8020 Consulting Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 32 reviews

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
8020 Consulting CEO David Lewis
David Lewis
24 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

357

130 Comments

Consulting

342.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=8020 Consulting~721905
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great compensation(in 7 reviews)
  • "Benefits: Great!(in 7 reviews)
  • "It's also very great to have colleagues that are experienced and smart whom you could continue to learn from and bounce ideas off.(in 3 reviews)
  • "Fellow consultants are all great people to work with.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Very Interesting Work, with a Collaborative and Diverse Team

    Nov 5, 2021 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team: The corporate and consulting teams are full of experienced and educated professionals. The employees all appreciate and understand good work; they’re all driven to help clients, companies and their teammates; and they’re all friendly and pleasant to work with. It’s like everyone here led their group projects in college and grad school. Culture: There’s a real concerted effort to make 8020 a destination for high-performing finance and accounting consultants. The corporate team holds weekly calls for the team to discuss new products, prospects, happenings, and other company news. The pandemic has halted the quarterly in-person social events, but it’s clear they’ll be back on as soon as they’re viable. Diversity: Perspectives and diversity are important here. You can tell on their team page how diverse the team is. It’s refreshing to see that in action, rather than in theory or empty platitude. Results-Oriented: I haven’t before been in a company that’s so performance focused, respectful of process and style, and understanding of boundaries outside of work. It’s nice to be in a situation where I can dig into projects, manage my own workload, and have actual, regular quality time with my family. (But you have to be a real A-teamer. To go back to the group project analogy, the group leaders are graded highly, and the tag-alongs aren't. Which is actually refreshing.)

    Cons

    I hate when reviews don’t mention negatives, but I’ve honestly had a good experience so far. The only cons I can think of are typical of lean, fast-growing companies -- like systems usage and resourcing. But I’ve found little resistance to feedback or hesitance to addressing issues (particularly if you’re willing to formulate a path to resolution).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Ideal Job for the right time

    Mar 30, 2022 - Senior Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a consultant, I may be placed on various types of assignments, ranging from 2 days to 18 months. With 25+ years of finance/accounting experience, I thrive working in different industries, developing new relationships, and being presented with challenging assignments. Between clients, I'm paid while writing articles, researching, and preparing for potential assignments until the Account Team presents the next prospective client. During COVID, I've appreciated Management's flexibility to work from home when possible and their openness to hear preferences on potential assignments, with the understanding that sometimes we just need to get the job done. As a regular, full-time employee, I'm paid a competitive salary with medical & 401k benefits similar to past traditional (i.e., non-consulting) employers, and importantly, I have been able to work on addressing work/life balance.

    Cons

    For those who prefer an established and structured work environment and workflow, this type of consulting work may not be ideal.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Great Place to Work

    Mar 29, 2022 - Consultant in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Very good leadership team 2. Opportunities to learn new skills, and do new jobs 3. Great pay

    Cons

    1. Need to be a bit flexible with vacation planning given client needs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not good

    Mar 24, 2022 - Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance is good

    Cons

    Assignment is not interesting. Reimbursement policy has a scheme imbedded in it. I talked to my lawyer about this.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    8020 Consulting Response

    CEO

    Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. There is no “scheme” imbedded in our expense reimbursement policy. Our reimbursement policy and compensation plans are the most transparent, formulaic, and mathematically straightforward as any I’ve seen. Everybody in our firm knows that they can call me or our COO any time to discuss any questions or concerns. If this review was written by a current or even a former colleague, please contact me directly so I can understand your concern and address it directly. You don’t grow to our firm’s size in 9 years, with 30% of our people being referred by other 8020 Consultants, by treating people badly.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Top-of-class leadership, professional and amazing colleagues

    Sep 18, 2020 - Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Almost the end of the third quarter in 2020, happy to be the first one to comment. I have been working with 8020 Consulting full-time for more than two years. Due to the pandemic, all the partners have sacrificed their benefits the most and got 20% pay cut. Pros • Above average compensation in the market and transparent bonus structure; • Work-life balance depending on the projects; • Consultants are on top of the updated guidance, for example, ASC 842, ASC 606 etc.; • Although it’s normally one consultant for the fieldwork at the client site, we can easily get help from others if encountering any difficulties since all the consultants have more than 10-20 years experiences, great teamwork; • Exposure to the different industries, expansion of the skillsets; • Overall, great leadership, great admin group and awesome professional consultants’ group.

    Cons

    The client might not be the exact skillset which pushes to learn, and the distance to client might be tough.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The Right Stuff

    Nov 3, 2019 - Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Collegiality and top notch cohorts. The company is the hub of experts. Whether it’s getting a company ready for an IPO, clean up books, ERP conversion to Net Suite, 606 implementation, acting Controller or CFO. I can reach out and get assistance to any of our subject matter experts. It makes me do my job better when you know the talent in the company has your back.

    Cons

    Get togethers are downtown.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Professional and High Quality Organization

    Apr 12, 2015 - Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team is treated very well here. Utilization is very high relative to other consulting firms which is good and a testament to the strength of the sales team. They are very good at bringing high quality clients to the firm month after month. The management team does an excellent job staying in touch with all of us via personal visits, email or frequent calls. We have quarterly gatherings, typically held at a very nice venue where we are updated on the progress of the firm's financial performance and goals. When not on a client, which is rare, we have an impressive catalogue of training programs to choose from. The compensation is at or above market when factoring in the multiple bonus opportunities and the fact that we are compensated whether we are on a client or not. I firmly believe that this benefit coupled with a great reputation is what attracts so many great people to the company.

    Cons

    The cons are mostly things that either come with the territory of being a consultant or are "necessary evils" in running a tight ship. When we are on a client, we may need to put in some longer hours to meet our objectives but that should not be an issue as long as you understand that coming in. This seems to be the case in general in finance and accounting. Some of us are faced with long commutes but that too is temporary and we are compensated if the commute exceeds certain distances. We have a fair amount of administrative duties to tend to but most of them are very reasonable and should be expected at a well organized company.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Extremely gratifying and rewarding to work for 8020 Consulting.

    Feb 12, 2015 - Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Top leadership is very supportive, mentoring and knowledgeable. They are diligent with placing consultants with assignments that closely match their skill sets as opposed to having consultants "wing it" (a lot of other consulting firms are known to do this). This is a win-win situation for both clients and 8020 consulting. I have had quality assignments that have enabled me to add exponential value to my client and left me gratified that I am making a positive difference when I get to work! Fantastic pay package with excellent benefits that are better than some Fortune 100 companies! All in all an extremely professional environment that serves to provide value to clients while grooming and mentoring their consultants in a nurturing yet professional manner.

    Cons

    There are truly none that I can highlight. The consulting profession in general requires resources to be deployed to different clients in various industries and that requires one to be agile and open to adjusting to new management styles and work situations. That may not work for some people who prefer to work at the same company and perform the same tasks for an extended period.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Professional Firm, Great Leadership

    Oct 16, 2015 - Consultant in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a very professional consulting firm with a proven track record of success and on a trajectory of continued high growth. The management runs fast and lean with a focus on a strategic Los Angeles based customer base. The consultants are intelligent and bring a wide range of experience in finance and accounting to 8020, but manage to be fun and very generous with their time and knowledge. My projects have been at high growth tech companies with challenging but rewarding assignments. The company has a fun working culture and sponsors quarterly events for everyone to network and relax. Off hours requirements are kept to a minimum and focused training is provided when not on a project.

    Cons

    This is consulting so your project length is variable and your hours vary by the requirements of the project and client. Not really cons for 8020, just the nature of consulting.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best place to work!

    Jan 7, 2019 - Consultant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Career Path: Great career path for anyone in Finance. 8020 Consulting offers a wide spectrum of interesting projects across a multitude of industries. You will never have a dull moment. Networking - 8020 provides a great networking platform with other likeminded high-caliber consultants. Everyone is great and is always willing to help. - Benefits: Great! Paid bench-time, no vesting period, good vacation, and competitive compensation & bonus structure. - Education: 8020 is a great place to learn business models, financial systems, and industries. In just 2 years, I've been on 5 different projects in different industries. I've been exposed to multiple financial systems & business models. It's been really fun, challenging, and very educational. - Management: both the CEO and middle management are fantastic. Really supportive of your goals and objectives. Communication is very good and transparent. - Company: The Company is growing very rapidly and is very healthy financially. - Summary: 8020 Consulting is the best place to work. I've moved my family to Las Vegas recently, but decided to commute and continue working at 8020 because it's hard to beat this gig!

    Cons

    None that I have experienced.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

8020 Consulting Reviews FAQs

8020 Consulting has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5, based on over 32 reviews left anonymously by employees. 93% of employees would recommend working at 8020 Consulting to a friend and 93% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, 8020 Consulting employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at 8020 Consulting. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

93% of 8020 Consulting employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated 8020 Consulting 4.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at 8020 Consulting to be senior leadership, benefits, career development and the cons to be work life balance, workplace, management.

Popular Careers with 8020 Consulting Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at 8020 Consulting? Share Your Experiences

or