85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe Reviews | Glassdoor

85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 170 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Wu Cheng-Hsueh
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some upper management team increased salary by favoritism instead of performance, which was not fair for those hard working workers(in 9 reviews)

  • "All of these reasons leading to High turnover(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Irvine, CA

    I worked at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company gave flexible hours during my time at school. Management was always willing to help improve yourself and learn multiple things.

    Cons

    Did not receive any email benefits, but was not a big deal.

    85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2019-01-03
  2. "Working at 85C Cafe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate 

    I worked at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, get to prepare food items such as teas and tarts.

    Cons

    Includes dishwork, with sanitizer.

    85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2019-06-13
  3. "No experience needed, great entry level job for those interested in running a business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth for those who are interested in the operation side of running a business

    Cons

    Company expanding too quickly, poor training

    85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2019-06-04
  4. "Overall Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours Friendly staff Great for first job

      Cons

      Can get hectic during high peak times.

      85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2019-05-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "No consistency, no tolerance, no care for employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Baker 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      2 free breads per shift Free drinks (provided you bring your own cup) Pays slightly above minimum wage

      Cons

      Nothing is consistent. Guidelines for employees will change without warning or communication and sometimes will contradict the orders of the managers. Took my lunch on a six hour shift only to be told that I’m not supposed to get a lunch for a six hour shift and when I came in on my next shift there was a sign taped to the timecard reader that said “anyone in bread department on a 6 hour shift needs to take their lunch...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get your act together and treat people like they’re people.

      85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2019-04-25
    • "Good Careers Opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shift Leader in Alhambra, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Easy work, fast paced environment, friendly staff. Flexible scheduling

      Cons

      Hour cuts in the summer. Understaffing.

      85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2019-02-23
    • "Baker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Baker 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe part-time

      Pros

      2 free breads during lunch 20% discount Heavily discounted drinks flexibility

      Cons

      Lack of teamwork High Stress

      Advice to Management

      Please be more nice to associates

      85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2019-02-23
    • "Work Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Store Front Associate in Newark, CA

        I have been working at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Management is great Awesome co-workers

        Cons

        Constant rushes Customers are sometimes a pain

        85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2019-01-26
      • "Baker"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Friendly people willing to help

        Cons

        Changed the company way of making bread

        85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2019-01-11
      • "Supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Supervisor in Cupertino, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at 85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great pay and also benefits (discount for drinks and bread)

        Cons

        Fragmented Management that never listens to feedback from the employees Makes you work overtime and almost impossible to take holiday time off.

        85c Cafe Bakery and Cafe2018-12-11
      Found 170 reviews