9:30 Club Reviews | Glassdoor

9:30 Club Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great place to work and even better coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 9:30 Club part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great informal benefits (shift drinks, entrance to shows)

    Cons

    Late hours but that comes with the territory

    9:30 Club2018-08-01
  2. "Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at 9:30 Club for less than a year

    Pros

    Management was friendly and helpful Great connections with other interns and the industry as a whole Free show tickets

    Cons

    Unpaid Little to no employment opportunity Occasional tedious grunt work (which is expected in an internship)

    9:30 Club2019-08-15
  3. "great job but poor hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 9:30 Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible working enviroment and decent pay.

    Cons

    unstable in terms of hours and professionalism

    9:30 Club2019-02-15
  4. "Door Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at 9:30 Club part-time

    Pros

    Great shows. Great coworkers.

    Cons

    Part-time staff is treated as easily replaceable. Low pay for door staff especially given the incredible importance of their jobs. The place is filled with politics.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees and pay them a decent wage.

    9:30 Club2018-08-21
  5. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 9:30 Club

    Pros

    Great experience, awesome working environment

    Cons

    Unpaid internships are always a bit of a bummer

    Advice to Management

    Pay your interns!

    9:30 Club2018-08-05
  6. "Great part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 9:30 Club full-time

    Pros

    Awesome environment, really takes care of their staff, every day is something new!

    Cons

    it's a minimum wage job at the event staff or security entry level position. Nothing at all to pay your bills with but it seems like they could be paying more right off the bat

    Advice to Management

    Security or event staff jobs have been paying fifteen dollars an hour for over 10 years, it's time that staff at the 9:30 club earn more than minimum wage and some bouncer that works down the street

    9:30 Club2018-06-14
  7. "Intern Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at 9:30 Club

    Pros

    Get to work whatever shows you want FOR FREE, the nicest supervisor, cool workplace and great location

    Cons

    Some people can by music snobs

    9:30 Club2018-05-02
  8. "Highly recommended!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at 9:30 Club

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my summer as a marketing intern at the 9:30 Club. I learned a lot about concert promotion, and I got to meet great people that are as passionate about music as I am.

    Cons

    Unpaid internship, but free concert tickets!

    9:30 Club2018-02-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "If You Like To Work For Peanuts..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Door Staff in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 9:30 Club for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I met a lot of cool people. Saw a lot of great music.

    Cons

    The Bartenders and Managers are the only ones making decent money. The Door Staff is treated very poorly. They basically pay minimum wage. The old saying "I would pay you less if I could if it wasn't against the law." Dealing with belligerent drunks, cleaning up vomit/poop and working long hours on your feet it's not worth it. And let me explain what door staff is. They are Front Door, Security, Custodians, bus boys/girls,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spread the wealth. Stop being greedy. Without your Door Staff you wouldn't be able to run your company.

    9:30 Club2016-10-03
  10. "Office Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at 9:30 Club for more than 10 years

    Pros

    fun music culture with lots of fun people

    Cons

    long hours, hoardes of people

    9:30 Club2016-03-03
Found 15 reviews