3 Day Blinds "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

3 Day Blinds Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
3 Day Blinds CEO Dave Hall (no image)
Dave Hall
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Always receiving current updated samples for style changes(in 12 reviews)

  • "I love working as a Design Consultant with 3 Day Blinds because of the flexible schedule, great pay with an awesome bonus structure and amazing support(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "but you have customer service support, manager support, and coworkers are always eager and willing to help(in 10 reviews)

  • "no vacation or sick pay for design consultants(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job & Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3 Day Blinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for both as an employee and a client. They are so nice to their customers and fair when there are issues. They have great products, amazing customer service and I feel good about selling for them. I truly appreciate the systems they have in place as an employee and for the customers. It's very thorough and detailed. There is always someone available to help whether it's IT, your manager, your... local marketing coordinator or customer care for product questions. Especially when you are in an apt and need answers! They are there. They want you to succeed and they ask you how they can make it better.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a VERY fulltime job. You are driving a lot of the day and going from one appointment to the next. There is always some paperwork and client followup even after your appointment hours, so prepare to work! But it can be very lucrative and they will reward your for your hard work!

    Advice to Management

    Keep asking questions about what the sales people hear from clients and the general public. Always be will to change a system to make it better, which I think you all do a great job at. Keep appreciating how hard we work and create incentives that reward to sales people that go the extra mile!

    3 Day Blinds2018-04-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "great company, excellent benefits, competitive compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design/Sales Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3 Day Blinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well structured training program running about 3-4 weeks on products and CRM systems. Management has open door policy and always willing to assist. 3 Day Blinds is an industry leader in window treatments with a very competitive bonus and commission structure. Appointments are generated by the company and building your referral base which give you the opportunity to earn more in bonuses. For the most part, you are... given lots of autonomy and full time flexible work schedule for life/work balance. Great medical/dental benefits and 401k available with company match. Overall, 3 Day Blinds is a great company to work for and is an industry leader in window treatments. Customer service and satisfaction should be important to you as this is one of the company's values that I looked for in getting hired with 3 Day Blinds.

    Show More

    Cons

    You have a lot of product information and there is a learning curve...but you have customer service support, manager support, and coworkers are always eager and willing to help! You drive...a lot, but company compensates for mileage. Must have time management and follow up is crucial to becoming successful.

    3 Day Blinds2018-03-22
  3. Helpful (9)

    "working harder not smarter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant in Paterson, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at 3 Day Blinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, company provided leads, great support from other designers in my group, company invests a ton of $ into training new hires

    Cons

    company does provide leads but they are not prequalified so you spend a lot of time discussing quality product with people who don't care about quality they only care about the bottom line (and your bonus is based partially on how many appts you actually sell). Schedulers are horrible and do not consult a map when scheduling appts so you could travel an hour or more to get from 1 consultation to the next and then... you arrive to an angry person because you are late. Job description was ever changing. At time of hire requirements were 15 appts a week (basically 3 a day) and 1 evening each apt having a 3 hour block of time for the consultation and travel. Shortly after apt blocks were shortened to 2-1/2 hours but our territories remain large and this is where the design suffered. If you want people to buy a quality product they expect the design consultation and don't expect the order taker who is running to the next appt. Not for the kind of money we are expecting people to pay for blinds, shades and especially draperies. Along with the shortened apt time we were then asked to do up to 4 and even 5 consultations a day and more than 1 evening. And then, if you are selling, you are doing paperwork until 10pm...where is the quality of life and time with family? Even on days off you have a work phone and people get mad when you don't get back to them right away...so true "days off" are very rare since you are always trying to close things that may not have at the house and put out the fires when customer service drops the ball (which happens OFTEN). The pay is another area entirely. This job is 100% commission which they are honest with you from the beginning but what is not accurate is the % you are actually paid. You are brought on board with the delusion that you will get 10% commission. What they don't tell you is that you only get full commission if you do not give any discounts. Meanwhile the market is FLOODED with discount coupons and everyone has one...I honestly don't think I ever sold anything full price, especially since we need to make our prices more competitive. So...that being said, I never got 10% commission on anything. Discount coupons come right off of the designers bottom line. There is also no paid vacation. None. Not even after a year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    the design consultants are your front line, everything should be done to make this job more manageable for them. If they are happy it will reflect in their performance and there will be far less turnover and therefore less money wasted in the training process. Get schedulers to read a map so there is less driving between appts and maybe don't be so agreeable to the potential client and tell them who will be in... their area and when. DC's need a better work/life balance. Maybe even give a paid vacation. We work really hard and unless you are working 6 days a week and open for 24 appts you really are working hard for little reward. I've seen a lot of great designers leave and these are some of the reasons.

    Show More
    3 Day Blinds2017-09-30
  4. Helpful (4)

    "All products are made in Mexico and China, but they tell their clients they're made in US. Revolving door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3 Day Blinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In depth training at several of their facilities, the trainers are amazing, very helpful and will like to actually see you succeed inside their training center.

    Cons

    Working with a manager who has her favorites and takes appointments away from you to give to her top sales people; the manager pretends to know it all but when you ask a question she tells you to call customer service, this company is a revolving door, the people that I trained with are all currently gone from the company within weeks, poor management skills especially when management plays favorites and purposely... messes with your sales quota and gives fake appointments to give away real appointments to senior sales reps for an easy sell. This is a sales position, BUT YOUR NOT ALLOWED TO PREQUALIFY THE SALE; this particular manager is sneaky and will pretend she has your best interest, but don't be fooled, she isn't a team player. Again she has her favorites, whom she resorts to for answers to questions she should know and pushes off her responsibilities onto them. Products are very expensive and the quality doesn't justify the price. The commission and bonus structure and "errors" is set up for you to fail and the manager will take a customers word before she does her own hardworking employees. I won't be here for long, this company and the New Jersey territory is a revolving door. And it has all to do with management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of leading with an iron fist, try leading by example. Maybe learn the products that you are pushing your employees to sell and stop pushing your responsibilities onto your top sales people. Believe me, they say yes to helping, because they're team players, but they don't want to do something that is managements responsibility. Leaders lead by example, the weak ones who don't know how to lead are the issue.

    3 Day Blinds2017-08-11
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Coffee is for Closers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3 Day Blinds full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to make extremely good money is given with 3DB. As a full time salesperson, I have the opportunity to make a $9000 bonus every month PLUS commission. Hours can be flexible if you are skilled at time management. If you have background being self employed or having autonomy with your schedule, you can work smarter, not harder, and make a great living while you do it. HOWEVER if you want to make... 9k+Commission every month (about $15-16k monthy, on average) you have to work all the time. This includes weekends and evenings much of the time. But again if you have time management skills you can make those meetings short and sweet. You would need to know your products inside and out to cut down on time spent working, and that takes a considerable amount of time to learn. If you are a "people person" this job is fun. Yes there are days when it's horrifying, that's true of any job in the world. But mostly it's decent, can be fun. I have met great people on my sales appointments. And it's not a dog-eat-dog environment, at least in my district. We are not pitted against each other so much like you will find in a closed sales environment, like if you work inside sales and see the same salespeople every hour of the work day and have to "fight" for customers. We are given territories that are geographically and success driven, there's very little competition amongst ourselves. Upper UPPER management is within reach. I don't think newer people are aware of this, but most of the "big wigs" would be happy to talk to you if you need something.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is a fair amount of turnover in the customer service department, and working with newer reps can be an extreme challenge. The lack of product knowledge at the corporate level is astonishing to me at times and can make my job very difficult. The Blame Game is played every day. You need to be extremely diligent in making sure you cover every base and explain every detail and get everything signed and... initialed or it's your paycheck on the line. Having an Error Rate over 1% of your sales will take your 9k bonus down to 3k. And also to get to that highest bonus level, it is extremely difficult. Most reps will not make 9k a month. Your errors stay with you for 3 months. So if you screw up, your paycheck will be affected (basically 2/3 of it taken away) for 3 months. When and if you DO hit the highest bonus level of 9k, they say it is "unlimited bonus earnings" because if you sell another 15k you can tack on $500 to that bonus. Selling 15K is worth a whole lot more than a measly $500 and I feel that the bonuses should raise exponentially. It's very, very difficult to hit those high levels, and if you do, you should be paid accordingly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My direct supervisor, Tarnia Prater, is AH-MAY-ZING!!! I have had 2 other district managers in my time at the company and by leaps and bounds, Tarnia is the best. Having had a background of self-employment, I might not be the easiest person to "manage" and my boss understands that and gives me plenty of opportunity to do my job successfully. I do not need to be micromanaged, so she does not. I have team members... that definitely do need to be micromanaged, so she does. Best part about her management style is that it's fairly tailored to each of us as needed. She takes the time to really get to know each of us and our successes and struggles and works with everyone individually, as well as getting us in a group so we can help eachother. My past managers were either extremely negative personality types, or inefficient management types. The contrast is stunning. My other advice to management in other departments would just be to listen to the struggles or advice from the front lines, the design consultants. We are the ones that see the actual products, know what could be done better, what styles are in demand, etc. Working "inside the bubble" seems to be an area for improvement at times.

    Show More
    3 Day Blinds2017-01-18
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Apply if you'd like to be responsible for everyone elses' mistakes ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Installation 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 3 Day Blinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can chat with customer service agents online

    Cons

    Passing the buck is rampant. The product is not American made and is very cheaply crafted. They get it wrong a large percentage of the time. There is no support for the customer service agents so even if you do get through to them they often can't be of help. They have to escalate and then the person who it gets escalated to never gets back to you.

    Advice to Management

    Change the name to reflect the actual product timeline so all of your employees aren't being bombarded by angry customers. Bring production into America to support our economy. For the amount you charge you should be producing Hunter-Douglas quality product but you don't. Do not throw lower level employees under the bus. Treat your installers better, give them a better salary closer to the industry standard. Pay... your sales rep a base salary. Every type of employee is mistreated by 3 Day and pass around that frustration so no one can work together peacefully and effectively.

    Show More
    3 Day Blinds2016-06-23
  7. Helpful (10)

    "You will not make the money they promise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 3 Day Blinds

    Pros

    For the most part company does a good job on the product and customer service.

    Cons

    It is not a 100K job or any where near it. Top DC's may make this, yet they have been in the industry forever. Average to fair DC's make 20K to 30K. You are not able to sell at retail so you average 5 to 7% commission. They constantly talk about the fabulous Bonus structure yet it is near impossible to earn because they go by error rate of 1% and under. If you miss measure or customer does not like what they order... you are penalized. Very few make the double and triple bonus they constantly tout. It is long hours and ends up a minimum wage position. Maybe 5 years in you will begin to make good money. They are very dis ingenuous about what the position really is. Most sales positions exaggerate yet 3 Day is blatantly dishonest.. Turnover is very high.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your DC's fair market commission of a flat 10% and stop being so dishonest about what the compensation really is. This would probably result in happier customers and employees.

    3 Day Blinds2016-04-01
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Design Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant in Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 3 Day Blinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The reason I took this job was because of the accolades that my former fellow designers at Living Spaces gave the District Manager, Tarnia Prater at 3 Day Blinds. Two of my co-workers had left Living Spaces to work for 3 Day Blinds and were getting positive support to help increase their productivity and assure the customer was getting all their needs met effectively. The sales process is basically foolproof if... you follow it! Leads are distributed among the district designers evenly and you are always encouraged to provide your own self-generated leads. If you are struggling with any aspect of your career, Tarnia is always available to guide you. She even takes phone calls from her Design Consultants at 10 p.m. which I think is above and beyond the call of duty. She realizes that we all need a little down time and makes sure that we have days off when we need them, within reason. She is flexible and not rigid in the method which she leads her team. She expects us to represent the company with the utmost integrity and she leads by example. I haven't found a better leader than Tarnia in this industry and I have worked in the Home Improvement industry for over 30 years. The product is made in house, with a few exceptions and therefore it can deliver the goods to the customer in a timely 3 day fashion! It comes with the best warranty in the business and has a customer service team available 7 days a week. You are basically your own boss. You have a certain amount of independence which I really enjoy! I am self motivated, so I can push myself to the limit and am rewarded financially for doing so, which is a big plus! The team of seasoned designers is always there to answer questions for the newbies, such as myself. There is also a "Live Chat" line, that can field questions about products and procedures as well. You are never alone! What a great feeling to have help when you need it and a manager that really cares about you as a person and not just a number! What more reasons do you need to work for 3 Day Blinds?

    Show More

    Cons

    The only downside of working with 3 Day Blinds is that you are required to use your own vehicle. I have a mini van that doesn't get the best gas mileage. But, they do reimburse you for a portion of your gas and maintenance expenses.

    3 Day Blinds2015-10-07
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Very tough job with tremendous amount of responsibility for average pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant (DC) in Anaheim, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at 3 Day Blinds full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's easy to get hired because it's a commission job. They will give you a chance. It's interesting work once you gain some skills. There is a creative aspect to the job and sometimes you can control your schedule to have a break in the day to handle personal things between appointments. Benefits are good. I have a great manager.

    Cons

    There is no base salary and there are mandatory meetings and phone calls you aren't compensated for. You will be expected to help train new hires with no compensation. Sometimes you get involved in customer service issues for customers that aren't yours, so again, no compensation. There are no longer many employees on salary that are available to help with these issues. During the interview you'll hear about that... it's possible to earn over 100K year. There are a few, but it's not realistic for the majority. The commissions are too low. You'll need to bonus monthly to make an living, which would be great if the bonus were solely based on production. It's tied to your accuracy. This seems to make sense, but there's an error system that is set up to work against the DC because every customer service issue is automatically charged against the DC including production errors, installer mistakes and misunderstandings, the customer doesn't like their choice, etc. The burden of proof of how the "error" occurred is placed on the DC. It's time consuming and often sits on your record for months. I often wonder if I ever recap the money I've missed out on as I'm waiting for resolution. It really gets old. Marketing is good, but there are times you won't have many company generated appointments to keep you busy. It depends on the seasons, economy and your Manager. Appointments can be distributed unfairly usually based on a sales report that is not accurate. The months go in cycles, you'll have a good one, then you'll be short of cash the next. Very difficult to accumulate savings or meet your financial goals. YOU"LL NEED A BACK UP FUND indefinitely, and it doesn't matter how good you are. Many things are out of your control when working for someone else. The customers continually receive discount coupons and your pay is reduced when they use them. You will not "always get 10%" like I see in a review below. It is not like running your own business. You may have low supervision, but you do not have control over pricing or design options. In this industry there is a 40/60 rule. You'll get an average of 60% of the customers. 40% of the time you are working for free. Driving, designing, measuring, providing samples, rebidding & redesigning. Some projects won't fit into the 3 Day Blinds process. Someone actually said in another review all a Design Consultant has to to is push a button? Honestly. Is any job as easy as pushing a button? You'll need to drive to see the customer, help them figure out what they can do with their project, price it right, do your research and know all the variations, enter them into the software system perfectly, and be real sure there are no errors before you push that button or your pay will be reduced 90 days.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Executive Management. The expectations on the design team are unrealistic if you have any interest in retaining designers. I've watched designers come an go. The installers get tired of helping train DCs. They want skilled designers to work with. Is this the goal to keep bringing on fresh sales people and burning them out? If so, it's working. This job is tough, I'm surprised this isn't considered a... skilled labor position that is treated with some kind of value as opposed to a sales job where salespersons are expendable. The company gives us the first 4 weeks of training, and we provide the rest for ourselves. Our skills are self taught. This is a "learn by trying" job. And we pay for that with the error penalty. The initial training only gets us partially ready to run. There isn't enough continuing support. We need accessible trainers in our own districts that get paid to help us. Not by joining our appointments and evaluating if we recited the 6 step process, but by coming out to a job site if necessary and helping us measure and design it when needed. We can all sell. Anyone who can't talk to people and get hired would never try this. This person could also visit customers and handle customer issues. Not everything can be done remotely, or be done by a commissioned employee. New hires need to go on a training schedule with experienced salaried trainers and the customers need to be aware of what is going on. Don't just drop them in on our appointments and expect us to train for free. We are already volunteering on our own time to go see if we can get the customers to give us work. It takes a long time to become accomplished as a DC, but we have no security. Scheduling is getting better in the last 6 months, but invest in a software program that shows the map layout of the appointments and schedule the customers within proximity of each other. There's too much pressure to work 12 hour days 7 days a week and holidays. Organize! I can do more appointments if they are close together. Some of the sales process is outdated and too "salesman-y" Customers don't like that. We are told we are a retail business. I don't think so. This is a service business. We can't compete on retail, our prices are higher than others. Customers want service that's why they call us and why they'll pay extra to have an experienced designer help them. So why is high turnover acceptable? Offer us some security and a fair program to deal with reorders. I can't recommend my job to others because my friends can't understand why I keep doing it. It's a lot of pressure for low pay. They always ask me "Has anyone in upper management actually done your job?" I guess the answer is I've not completely burned out yet. Too bad. I put a lot of work into this and my customers really like my work.

    Show More
    3 Day Blinds2015-07-22
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Excellent toward customers, terrible to employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 3 Day Blinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I felt confident that I was selling a quality product and that I needn't worry about the quality of what my customers would receive. The sales samples, laptop, cell, and tech support were excellent.

    Cons

    Scheduling was done by customer service reps with no regard for logistics, so appointments were never scheduled sensibly or efficiently. If a customer were to ask me to change their appointment I was not allowed to do so and had to go through several layers of beurocracy to do so. Leaving it on my calendar affected my close rate which affected whether I was given 'good' appointments. Hours were demanding, with a... minimum of 20 appointments run per week including mandatory evening and weekends. This means, with driving, paperwork, follow-up, and second-appointments, that an average work-week was 60 hours. Often more. Commissions were paid on a schedule that required .01% error rate on all orders. That is fine, except that all errors made by anyone (installer, factory, etc.) were attributed to me and had to be fought, meaning that commission payment was a constant battle. There were 22 different products which had to be available to show at every appointment and each one had to be understood and entered into the computer system correctly and quickly, despite the system being quite tedious for order entry. This made appointments slow to finish, which annoyed customers and sometimes required second appointments, which cost me money and time. My manager was efficient and kind but the system was brutal and was not designed to retain good, intelligent reps. It was designed to burn through reps without paying them their bonuses. Shame.

    Show More
    3 Day Blinds2014-04-29
Found 159 reviews