KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

5W Public Relations

Engaged Employer

5W Public Relations

Add a Review

5W Public Relations Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 250 of over 278 reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
5W Public Relations President and CEO Ronn D. Torossian
Ronn D. Torossian
200 Ratings
Pros
  • "Through hard work I've advanced my career rapidly here - with promotions every year since starting as an AC(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great place to develop your career if you are a hard worker and like to be challenged(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "5W has a more corporate feel than most other PR firms(in 26 reviews)

  • "There were even people who suggested making fake gmail profiles for pitching(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Room for growth is immense

      Sep 17, 2021 - Vice President 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The agency is growing very quickly, which gives people exposure to a variety of work and opportunity

      Cons

      Some people can't handle the fast pace

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic Culture, Deceiving Workplace

      Sep 21, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - pay is fine and you do learn a lot (through being forced to deal with horrible scenarios)

      Cons

      - positive reviews are written by HR which is a great indicator of who 5W is - a company that promotes lies and deception to clients and employees alike and cars more about its rotting reputation than the work - i have never experienced worse leadership in my life, especially at a time where we were entering a global pandemic and great leaders were getting positive press all over the place - the work environment is extremely toxic and encourages gossip and slander, resulting in poor team dynamics - it was a neverending nightmare to deal with - senior management simply does not communicate to the team, resulting in embarrassing mishaps with clients, communication gaps, waste or time and resources, etc. - worst of all, 5W encourages harassing reporters and lying to clients. they even released a fake survey in the wake of COVID that was debunked by The Atlantic. -Not only is deception encouraged and woven into the fabric of client relations, 5W takes on clients that oppose human rights and overall humanity, including companies that contribute to a racist privatized prison system. this is not ok.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Advertising

      Join the conversation on

      Advertising

      3y

      a 

      Consultant

      What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

      2,919

      248 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work and Grow as a PR Professional

      May 20, 2021 - Account Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      During my time at 5W, I have had the opportunity to work with and learn from some of the brightest players in this field. Although my experience has been entirely remote, the team makes it a priority to communicate constantly and recognize and celebrate hard work. In addition, I always feel supported and set up for success by my team members. Account Coordinators at 5W PR are truly the "back bone" of the team, as we are given the chance to touch on various aspects of client work including media monitoring, creating client-facing documents, developing and maintaining relationships with reporters and developing proactive pitch angles. At 5W PR, I have grown tremendously in my role in a short time and feel very fortunate to work with such great people.

      Cons

      If you want to succeed at 5W, or really any PR agency for that matter, you have to be a self-starter, able to work well in a fast-paced and at times a stressful environment. Although the job can feel overwhelming, at the end of the day, this is PR not the ER!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to grow

      Sep 13, 2021 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive teams and management styles overall

      Cons

      Workload can become very heavy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Endless Growth Potential

      May 21, 2021 - Assistant Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my experience at 5WPR, team members from AEs to VPs support you in every way they can. Not only do colleagues guide you, but they also trust you to execute. 5WPR's entrepreneurial environment is a constant motivator and the people are incredibly inspiring and real. Senior staff always recognize hard work and make you feel welcome. Thus far, I have grown professionally and personally from the people and clients at 5WPR and have seen with hard work and time, growth is endless here.

      Cons

      I look forward to being in the office, aside from virtual, no cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Such A Fun, Welcoming Work Place

      Jun 16, 2021 - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'll tell you one thing, It's definitely tough to create a homey/friendly environment while working from home but 5W has truly done an amazing job. Hiring in the middle of a pandemic is not easy but they have showing nothing but kindness and willingness to help everyone. Love!

      Cons

      None :) so far so good!

      1 person found this review helpful

      5W Public Relations Response

      Chief HR Officer

      Thank you for your review and positive feedback. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time at 5W.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Ok place to work

      Jul 29, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      5wpr offers really great salary, great benefits and perks. The agency also has some awesome clients to work with. you'll gain a lot of experience here

      Cons

      a lot of demanding tasks, but that's the public relations industry as a whole. its a great experience here, but be prepared to work late hours almost every night

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best of the best

      May 4, 2021 - Marketing Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started working with 5W as a freelancer and after a few months was offered a full-time position. As someone who is passionate about PR, I can truly say 5W is the best of the best. My team is great, they have made the WFH process to be seamless, and every person whom I've been in touch with has always been extremely gracious.

      Cons

      no cons! can't wait to hopefully be back in the office soon!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      5W Public Relations Response

      Chief HR Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are excited your time at 5W has be great and we look forward to your continued success.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A Great Place To Work

      May 20, 2021 - Account Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone works hard and is so driven! Teams value collaboration, there's a lot of ability to grow/move up within the company, teams are all so close-knit and feel like family, and fun team bonding activities throughout the year!

      Cons

      Work load can sometimes get overwhelming (which can be a lot for some people or an exciting challenge for others, but either way everyone is always there to offer support to each other!).

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Do Yourself a Favor and Listen to the Negative Reviews

      Jun 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Literally not a single one.

      Cons

      Everything. Every day was a different iteration of my worst nightmare.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      5W Public Relations Response

      Chief HR Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. I am sorry your experience at 5W wasn't what you expected, but If you recall, I reached out several times to discuss your concerns and you never followed up with me. We wish you all the best and know you will be very successful in your next endeavor.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 250 Reviews

    Popular Careers with 5W Public Relations Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at 5W Public Relations? Share Your Experiences

    or