512 Solutions Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

512 Solutions Account Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
512 Solutions CEO Joseph Nolan (no image)
Joseph Nolan
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Entrepreneurship is not just a class you take in college."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 512 Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Let me start off by saying I have worked at 512 Solutions for over a year, and today is the first time I even bothered to read the reviews on this website. There are many more positive reviews than negative ones, and I completely understand where the authors of each one were coming from. Everybody has different experiences, dependent on many different variables, and everybody is entitled to their own opinions. ... Here is mine.... Since day one, I have been supported through my journey with 512 Solutions. This was my very first job in a new city where I knew absolutely nobody, and I suddenly had over 20 new friends. Positive people attract positive people, and negative people give up on everything anyway. I DO NOT do drugs, of any kind, and never felt uncomfortable or disrespected because of that. I HAVE worked in the real world. I have a degree in marketing and a background in marketing research, sales, and promotions. I came into 512 Solutions looking for experience in leading teams and managing people, and was given the management training program breakdown during my interview. I was given all the knowledge needed to make sales in my very first week, and started making sales immediately. I have never had to rely on the $300 base pay that is still in place for me, and I'm still here a year later. I have full medical, dental and vision insurance through Blue Cross Blue Shield that I get through 512 Solutions. Yes, we work with WalMart. WalMart is the largest retailer in the country, with thousands of people walking through the doors on a daily basis, and it simply doesn't make sense for us to set up elsewhere. I guess we could go door to door, or cold call people. The opportunity for management is real. I have seen three people promoted to management since I started a year ago. Their names are Brandon, Jeff and Erica. Jeff did my interview and coached me, and now he runs his own office. I have learned so much in the past year about how to actually APPLY the marketing knowledge I spent 4 years studying in college. Due to "lack of experience", and a saturated market of recent grads looking for entry-level marketing positions today, the fact that I was able to start making money at 512 Solutions on day 1 of working with the company is hard to beat in the REAL WORLD. 512 Solutions adds value to people, regardless of their background, education, age, gender, etc. In one year I have been flown to California twice, because I worked hard and earned company invitations. Once to San Francisco for a company retreat, and once to LA for a conference. These were both amazing experiences that other companies would require years of dedication from employees before covering this type of venture. Before working with 512 Solutions, I had never been tubing on the river, played disc golf, played laser tag, played competitive sand volleyball or carved pumpkins as an office and had the company pay for everything. I literally did ALL of that in the past 3 months. My family also attended many of these events with me! I am now at the point where I am pushing for the next management position at 512, and am extremely excited for my next step. I love the people I work with, and am HAPPY that many of the people who have started and quit, left. Negative vibes aren't appreciated at 512 solutions. This isn't for everybody, but I wouldn't wanna work with everybody ;)

    Show More

    Cons

    I understand how may people shy away from a company who allows their employees to work off commission. I was quite hesitant about the pay structure when I started. However, I have learned that performance truly does differentiate the successful from the average. 512 Solutions expects their employees to be positive minded and to have the ability to perform all the time. Their training program is designed to train... people in sales AND management simultaneously. So YES, I have many responsibilities! I also have great coaches to help me through my journey. People who want to "do it their way" usually struggle. Anybody who has written a negative review on this site, never got past the sales phase. It is apparent to me that they were not meant to manage or lead people to begin with, probably due to their lack of drive or resilience. This program is strategically designed to shape and mold people to become leaders. People with leadership qualities do well in the business world, as well as in their outside lives. People without high personal accountability do not do well here. People who have excuse making tendencies do not do well here. People who cannot control their emotions and run at the first site of a new challenge do not do well here. Other than that, everybody does VERY WELL here! 512 solutions does expect a lot from their employees, but they also invest much of their time and resources into developing their employees and providing them with great opportunity. WE also have A LOT of fun. I have walked home with $1000 paychecks, and we get paid weekly, but I only get out what I put in. And THAT"S THE REAL WORLD.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not everybody is going to fit in at every company, including this one. One flaw that 512 Solutions has is that they assume that everybody they hire will be successful.

    512 Solutions2014-10-22

    512 Solutions Response

    October 27, 2014Recruiting

    Thanks so much for your honest feedback! You're right, this isn't a cookie cutter position that is the right fit for everyone. But for those with true work ethic, and relentlessness towards their goals, there is plenty of opportunity to do big things at 512 Solutions.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 512 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Al places have a mixture of pros and cons, and 512 Solutions is no exception. This place leans toward more negativity. My bias is that i realized i would never succeed in this business because of the flawwed business plan, lack of transparency, my dispassion to stand in Wal-Mart selling a crappy product, and I'm not Intellectually slow. No, i didnt make it because i could not buy into the hype from about day 7.... PROS - very positive energy. People want to succeed, lead, and think they want more than the average person here. -Morning motivational meetings are fresh and exciting. -Alot of competitions to keep the energy and sales up -Great mentorship program, if you don't know anything about leadership, business, and have an entrepreneur mindset already. -Learn alot about yourself and people because you are selling. - Instant friends and very fun team nights on a weekly basis. -1 percent of the peoole succeed in this and its great money if you do. -MLM company, some people know them as a pyramid scheme This is good. because this model is all over the place and you know what to expect because people don't like surprises. -people encourage, help, and try to inspire you to get back up when you fall down.

    Show More

    Cons

    They sell you on the vision and being an entrepreneur. And this is not a real idea of an entrepreneur. Entrepreneurs dont have bosses and people in higher positions of them that can control you. But Companies do. What this is...you are an employee trying to become a manager. -If you dont see yourself as a monkey, and if you cant bark like a monkey, and most importantly, you dont think like one--you will not... make it here. One day you will discover how the foundation here is built on a thorn of lies. -No true base pay. Its money that they steal from Joesph to pay Peter. In other words, its exactly like a credit card. You get money n advance and then they make you pay it back. The only positive. sode is there is no interest. Tons of people had balances they owed. -You stay in a Wal-Mart for 5-7 hours a day. And assuming you're not the top 2 salers and wil get paid around the base pay, plus well over. 50 hours work week you get paid less then Wal-Mart employees. But at least 512 has a vision to take your mind off the truth. -its a "Cult" mind set. - Peoole here, even the manager, has no idea what it truly means to be an entrepreneur. And there.leadership tactics are very juvenile.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    ...

    512 Solutions2015-02-26
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Best To Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 512 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Pay is better than McDonalds, if you are a good salesman -Offers minimal, contribution (you pay) healthcare after 3 months -Training is sufficient, depending on who is training you. -Better than cold calling or door to door sales

    Cons

    -You will be selling DirecTV in Walmart, all day everyday. -Will literally hire anyone who can pass a background check. If you make it to your second interview you will be hired. These are salesmen they are trying to sell you on the second interview at chick-fil-a (which they will not pay for, if you are such a good catch why are they not bothering to invest $5 in you by the second interview). Look for basic sales... techniques during your interview i.e. indifference, taking control, not being salesy, etc. This is what you can expect to be taught to sell. -If you cannot close your first sale by the end of day 5 prepared to be let go. -Work week is Thursday thru Monday 11am-9pm (you will be encouraged to get in at 10am and stay as late as 11pm to make a sale). Say goodbye to your nights and weekends. -No holidays (Walmart is busiest then), vacation days, personal days, sick days (unpaid and require a doctors note), etc -Required to come into the office everyday before heading out to "the field" (i.e. walmart), to hear sales techniques, practice pitch and motivational from 11am to 12:30pm. Flat out waste of time, which you are not paid for. -You will begin to notice everyone who gets "promoted" receives no pay increase, only additional time consuming tedious responsibilities. -Commission only payment. Base pay is consider supplemental and must be repaid -Claims that Account Mangers make around 30k a year. This is a flat out lie. Account managers make 15-20k. -You will use your own personal vehicle a LOT and will not be reimbursed. Some locations are over an hour away (Temple, Lagrange, Marble Falls, etc) -Makes you go on BS business trips to Waco, San Antonio and Dallas. Where YOU PAY for gas, food, hotel (better be prepared to share a bed) or local managers couch. -Encouraged to mislead, not lie, to make sales. -Everyone likes to talk about the big picture and expansion, when the reality of the situation is 95% of reps don't make it a year with the company and only a fraction of a percent make it to branch manager, ownership. Ask about turnover rates. Remember good companies invest in good people, bad companies leach the life out their employees and view employees as expendable commodities. -Even if you make it to branch manager (i.e. ownership) more offices close within 2 years than stay open. -Claims owner make a fortune in sales and overrides. If you believe this boy do I have some prime waterfront real estate to sell you. -No realistic career path -Cult like environment, everyone in the office drinks the coolaid

    Show More
    512 Solutions2014-12-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great group of people, Challenging, Unfavored Growth Opportunity, and Very Competitive pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 512 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is great. I love the people I work with, everyone is very driven. It keeps you on your toes! What helped me a lot in the beginning was the time my colleagues spent with me to help train me and put me on the path to being successful in the field. The opportunity for advancement is ever-growing. It is always great to be apart of something that is becoming more and more successful with each day... that passes.

    Show More

    Cons

    Super Competitive environment. If you prefer to be left in your comfort zone, and left alone to your own devices this work environment is not for you. The entire business is about growth, expanding your comfort zone and pushing you to be the best you can be.

    512 Solutions2014-10-01

    512 Solutions Response

    October 14, 2014Recruiting

    Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad you felt the team was supportive and helpful during training.

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing training and learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 512 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I felt like I was always learning new things- it felt like getting paid to get an MBA. Joe and his managers are really intelligent, friendly and empowering. I was so nervous when I started and they made me feel really confident from the very beginning. If you are looking to get some more experience or training in communications or marketing I definitely suggest coming in and talking to them.

    Cons

    Like said, I was always learning new things. I enjoyed getting pushed out of my comfort zone and challenged to get better but I can see how some people would not like it. I wasn't looking for a job making copies or getting coffee so I really liked my experience.

    512 Solutions2014-07-07

    512 Solutions Response

    August 18, 2014Recruiting

    Thanks so much for your kind words! We love helping people push themselves beyond their comfort zones and learn new skills and habits. We are so glad you enjoyed working with our team and learned a lot.

  6. Helpful (5)

    "AMAZING EXPERIENCE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 512 Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EVERYTHING!. The Work Enviroment, growth, the people. Its an amazing place to work. I love the fact that i get to learn new leadership skills and how to be a awesome manager. The management opportunity it amazing. Growth happens really quick.

    Cons

    If working hard is a con, then this is not a place for you. The negatives reviews on this page are bogus. Of crouse you have to start from the bottom and work your way up. Im sure those guys are having fun a taco bell right now.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    512 Solutions2014-06-18

    512 Solutions Response

    August 18, 2014Recruiting

    Thanks for your review! Working hard is surprisingly not for everyone, but we reward hard work & performance around here with real growth potential. We're glad you appreciate the management development program. We love developing great people into our future leaders and managers.

  7. Helpful (8)

    "A Sales job with a bogus promotion scheme to management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 512 Solutions full-time

    Pros

    You'll find an upbeat and personable team of people in this office. There are lots of opportunities for leadership experience, and the company offers a solid health care plan after 90 days.

    Cons

    It is a job scam. The pay is commission only for 115 dollars a a sale. You will be selling Direct TV in a Wal-Mart. The promotions are only "black and white" to Account Manager. After this promotion, you have to be lucky enough to be chosen for assistant manager after the most recent one gets promoted out to start his or her new office. The turn over rate is extremely high at this business because people are strung... along on the expectation of reaching management, yet the opportunity is only granted to only one person every year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be upfront and transparent about your business model and about your 300 dollar a week base pay. It is not a base pay at all but rather a supplemental that has to be paid back if your commission was not high enough for the week.

    512 Solutions2013-09-20
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great mentorship and company to start your career with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 512 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I never write reviews, but I felt I should after talking with a few of my friends who also just graduated. I realized how lucky I am that 512 Solutions is where I started my career. A lot of my friends are still waiting tables or feel like just a number in a corporate job, and my experience has been very different. I've had a lot of support and training about business with 512. The company has a lot of stability... with high client demand, which I think is why they're so hands on with training and developing the team. New ideas are supported, and I've already learned a ton, especially about leadership development. And the whole team is friendly and the environment is drama-free.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's my first sales job so I'm not the best yet, which is frustrating. It also can be difficult to be pushed to take new things on all the time. I'm pretty sure I work more than most of my friends at other entry level positions.

    Advice to Management

    Every so often, we have time with a manager from another market, and it's always helpful to be around people who have advanced and are great leaders. If we could make that happen more often, I think it would really help.

    512 Solutions2013-04-23

    512 Solutions Response

    June 11, 2014Recruiting

    We appreciate your review! Thanks for your feedback on having more networking opportunities with management in other cities-we are getting together this weekend in California! It is always smart to learn from others that are successful in the industry you want to be great in.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent People, Somewhat harsh pay and promotion metrics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at 512 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great People: The team of people you work with are fantastic people. Energetic, friendly, and highly helpful. The general mentality is "help others succeed." - Good Leadership: "The working environment teaches you a lot about how to lead a team of people and how to promote positive mentality among others. The team holds daily morning meetings to promote positive messages and teach management and sales... techniques. Everyone is treated as individuals and given fair input. - Energetic Environment: Frequent workplace performance based competitions create unique and fun interactions between co-workers. Employees are all enthusiastic people. - No Seniority: Your pay and advancement options are entirely performance based, with no regard to employment time. You can advance much faster than someone who has worked there longer if you consistently perform better. Summary: Great place to work if you are looking to improve in the sales arena, and to pick up leadership/training techniques.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Highly sales based: The base metric that drives your pay and advancement options is still your weekly sales numbers. Without consistent sales numbers, you will not be considered for leadership positions. Even if you are selling consistently, your sales metrics will be compared with everyone else's in the team to see who is given priority for leadership roles. - Less than Desirable Pay Mechanics: Commission is... not calculated in addition to base pay, but rather as opposed to base pay. This means whichever one is higher is the one you are paid for. Canceled sales will count against your pay (regardless of cause). In addition, if your commission for a week falls below your base pay, the difference will be counted against you in following weeks on a running "negative tab". - No compensation for travel expenses: You will be dispatched to various locations out of the office on a daily basis to promote and sell product. You may be asked to drive to locations up to an hour away on a daily basis. There is no compensation for the gas that you expend traveling to and from these locations. Summary: Unless you are good at sales, no amount of other skills or experience will help you become successful at this company. However, they do provide an extensive amount of training.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Compensation for travel expense would go a long way. Perhaps rethink base pay mechanic to become base pay + commission.

    512 Solutions2012-11-06

    512 Solutions Response

    June 11, 2014Recruiting

    Thanks for taking the time to review our company. We are glad to hear that you appreciate the support from team members to help you succeed.

Found 9 reviews