84 Lumber "good people" Reviews | Glassdoor

84 Lumber Employee Reviews about "good people"

Updated 4 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
84 Lumber CEO Maggie Hardy Knox
Maggie Hardy Knox
238 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Must be able to put in long hours(in 80 reviews)

  • "Low pay starting out better as you work there, long hours(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Kitchen designer / manager of my department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Designer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid company , great benefit , great pay, great learning tools available . Good people to work with and I had a good leader Mr May !

    Cons

    Can be very fast pace and a little stressful. Must manage your time well and be able to Handel difficult days.

    Advice to Management

    Let people who know there field run with three ideas Thing will fall into place. Thank you Mr May

    84 Lumber2018-11-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people. Company double dips taking commissions away from sales

    Cons

    Poor pay. Long hours. No balance to home life

    Advice to Management

    Quick nickel and diming your sales people

    84 Lumber2019-06-04
  3. "Sales jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Tavares, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people that want to see you do well

    Cons

    Long hours, don’t pay enough attention to on job injuries

    Advice to Management

    Raise commission

    84 Lumber2019-04-10
  4. "Antiquated Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people at the local store.

    Cons

    The company is so behind the times it make being successful difficult.

    84 Lumber2018-05-12
  5. "Good experience and ability to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eighty Four, PA

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    Pay was under market averages.

    84 Lumber2018-04-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good people,

    Cons

    Unobtainable bonus structure, old outdated mail servers that prohibit efficient work flow, need to reconsider khaki pants and facial hair rules to attract younger employees

    Advice to Management

    Change the facial hair and khakis guys, we are in the construction business, most customers have full beards, and wear jeans, besides I'm tired of buying khakis to get filthy on these job sites.

    84 Lumber2017-08-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Outside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber

    Pros

    Good people in store, friendly environment over all.

    Cons

    Ridiculous hours, Low pay, Zero respect if your not the store manager

    84 Lumber2016-10-04
  8. "MIT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager Trainee in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 84 Lumber

    Pros

    Good people, fun environment, occasional office food from vendors

    Cons

    Terrible pay, long hours, hard work

    Advice to Management

    Give more hands on training

    84 Lumber2016-07-28
  9. "Outside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Good people that work hard, flexible, best pay potential

    Cons

    no support, long hours, unpredictable, too much risk

    84 Lumber2015-11-01
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to start but not for to long!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber

    Pros

    Good people to work with, good place to start if you have no college.

    Cons

    84 ask people to write good reviews to make them look better. Low pay, you only get to a higher position if you suck up a lot. They promote unqualified people and the weekend hours are not good.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to people, have better winter hours, give stores realistic goals to achieve, promote good people even if they can't move. Learn to keep good employees and treat people with dignity and respect !!

    84 Lumber2015-08-30
Found 17 reviews