5280 Magazine Reviews | Glassdoor

5280 Magazine Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at 5280 Magazine

    Pros

    Great company, helpful staff, lots of office perks

    Cons

    Hard to work there full-time because of lack of openings

    5280 Magazine2019-09-05
  2. "Visionary company doing great journalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Editorial Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 5280 Magazine

    Pros

    * If you want research experience, you'll get it here. Not a day goes by where you aren't fact-checking, tracking down data, and seeking out experts. You'll learn how to find stories and package accurate information. * Lots of opportunities to write. Topics include food, travel, outdoors, music, literature, health, housing, economics, social issues, new businesses, etc. The editors take your pitches seriously and... are often willing to help you workshop them. * Great company culture. Editors are friendly. Lots of laughter and collaboration. The publisher is frequently walking around the office and gives his own presentation to the interns. * 5280 has earned lots of awards lately and is one of the best in the city magazine business. Great name to have on your resume.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Low pay. It's tough to afford rent in Denver with a 28-hours-per-week minimum-wage salary. Most interns have to live with friends or relatives. * A decent amount of overtime work. If you want to get all your fact-checking duties finished and still have time to write your own stories, you'll often have to interview/transcribe/report off the clock. * Interns often feel siloed and don't always get much time with... mentors. They end up feeling burnt out by the end of the internship.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Boost your intern pay — even a little bit — and show how much you value them. Their work is critical to the success of the magazine.

    5280 Magazine2019-05-06
  3. "Great resume builder - not so great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 5280 Magazine for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the best city magazine in the entire Rocky Mountain/Western region. It was a huge resume builder and I learned a lot about social media/event marketing.

    Cons

    The management is a mess. They are extremely rude, unprofessional, and very demanding/ungrateful. I don't think I heard a "Thank you" once. It made me want to quit many times, but I stuck it out because I wanted to use them as a reference in the future. Also, don't expect to get a full-time job here after your internship. They very very rarely have openings.

    Advice to Management

    Please be nice and appreciative. Seriously. That's it.

    5280 Magazine2019-04-09
  4. "Good experience, cliquey work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 5280 Magazine part-time

    Pros

    Great experience, highly organized, always something to do, opportunities to get published, looks incredible on a resume, productive intern roundtables

    Cons

    most employees aren't welcoming to interns, low salary, few opportunities for promotion or permanent hire

    5280 Magazine2018-10-05
  5. "A gem in the publishing world and the best place to work in Denver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 5280 Magazine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is composed of a group of highly motivated, intelligent and down to earth people. There is a broad range of ages within a small Editorial staff which leads to well-rounded reporting and creative. There is a mix of talent from larger magazines, longtimers from the magazine to recent journalism and art grads. It is a Colorado-based company that has a great work-life balance. People work hard and get things... done but still get out the door by 5 or 6 every night.

    Show More

    Cons

    Little room to grow once you've reached the top of your field.

    Advice to Management

    No advice needed, they are doing just fine.

    5280 Magazine2018-04-12
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 5280 Magazine

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow skillset Great feedback

    Cons

    Could improve communication of expectations

    5280 Magazine2017-06-13
  7. "Editorial Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at 5280 Magazine

    Pros

    Great environment and lots of opportunities for interns

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity to move up

    5280 Magazine2017-01-31
  8. "Great culture, dedicated staff, awesome publication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Denver, CO
    Recommends

    I worked at 5280 Magazine

    Pros

    A wonderful, hard-working, dedicated staff across all sections of the publication. Editors are incredibly warm and welcoming, and are eager to mentor the interns.

    Cons

    The online editors are overworked, and the separate teams (business/editorial/design) don't have too much overlap in the day-to-day.

    5280 Magazine2016-06-20
  9. "Great Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 5280 Magazine

    Pros

    I loved the people at 5280 and the work they do is tremendous. It's a great office and a great topic with a lot of different avenues for coverage!

    Cons

    Not fast to promote from within - the people who are there have been there for a long time (not always a bad thing, but hard to break into)

    Advice to Management

    Look at the talent you've already got around you for promotion

    5280 Magazine2015-10-13
  10. "Such a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 5280 Magazine for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is very laid back, they treat their employees very well! Because it is a small company there are a lot of perks. The company values are inspiring and the work atmosphere is team-oriented. Love going to work everyday!

    Cons

    Due to the small size of the company it is difficult to promote to a higher role.

    5280 Magazine2015-02-08
Found 11 reviews