84 Lumber Reviews | Glassdoor

84 Lumber Reviews

Updated June 15, 2018
321 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
84 Lumber President and Owner Maggie Hardy Magerko
Maggie Hardy Magerko
151 Ratings

321 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours at the beginning for MT and not very good pay" (in 57 reviews)

  • "Associates are expected to work a minimum 48 hour work week" (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to make a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    If you're willing to work the growth and earning potential is endless. Promotion is very quick. If you work hard and are willing to relocate any at all you can go from a manager trainee to a co-manager and manager an about 3 years. You gain friend while working here and those friends become like family. The people at team headquarters are great to work with as well.

    Cons

    You cant be a lazy person and work here. It gets cold in the winter and got in the summer. In the end it's very much worth it however.

    84 Lumber Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback!


  2. "Great opportunity and fair employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Sales oriented company geared toward bonus incentives and rewarding performance for all levels of staff. Team oriented at the store level as a comprehensive reward system that promotes helping others. Very good training for real world private business model at the manager level. Accountable for all aspects of the local operation and offers responsibility equal to compensation opportunities.

    Cons

    Poor initial training for new entry level staff to the construction industry. Much of the training is antiquated or non-existent for the construction knowledge needed to sale buyers who are more and more dependent on professional expertise.

    Advice to Management

    Mentoring / Coaching program for upcoming sales associates to add bench strength behind all the senior level top gun sales professionals.

    84 Lumber Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback. 84 Lumber is working to improve and update its training program. Your idea on mentoring will be forwarded.

  3. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Maggie really takes care of her people. This company is family oriented. We pull together as a team when a fellow man is down and chip in to help out. We are well compensated to do what we do. Lots of hours and hard work but the reward of what we do is well worth it all. The team atmosphere is another thing that I enjoy.

    Cons

    We do run things pretty lean in regards to staffing. Everyone runs around to get stuff done but that brings the team closer together.

    84 Lumber Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback!


  4. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Richmond, KY
    Current Employee - General Manager in Richmond, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Unlimited opportunity to advance with this company. You become your own boss. A high amount of support from the team headquarters. The Leadership team is approachable and makes you comfortable when talking with them. Great earning potential and excellent benefits.

    Cons

    This is a career. To have the potential to make big money takes a great deal of effort on the individual and some people are not willing to sacrifice what it takes to make your mark on life.

    84 Lumber Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for your feedback!


  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Richmond, KY
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Richmond, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Did a great job with working on scheduling when I was in school. Well managed and great with customer service.

    Cons

    Can be stressful during the busy seasons, sometimes not as organized as possible.

    84 Lumber Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for your honest feedback.


  6. "Sales Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator in Georgetown, KY
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator in Georgetown, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Group of guys. Job is always a little different. days go by fast.

    Cons

    can be super stressful at time

    Advice to Management

    management is good

    84 Lumber Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for your honest feedback!


  7. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    No specific order:
    Plenty of overtime.
    Fair pay.
    Great people.
    Team atmosphere,
    Job satisfaction.
    Every employee is valued.
    Get out what you put into it.

    Cons

    Overtime is nice, but can be a lot of hours during the busy season.
    Occasional job stress.
    This is not a job for lazy people who are not willing to sweat and work hard.

    84 Lumber Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thanks for the detailed feedback!

  8. "A step in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Trainee
    Current Employee - Manager Trainee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Learned the ins—and-outs of selling, and some low level managerial tasks in the real world. A great start for anyone looking to make a career in those fields.

    Within 2 months I had an extreme grasp on the products and markets within the massive building materials world.

    Pay is great for an entry level training position.

    Felt very responsible on the day-to-day, was allowed lots of freedom and given tasks that were necessary for day-to-day operation of the business.

    Worked in a very gritty environment, felt old school. (May be seen as a con to some people)

    Very strong culture and devotion to 84 lumber

    Cons

    Very strong culture and devotion to 84 lumber. The second I accepted this job the only thing that I could think about was 84 lumber. No time for anything else.

    LONG hours. 50+ a week. Barely any time to do anything other than work.

    The building materials industry is very complicated, and without proper training you may see yourself slip up A LOT during the first few months of working at 84.

    Most people I worked with seemed “stuck”

    Advice to Management

    This is a very subjective tab as all store locations have different managers with different styles. My manager was an incredibly hardworking and knowledgeable guy, but at times came off as brash and was tough to get along with. All in all he’s an awesome guy!

    84 Lumber Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for the honest and sincere feedback. 84 Lumber is working to improve its training programs.


  9. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Great stepping stone to advance your career with other companies.

    Cons

    Company as a whole is stuck in 1956. No real support for store level unless you are selling more then the already understaffed stores can handle.

    Advice to Management

    Employees can’t have facial hair because people with beards are dirty and untrustworthy but 84 Lumber can spend thousands of dollars on the pride parade in PA with cross dressers leading the 84 lumber float. Pretty sure there are more people that are going to be offended by a company sponsoring a pride parade v.s. 84 Lumber employees having facial hair.

    84 Lumber Response

    Jun 19, 2018 – Western Office Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We do ask our associates to dress for success and maintain a professional appearance for our customers.


  10. "Great Company to Build a Career With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great training, performance bonuses and advancement opportunities. Working inside and outside - not trapped in an office.

    Cons

    Heat in the summertime


Showing 321 of 326 reviews
Reset Filters