51Talk Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
51Talk Founder Jack Jiajia Huang
Jack Jiajia Huang
635 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unbelievable penalties if you have no backup internet service provider or a generator(in 256 reviews)

  • "system glitch sometimes, half rate if the student is absent(in 102 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Teach!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Dinuba, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 51Talk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent children are Great!

    Cons

    I have not had any inconveniences so far and I have been here for 2 years now.

    Continue reading
    51Talk2019-04-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Bad Review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 51Talk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Time and High Salary

    Cons

    Better Management and High Penalties

    Continue reading
    51Talk2020-03-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad, Not great,"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 51Talk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Used to have a steady supply of students

    Cons

    Chinese "management," Filipino "support" staff. Annoying all the way around.

    Continue reading
    51Talk2020-03-14
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Low pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at 51Talk part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Choose your own schedule. Meet really great kids

    Cons

    Low pay, work at night

    Continue reading
    51Talk2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (7)

    "It just keeps getting worse"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 51Talk part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Students are generally lovely, make your own schedule, THAT IS ALL.

    Cons

    I began working for 51 Talk in March 2017, it was great for what I needed but since then things have slowly gone from bad to worse. There is no support for the teachers, you will be scammed out of your money if you don't have adequate proof. This company is a sinking ship, all the good teachers are leaving if they haven't already. Look elsewhere for ESL job, there are plenty out there that actually value your time AND pay much better. Do not waste your time here.

    Continue reading
    51Talk2019-09-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Remote Teacher"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Covina, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 51Talk part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make my own schedule Work from home Great students Lesson Plans established

    Cons

    Rate of pay is low Penalty from paycheck for cancellations Student no shows may be frequent and it cuts your money in half China time - may not be hours you need to open. Middle of the night or late evening hours No benefits Hours no guaranteed

    Continue reading
    51Talk2019-08-18
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Poor Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher/Substitute in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 51Talk part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Platform, Good Pay and Bonuses, Great Students

    Cons

    Low booking due to Company Mistakes that they don't own up to

    Continue reading
    51Talk2019-07-26
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Everchanging"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Virtual ESL Teacher in Lafayette, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 51Talk part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Set your own schedule. Pay raises based on increased number of classes taught.

    Cons

    Always making changes at the expense of teachers. During low booking times of the year they hired more teachers simply to pay them a lower starting rate keeping me from maintaining a substantial income. Went from making over $2000 a month to $300 a month.

    51Talk2019-07-04
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Bad pay, Bad support"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at 51Talk part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Students are great - engaging and inspiring Prepared Slides are usually good Content Flexibility

    Cons

    Non-competitive pay Non-responsive Support and Management Lack of accountability for their own mistakes

    Continue reading
    51Talk2019-06-25
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home-based Online English Teacher in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 51Talk part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay was good for being at home working.

    Cons

    They all the sudden fire you if you talk about any of their problems.

    51Talk2019-07-03
Found 1335 reviews