84 Lumber Reviews | Glassdoor

84 Lumber Reviews

Updated October 31, 2018
346 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
84 Lumber President and Owner Maggie Hardy Magerko
Maggie Hardy Magerko
170 Ratings

346 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Learn a lot about the building industry and efficiently running a business" (in 13 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for from entry level to upper management" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Expect long hours, most full time employee's will work a 48 hour schedule" (in 62 reviews)

  • "Associates are expected to work a minimum 48 hour work week" (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Co-Manager
    Current Employee - Store Co-Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Here at 84 Lumber we have a great community, from the Team Headquarters down to the individual stores. We only hire within so there is potential for fast advancement within the company. The compensation is good, if you're willing to put in the time and work hard.

    Cons

    Expect long hours, most full time employee's will work a 48 hour schedule.

    Hourly associates have low hourly salary, but they do give you the opportunity to earn a lot more money with personal/store bonuses.

    84 Lumber Response

    Nov 2, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback about the company culture, advancement opportunities, hours required and bonuses.


  2. "A Place to Grow and Move Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OUTSIDE SALES in Hendersonville, TN
    Current Employee - OUTSIDE SALES in Hendersonville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    84 only promotes from within the company, so you can move up very fast.

    Privately owned company. So changes and decisions can be made quickly.

    Great Benefits.

    Willing to hire with no experience and train.

    Cons

    Entry level pay is low. Sometimes it's hard to get good applicants to buy in and take the job when they don't believe how quickly you can move up.

    The rule about needing to change stores to take a promotion is not always an option for some employees (although I understand the reason for the rule)

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! Love the push for better Tech.

    84 Lumber Response

    Nov 2, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback about starting out and working your way up in the organization.

  3. "Manager Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Got along with management and all of the other employees. Great first job experience

    Cons

    Pay is not very good

    84 Lumber Response

    Nov 2, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for your feedback!


  4. "Builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Builder II in Blue Springs, MO
    Current Employee - Builder II in Blue Springs, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place for promotions,good learning experiences..

    Cons

    Be prepared to work lots of hours..but it pays.

    84 Lumber Response

    Nov 2, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback about advancement and hours!


  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    great opportunity to make money

    Cons

    They could pay their hourly employees more

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 24, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thanks for the honest feedback!


  6. "Decent Job, Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Annapolis, MD
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The job is decent. The 84 team feels like its own little family and everyone I ever worked with was great. The work isn't usually to hard and there is alot of room to move up.

    Cons

    The pay is far under what it should be for forklift operators and a couple other jobs for a company the size of 84 Lumber.

    Advice to Management

    Pay you're forklift operators a little more.


  7. "Co-manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Co-Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Store Co-Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime, opportunity for growth, good benefits, only promote from within.

    Cons

    considering the work/life balance heavily favors the "work" side, and the nature of the work is rather physical, compensation is on the low end.

    Advice to Management

    Employee retention would be much higher if compensation would go up a little. i'm grossly underpaid for the amount of work I do.

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 27, 2018 – Western Office Director

    We appreciate your feedback. We have been making changes to associate compensation and will continue to look at it going forward. 84 Lumber continues to offer opportunity and additional compensation... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eighty Four, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eighty Four, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    401K, Profit Sharing, medical and prescription plans, dental, eye

    Cons

    Too many new management hired that do nothing and can't make decisions, 10 or more hours/day 5 days/week no overtime. Medical changed from 90/10 upper tier to 80/20 upper tier. No advancement within now, only hiring from outside. Raises 1-2% per year (if at all).

    Advice to Management

    Realize that the staff you had is knowledgeable, no need for more management the lower staff is underpaid and overworked. If monies had been appropriated in prior years then the stores would have been updated. Now no monies available and the stores are suffering. Management's salaries come from sales, stores need all resources required. Advance within. Don't fire someone then bring them back as a consultant at a higher salary. Assess the new employees and see if they truly are bringing something to the table. Morale very low.

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 27, 2018 – Western Office Director

    We appreciate your feedback. We understand the need to communicate and manage the changes that 84 Lumber is committed to making. We hold a position of leadership in our industry and are working on... More


  9. "Company definitely worth working for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Atlantic City, NJ
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Atlantic City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    A wonderful company to work for. Your opportunities are endless. Promotions are from within so you have tons of options.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any!

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thanks for the feedback!


  10. "84 Lumber Co. Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great work environment, the days are fast paced. There is a team atmosphere, everyone wants to see each other succeed. There is no limit on high you can go with the company, the only person that holds you back is yourself. Create great relationships with other employees and customers. Learn a lot about the building industry and efficiently running a business.

    Cons

    More upfront pay and less bonuses.

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the honest feedback!


Showing 346 of 351 reviews
Reset Filters