84 Lumber Reviews | Glassdoor

84 Lumber Reviews

Updated September 24, 2018
341 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
84 Lumber President and Owner Maggie Hardy Magerko
Maggie Hardy Magerko
166 Ratings

341 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Learn a lot about the building industry and efficiently running a business" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for from entry level to upper management" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours-- bare bone staffing in the stores" (in 61 reviews)

  • "Associates are expected to work a minimum 48 hour work week" (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Company definitely worth working for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Atlantic City, NJ
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Atlantic City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    A wonderful company to work for. Your opportunities are endless. Promotions are from within so you have tons of options.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any!

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thanks for the feedback!


  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    great opportunity to make money

    Cons

    They could pay their hourly employees more

  3. "Co-manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Co-Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Store Co-Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime, opportunity for growth, good benefits, only promote from within.

    Cons

    considering the work/life balance heavily favors the "work" side, and the nature of the work is rather physical, compensation is on the low end.

    Advice to Management

    Employee retention would be much higher if compensation would go up a little. i'm grossly underpaid for the amount of work I do.


  4. "Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eighty Four, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eighty Four, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    401K, Profit Sharing, medical and prescription plans, dental, eye

    Cons

    Too many new management hired that do nothing and can't make decisions, 10 or more hours/day 5 days/week no overtime. Medical changed from 90/10 upper tier to 80/20 upper tier. No advancement within now, only hiring from outside. Raises 1-2% per year (if at all).

    Advice to Management

    Realize that the staff you had is knowledgeable, no need for more management the lower staff is underpaid and overworked. If monies had been appropriated in prior years then the stores would have been updated. Now no monies available and the stores are suffering. Management's salaries come from sales, stores need all resources required. Advance within. Don't fire someone then bring them back as a consultant at a higher salary. Assess the new employees and see if they truly are bringing something to the table. Morale very low.


  5. "84 Lumber Co. Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great work environment, the days are fast paced. There is a team atmosphere, everyone wants to see each other succeed. There is no limit on high you can go with the company, the only person that holds you back is yourself. Create great relationships with other employees and customers. Learn a lot about the building industry and efficiently running a business.

    Cons

    More upfront pay and less bonuses.

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the honest feedback!


  6. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Milford, DE
    Current Employee - General Manager in Milford, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    *Customer relations- building lasting relationships with customers
    *Ability to build a team that works as hard for you as you do for them
    *Never a monotonous day- always a new challenge
    *The harder you work the more money you make!
    *So many proud moments, from landing big accounts to making huge sales, from helping a customer understand what they need, to get what they're looking for in their project to getting thank you letters after the dust settles.
    *being a hometown hero to our local schools and community by giving back in the form of donations- they are our tomorrow lets give them what they need to succeed today!
    *feeling accomplished everyday
    *learning something new everyday
    *unmatched training
    *84 lumber has taken care me since day one and has given me and my family the ability to be financially independent

    Cons

    I consider my store my business and with that responsibility I put in 60-70 hours a week. The benefits far outweigh the negatives
    84 doesn't match my 401k dollar for dollar like my last company

    Advice to Management

    *There are only so many hours in a day, keep a running to do list and if you get pulled away get right back to it as soon as you can.
    *I am still learning delegation does not mean you are neglecting your job it is building trust in another person so one day they too will be in a management position.. after all isn't that why we train our employees , so they can succeed in the company.

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback on the company and the hours you work!


  7. "Manager Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Best place to work if you don’t mind a little manual labor.

    Cons

    I have found nine so far.

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for pointing out there is manual labor involved loading materials and helping customers.

  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    A ton of them.
    - promotion opportunities if you work hard.
    - professional atmosphere.
    - great people to work with.
    - no limit to your possibilities of you commit to your goals.
    - the company teaches you and provides you the tools to succeed.
    - the training is top notch.

    Cons

    - none that I can think of unless you don't like a challenge.
    - great company to work for

    Advice to Management

    Keep on adjusting to new technology like we are currently. Great job.

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thanks for the feedback - as you know we are working on upgrading our store technology this year.


  9. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Durham, NC
    Current Employee - General Manager in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Hard work is rewarded and appreciated.

    Cons

    We work very long hours

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the honest feedback about hours!


  10. "Contractor Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, great people

    Cons

    Low pay starting out better as you work there, long hours

    84 Lumber Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the honest feedback on starting pay!


Showing 341 of 346 reviews
Reset Filters