope the education sector gets regulated better once more Democrats are elected so companies like 2U can stop profiting off people's debt and people's education so senior leadership can drive Porsches. The guiding principles are absolute garbage and I hope nothing but poor things for this company. #FidicuaryDutiesMatter

    Show More
    2U2019-09-10
Found 514 reviews
</>Embed