800-JR Cigar Reviews | Glassdoor

800-JR Cigar Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Rob Maneson
1 Ratings
  1. "New Leadership = New Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Whippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 800-JR Cigar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This place has done a true 180. They've made significant changes to not only upper management, but creating a more inclusive atmosphere with townhalls. They encourage feedback from employees at all levels - from entry level hourly to senior executives. Added two extra vacation holidays to the calendar. Very inviting work atmosphere. They just launched a Vitality program to encourage wellness and group activities.

    Cons

    None that I have seen so far, it really is a great place to be excited about coming into every day.

    Advice to Management

    Create a more modern office decor to go along with the new image.

    800-JR Cigar2014-09-15
  2. "me123"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at 800-JR Cigar full-time

    Pros

    great scheduling... benefits are nice

    Cons

    low wages and raises are small

    Advice to Management

    take care of employees

    800-JR Cigar2018-11-21
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 800-JR Cigar full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits and great team to work for. Always changing and new challenges to conquer

    Cons

    With the industry changing a lot of unknown

    Advice to Management

    Keep employees in the loop. Trust thier knowledge and expertise

    800-JR Cigar2018-08-23
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at 800-JR Cigar part-time

    Pros

    Appears company is potentially moving in the right direction.

    Cons

    Company shows some complacency.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps corporate should look a bit closer at the talents hired. Need a different method for suggestions that can bypass HR and all management at local level that is current with the digital world and able to be sent directly to corporate. Corporate would likely learn some greatly needed intelligence that will allow for jettison of dead weight and improve the bottom line with efficiency at little or no additional cost.

    800-JR Cigar2017-07-05
  5. "Dont do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Burlington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 800-JR Cigar full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    None none none none none none none none none none none no none none none none none none none none none

    Cons

    Always a problem with system & phones. Pay is ridiculous for what they expect. New employees make more than people who has been there several years. Management doesn't do or know how to do there job. They make promises & don't keep them. Rothman is no longer the owner. Imperial Tobacco is the new owner.

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone & start over including themselves.

    800-JR Cigar2017-01-11
  6. "A still growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 800-JR Cigar full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    JR Cigars seemed to be on its last legs a few years ago. Tired product and tired stores. ITG bought JR and has started to turn around the business. New stores are being opened and old stores renovated. The cigar line has been reinvigorated with new boutique brands. Cigar lounges are being added. It remains a great place to work.

    Cons

    Not enough people to do the work. Expanding a company is hard and there has to be people in place who know the job. Communications are still poor with the information flowing up mostly instead of down

    Advice to Management

    Hire people before they are needed. Get HR some expert help. As a department it's a disaster. The president of the company Rob Norris needs to be seen more.

    800-JR Cigar2015-07-20
  7. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 800-JR Cigar

    Pros

    Free coffee but not much else.

    Cons

    Terrible... Everything is Terrible. Everything is going downhill in a dying industry. IT has even taken a turn for the worse. Stay away from this place. No future. No HR. No hope.

    800-JR Cigar2015-06-23
  8. "Turnaround under way. Exciting place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 800-JR Cigar full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Loving the new technology. Culture is much improved. We have a feeling of going places.

    Cons

    Just a shame it's taken this long to start having a vision of the future.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening and keep innovating, we will be market leaders once again soon

    800-JR Cigar2014-08-06
  9. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Whippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 800-JR Cigar full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The uppermanagement has recently changed. The employees are able to make propose inititatives and move forward on their own. There are corporate activities outside of the office for the employees and their families. The cigar business is a tough business but the company has been a solid, strong player in this market. I feel I will be with this company for a very long time.

    Cons

    I was under utilized by my manager but now have a new one who works with me not over me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!!!

    800-JR Cigar2014-07-11
  10. "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 800-JR Cigar full-time

    Pros

    The benefits have gotten better.

    Cons

    The executive management is running this place into the ground. Everyone is on pins and needles. Get someone who can actually run this place. The president is utterly USELESS, but for some reason, no one questions why he is still there.

    Advice to Management

    Take responsibility for your own ineptitude.

    800-JR Cigar2013-09-16
Found 13 reviews