84 Lumber Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
84 Lumber President and Owner Maggie Hardy Knox
Maggie Hardy Knox
253 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours but they do pay overtime(in 84 reviews)

  • "Very intense low pay for the work(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Dynamic Family Work Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eighty Four, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When you join 84 you are more than just another member of the team you become family. Associates treat one another as family. Our leadership genuinely cares about each and every associate.

    Cons

    Every company has room for improvement but I appreciate the manner in which 84 analyzes and embraces change. 84 values all associates input and will reach out for input when making decisions that will impact the business.

    84 Lumber Response

    July 27, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback on the strong 84 Lumber family culture and leadership.

  2. "Good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Forklift Driver in Knoxville, TN

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Decent work to earn a living

    Cons

    There are no cons besides working hard


  3. "Not bad"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Management Trainee in Chattanooga, TN

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity for the industry

    Cons

    Over worked and under payed

  4. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installed Sales Estimator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, good pay, good benefits, good teamwork

    Cons

    I can not think of any cons at this time

    84 Lumber Response

    July 27, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the honest feedback on working at 84 Lumber.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent growth opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Eighty Four, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The core of 84's business is lumber sales, but the company likes to promote its people to run and manage all facets of its business operation. At every level, most associates started at a lumberyard.

    Cons

    There can be long hours.

    84 Lumber Response

    July 27, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback on promotions and hard work. 84 Lumber believes in promoting from within whenever possible. Thank you for pointing out the long hours that 84 Lumber associates work.

  6. "Awesome company at high level, but district managers make or break it"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Co-Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive corporate office Good work environment No excessive "busy-work" or made-up duties Stores have a great deal of autonomy

    Cons

    Autonomy can be bad when managers aren't strong District manager has enormous authority and almost zero accountability Pay is terrible until you reach store management-level

    Continue reading

    84 Lumber Response

    July 27, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for your feedback. 84 Lumber is continually evaluating our pay practices for all positions to ensure we are competitive in the market. Additionally, every Store Manager and Area Manager is held accountable for what they do in both day-to-day operations and in the incentive programs we have in place to pay for performance. We have several feedback options available to our associates so they can share any concerns about their manager or senior leader. All complaints are thoroughly investigated as we strive to provide a fair and healthy work environment for all associates.

  7. "A place to gain more than a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Eighty Four, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Upward mobility based on merit Hard work and perseverance is rewarded Ability to quickly adapt and change as needed Agile environment Learning opportunities provided at many levels Positive reinforcement from leadership

    Cons

    No current cons. Issues are addressed appropriately by leadership if and when they arise.

    Continue reading

    84 Lumber Response

    July 27, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback on promotions and hard work. 84 Lumber believes in promoting from within whenever possible.

  8. "Found my calling"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Eighty Four, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company that has let me go very far in a short amount of time due to my hard work.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times.

    Continue reading

    84 Lumber Response

    July 27, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback on promotion opportunities and compensation.

  9. "Great Learning Opportunities, Rapid Growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family Owned Business, great training program

    Cons

    Long hours, minimal work force

    84 Lumber Response

    July 7, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback regarding our ownership and training. We do work long hours with smaller crews to make sure everyone is getting their hours.

  10. "Not enough money for responsibility"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Dispatcher 

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, Good hours, Weekly Overtime

    Cons

    Workload Having to move for promotion

    84 Lumber Response

    July 7, 2020Western Office Director

    Thank you for your honest feedback regarding 84 Lumber. We have great people. Full time hours and overtime are part of our compensation. Moving up in management requires relocation which we explain to everyone interested in pursuing that career path.

Found 465 reviews