2nd Ave Value Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

2nd Ave Value Stores Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
40%
Recommend to a Friend
2nd Ave Value Stores CEO Chris Stinnett (no image)
Chris Stinnett
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bensalem, PA
    Recommends

    I have been working at 2nd Ave Value Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, flexible, good retail experience

    Cons

    Can't shop the days you work

    Advice to Management

    Great job

    2nd Ave Value Stores2019-04-10
  2. "Bailer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bailer 

    I worked at 2nd Ave Value Stores full-time

    Pros

    Physical fitness and decent high school job

    Cons

    When I worked their, there was language barrier between co-workers and somewhat lack of work safety.

    2nd Ave Value Stores2019-06-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier, low pay job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 2nd Ave Value Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They work around your daily life, a plus if you have kids. They offer extra hours. You get half off$$$ the color they had on sale on, your day off only. The job was easy. Co workers were friendly .

    Cons

    You cannot shop their on days you work . You have to come and shop on your days off, but who wants to come to work just to shop on their day off? Some costumers were angry that we didn't have a sale every single day . Computers break down all the time. Too many hangers to remove on your own. Dirty clothes.

    Advice to Management

    Pleas pay alittle more their is no way you can survive on $8 an hour . Also I've been working here for a few months but the new girl just started and she told.me you guys offered her $8.50 an hour . Why is that ?? That's not fair . We all have kids . No one is more special then the other. What is going on.

    2nd Ave Value Stores2018-09-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unknown status"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Floor Straightener in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at 2nd Ave Value Stores

    Pros

    My boss is a good one.

    Cons

    $9.25 an hour with thieves and drug dealers working there. They steal your food, money, even water.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the trouble mamers, theives, and liars and .ake everyone work as hard. Fire neglegent employees who cause work plave accidents, ect.

    2nd Ave Value Stores2018-09-04
  5. "Just don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 2nd Ave Value Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It starts out in the beginning to be great

    Cons

    Fastly it goes downhill

    Advice to Management

    Horrible, everything they need to work on

    2nd Ave Value Stores2018-08-24
  6. "Good for the beginners to build an retail experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at 2nd Ave Value Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good to build your retail experience

    Cons

    Mangers don’t know how Management very rude unfair and unfriendly. Make you work double which is not your job.

    Advice to Management

    Be equal to every one and learn how to be friendly

    2nd Ave Value Stores2018-05-17
  7. "Floor Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Floor Manager in Laurel, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 2nd Ave Value Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great growth opportunities from inside the company

    Cons

    No 401k or profit sharing

    Advice to Management

    Implement benefit programs

    2nd Ave Value Stores2017-11-06
  8. "work /life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 2nd Ave Value Stores full-time

    Pros

    good place to work

    Cons

    some time it gets busy

    2nd Ave Value Stores2017-10-30
  9. "1 Star"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Bladensburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at 2nd Ave Value Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No Pros this place is terrible.

    Cons

    Unsafe Work Environment Poor Management Cut Hours Forced Breaks Sexist Work Environment No employee restrooms No Water fountain Old moldy ceiling tiles Rude staff

    Advice to Management

    Please consider hiring english speaking sale associates and try hiring more men rather hire more and more women while only have 6 male workers do task for which women are unable to do. Please fix the broken outdated store rather than opening new stores. Also show respect to your employees and the time the take to keep the store functioning.

    2nd Ave Value Stores2017-12-02
  10. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 2nd Ave Value Stores

    Pros

    Incredible place to work because of how they treat the employees

    Cons

    often 6 day work week

    Advice to Management

    Be flexible to schedule changes

    2nd Ave Value Stores2017-05-30
Found 15 reviews