3D Systems "cutting edge technology" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

3D Systems Employee Reviews about "cutting edge technology"

Updated Sep 7, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
3D Systems President & CEO Vyomesh Joshi
Vyomesh Joshi
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Human resources is there for the upper management(in 17 reviews)

  • "I hope they do before there is no one left to sell this great product(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cutting edge technology"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Tons of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3D Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    3DS is literally on the cutting edge of technology and everybody here seems to be working really hard to stay there. I also work hard but love what I'm doing. It's really the opportunity of a lifetime. I feel like I am trusted and encouraged to take risks and get to work with a lot of different people across the organization on many of the exciting things going on.

    Cons

    The pace of our growth can be challenging, there's a lot of work and it comes at an incredibly fast pace. But the opportunities that come from that are endless.

    Continue reading
    3D Systems2014-12-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 3D Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with cutting edge technology. Coworkers and teammates were enjoyable to work with. Products in the software group are the best in the industry. Generally, a cool company to work for. I have high hopes with VJ - he's got a lot on his plate but I'm confident he'll turn the company around.

    Cons

    Approval process was a nightmare. Spent almost as much time processing an order as I did making the sale. It's like pulling teeth to get a darn order through the system. Commission for sales was not stable - I "exceeded sales expectations" and got my commission cut. Compensation plans take way too long to get together... and when you do get your comp plan... if it's worse... you have retroactive commission taken out. Imagine having a rocking sales month only to have your next commission statement show negative commission due to comp plan change. Drove myself and especially my wife... nuts. Show appreciation for when people perform. I never got any congratulations from management when making insane sales targets (until I gave my notice!). Non-sales employees often get congratulated for doing their job - individual sales performers almost never get recognized.

    Continue reading
    3D Systems2017-09-08

    3D Systems Response

    September 11, 2017VP, Culture and Engagement

    Thank you for sharing details about your experience working at 3D Systems. I agree with you that we have great teammates and the best products in the industry. And I hear your feedback about compensation plan changes. This did take longer than we expected. The company is doing a massive amount of work to ensure that we have a clear and consistent total rewards structure across the company that includes elements such as job scope, job level, job title, bonus opportunity, salary market position and clarity and career paths. We will share information and have a conversation with each employee in the first half October. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. I genuinely appreciate the contribution you made while you were with the company and I wish you great success in your future career. Kind regards, Nicole Helprin, VP Culture and Engagement

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Engineering Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 3D Systems full-time

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology, Innovation, New markets

    Cons

    Immature processes and operational infrastructure for its size and objectives

    3D Systems2016-10-02
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Potential is gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rock Hill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 3D Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great people work there, as long as you're not the executive management. It was once like family, but no longer. Cool technology and cutting edge.

    Cons

    Execs too interested in playing the game of RISK, buying everything related to 3DS but not fixing the internal problems, which happens to be the infrastructure of the company. Stocks tumbled from once high of $90+ down to under $10 now.

    Continue reading
    3D Systems2016-02-26
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Proceed with Caution..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Golden, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 3D Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Helping improve patient health and outcome (although with a lot of daily frustration based on how things are managed) -Cutting-Edge Technology (although this means little with poor management, lack of career development, and poor pay/compensation structure)

    Cons

    -Poor Management -Lacks Career Development -Poor Pay & Compensation -Lacks Innovation

    Continue reading
    3D Systems2015-10-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at 3D Systems

    Pros

    Get to work with cutting edge technology on a daily bases.

    Cons

    Very low pay grade. Very few opportunities for advancement. Lack of community. Company business model is terrible.

    3D Systems2015-06-09
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Run, don't walk!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 3D Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company is an industry leader. The technology is very cutting edge. One can work in hardware or software, and one can work in professional grade printers vs consumer grade printers.

    Cons

    Low pay, overworked, underappreciated employees. Very political - the "insiders" get very generous stock options while the rank and file get dumped on. Morale so low that customers and resellers pick up on it.

    Continue reading
    3D Systems2015-06-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Extremely fast paced - it's great if that's your thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Rock Hill, SC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3D Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Things at 3D Systems move faster than anywhere else I've ever worked. I knew that going in and that's what attracted me to the place. It's understandable that some people would find that to be a negative and a lot of the reviews on here seem to confirm that. To me, it's the best part of the job. -The whole 3D printing industry is still a nascent space and this is a company that still thinks and moves like a startup, so there is a ton of opportunity. I've been genuinely impressed at the degree of freedom I've been given to try new things and feel like the company does a good job rewarding initiative. -Even though there's a lot of work, the company is very flexible with scheduling, which certainly improves the work-life balance. -It's cool to be able to work with such cutting edge technology on a daily basis.

    Cons

    -Most of the people here work extremely hard and hours are longer than in most places. So be prepared. But this speaks more towards the type of people who work here than the office itself. The company seems to attract people who are obsessed with getting stuff done.

    Continue reading
    3D Systems2014-11-02
  9. Helpful (10)

    "3D is a great space to be in, but there are plenty of other and better companies to join."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 3D Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge 3D printing, software and scanning technology. Ability to WFH (at least in my case) if proven to be able to get the job done. Strong relationships with colleagues based on business unit.

    Cons

    Terrible management and lots of empty promises. Opportunities for advancement only seem to exist if you are a family member of a top executive. Training is almost non existent, and expectations of revenue and deliverables does not match at all to available resources.

    Continue reading
    3D Systems2014-10-13
  10. Helpful (4)

    "3D systems - cutting edge place to work - fast moving, needs more mainstream applicaitons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3D Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    3Dsystems is involved in cutting edge 3d printing application materials including metals, ceramic, plastic, sugar , chocolate. (food printing)

    Cons

    market is still young for mainstream 3D printing applications; most of momentum is due to marketing campaigns, etc. Would like to see more practical consumer apps

    Continue reading
    3D Systems2014-05-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews