51Talk "deductions" Reviews | Glassdoor

51Talk Employee Reviews about "deductions"

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
51Talk Founder Jack Jiajia Huang
Jack Jiajia Huang
709 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from Home teaching Chinese students with an excellent platform(in 122 reviews)

  • "Work from home, flexible schedule, support is quick to respond(in 65 reviews)

Cons
  • "The penalties for late/absent are also a bit harsh(in 234 reviews)

  • "Penalty for late lesson memos and absent is a bit higher in what you are earning in every class conducted(in 98 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "deductions"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (27)

    "DON'T SETTLE WITH THIS CRAP COMPANY... FALSE HOPES & BROKEN PROMISES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher, Elementary School in Brazil, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 51Talk part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Trainings are provided whether online (via skype or zoom) or onsite. The Tech. Team are accommodating (at times) Coaches are approachable

    Cons

    -You are not paid on what you worked for,,, A lot of deductions! -Severe penalties are given when you do not attend class, even if the reasons are VALID and NOT YOUR ENTIRE FAULT -Company people are self-righteous and self-serving _YOU HAVE OTHER OPTIONS _APPLY AT NATIVE CAMP or ACADSOC since they practice what they preach, you get the REAL DEAL... _51Talk is fooling people and enticing them with their FALSE ADS... Don't get misled and be fooled, You're in for the worst... _UNSTABLE INCOME _POWER OUTAGE IS THEIR WORST ENEMIES and FAILURE TO NOTIFY THE TECH SUPPORT LEADS TO HUMONGOUS DEDUCTIONS that is 3X the money you earn for that specific class/lesson update: I am planning to quit once I get my last pay on April :)

    Continue reading
    51Talk2018-04-06
  2. Helpful (22)

    "ESL Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESL Teacher in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 51Talk for less than a year

    Pros

    I think the idea is great, but execution is awful. I did enjoy the training they give us before start tutoring. She was from the US, very hands-on, practical and made a very good impression of 51Talk. But that's all. Everything else has been a painful and awful experience.

    Cons

    The company is a mess. It has been 3 months since I've done my interview, all training sessions and filled my teacher profile. I was surprised the process went OK, although I thought it was very bureaucratic. The first session they ask us to attend is sort of useless. It seems like we're supposed to talk about the contract, but they skip the most important parts: salary deductions and a fine of $3,000 if you go to a similar company within one year. Somehow my profile is still not launched and I e-mail them every single day. No one seems to really care. Communicating with the HQ in China is a painful process. Recruiters seem to have no idea what to do, putting me in contact with someone else who also has no idea what to do or can't do anything. It is so frustrating. They also said they had a bug in the system. Everyday is a new excuse. It's just going round in circles. I've never been to company where you have to beg to work. Also, be aware that there are several rules (take a print screen every 30 minutes, take a speed test, take picture before you login, take a printscreen of the class with your stutend, if the class is finished before or after 30 seconds you will be penalized, etc.). I am on the edge of giving up. I still think working from home is great, but this is a huge mess. If having my profile launched is such a pain, imagine if I ever need technical support? And yes, you get deductions if you're not on time or something happens. But with such an awful support system, imagine if you have a problem with the platform and you're late because of their bad platform? Do you think you will ever get that deduction given back to you?

    Continue reading
    51Talk2017-06-19
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (12)

    "What a mess!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher (American) in Racine, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 51Talk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home and setting your own schedule.

    Cons

    Teachers report any problems to the Teacher's Support, which is 100% Filipino staff that obviously do not care about this Chinese company or about North American teachers. They constantly interfere when they shouldn't, resulting in HUGE deductions from the teacher's monthly salary and "service score", which reflects poorly on the teacher. There are constant technical issues with the software and with the poor internet speeds in China, yet the "Teacher Support Team" much prefers to mark the teacher absent. To get it straightened out you need to send screenshots. Then they say they reported it to the staff in China, but it never gets resolved and the teacher is penalized points, not paid for the lesson, and deducted 150% of what they should have been paid. This happens several times per week. I am convinced that any positive review of working for 51talk is from a teacher in the Philippines, likely friends or family with the management there. For an American or other, it is a huge rip-off.

    Continue reading
    51Talk2017-04-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "ESL Teacher to students in China"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at 51Talk

    Pros

    Convenience is the number one reason to work for 51Talk. Making extra money from home and meeting new people in another country on a daily basis can be a fun and rewarding experience.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the cons of working at 51Talk heavily outweigh the positive aspects. Please remember that 51Talk is operated in a communist country and does not adhere to the standards and beliefs of many Americans regarding fair and reasonable employment practices. The company creates policies yet fails to follow them. It is very disheartening to be penalized when, as a teacher, you follow all the policies and procedures they set forth yet they do not - there is a significant double standard in the way they operate. The support for North American teachers is severely lacking and response time is extremely limited. Teachers are not allowed any sick time. Absences for any reason, even with ample notification are not permitted and result in severe monetary penalties and automatic deductions from your service score. The negative reviews on Glassdoor for 51Talk are truthful and warranted - heed them!. There are many options for online ESL teachers - I urge anyone who is considering becoming a teacher with 51Talk to weigh all your options and seriously consider your decision before signing a service agreement with this company.

    Continue reading
    51Talk2016-11-10
  6. Helpful (24)

    "Horrible company, don't waste your time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home-based Online English Teacher in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 51Talk part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can work from home. The work itself is not too difficult. Most of the students are respectful (some couldn't care less about learning English and will ignore you). No other pros to this job.

    Cons

    New Teacher Training is 5 hours long, unpaid, and an absolute waste of time. The deductions for missing a class are outrageous, $24. Even if you give their useless "support" team a documented reason, they will still deduct money from your pay. And speaking of pay, you will only be paid once a month, and that's if they decide to even pay you at all. Their "support" team is full of illiterate, unhelpful idiots, and they take forever to answer simple questions. If you open up x amount of slots, you need to sit in front of your computer constantly refreshing the teacher page to avoid missing a last minute booking. What happens if you are booked a minute before class and don't catch it in time? You are marked absent and penalized $24.00. This company is horribly mismanaged and unorganized. Do not work here if you value your time and sanity.

    Continue reading
    51Talk2016-10-04

    51Talk Response

    November 16, 2016Ops Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with our company. At this we have evaluated our policies and made amendments in our fees and penalties to make to maximize your earning potential. We've also updated our teaching tool to alert teachers to sync with their calendar whenever they have booked lessons.

    Continue reading
  7. "Just a simple review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 51Talk part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I fully recommend this work especially to those who want to avoid the hassle and stress of city traffic or the environment outside your house. This is also best-suited for fresh graduates or job seekers and/or breastfeeding mommies who want to devote themselves to more time caring for their children.

    Cons

    The only thing that most of the teachers complained about is the salary deduction/penalty for absences. Sometimes, it is a bit higher than what you are paid with. But to look at it carefully, this is also to discipline teachers and train them to be responsible and have proper time management.

    51Talk2020-01-16
  8. "Toxic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher 

    I worked at 51Talk full-time

    Pros

    It offers Flexible working Hours

    Cons

    *Bad Management. Management is pro-student *Unreasonable penalties/deduction

    Continue reading
    51Talk2020-01-12
  9. "Not a good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Ban Dôngbang, Vientiane Prefecture
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 51Talk part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Believe me. You'll get nothing from this company but exploitation.

    Cons

    Low pay. Massive and unreasonable deductions. Intimidating admin staff.

    Continue reading
    51Talk2020-01-08
  10. "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 51Talk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There will never be any.

    Cons

    LOW PAY, HIGH DEDUCTIONS, USELESS SUPPORTS. You will never get certain answers from supports. They’re going to lock you out and they’re going to do everything NOT to pay you. The company rules are UNFAIR. I know this is a matter of business but you should take care of your teachers too.

    Continue reading
    51Talk2019-11-20
  11. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I worked at 51Talk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible time and most of the teachers are helpful and supportive. Their lesson support is helpful too.

    Cons

    A lot of deductions and their platforms sometimes crashes while in class

    51Talk2019-09-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 98 reviews