90 Seconds Reviews | Glassdoor

90 Seconds Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
43%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
90 Seconds CEO and Founder Tim Norton (no image)
Tim Norton
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A friend referred me to 90 Seconds when they were looking to source a last minute contractor for a job they had in my area(in 5 reviews)

  • "The culture and the senior management people are quite fake(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 90 Seconds full-time

    Pros

    - Diverse, intelligent and fun colleagues. - Good product. - Workplace flexibility - Work is often challenging, you get to wear different hats and learn different things, but may not be ideal for everyone. - Compensation is typically at or above market.

    Cons

    Most members of leadership have been with the company since it was smaller, but the lack of management experience is increasingly evident. Some (but not all) of them are resistant to real change, self-serving and/or downright incompetent. A lot of bad decisions from the top that often result in complete reversals. Most good employees leave the company because of these "leaders".

    Continue reading
    90 Seconds2019-06-06

    90 Seconds Response

    January 8, 2020Careers

    Thank you for your feedback. Appreciate your recognition on Employee diversity and talented colleagues. Happy to second your take on our great and unique product. Great to know that you have been enjoying some of the amazing benefits that 90 Seconds offers - Workplace flexibility, plethora of learning opportunities and of course competitive pay. We have recently invested to strengthen our leadership team in a way that we complement each other and envisage a healthier management approach going forward. Best, 90 Seconds Talent Team

    Continue reading
  2. "Fake culture and unethical office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 90 Seconds part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training program done online form New Zealand office

    Cons

    Unethical office politics and inexperienced employees,

    Continue reading
    90 Seconds2019-02-04
  3. Helpful (47)

    "Worst Company Culture and Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 90 Seconds full-time

    Pros

    Smart, hard working team members. Interesting product that solves a need.

    Cons

    Unstable management. CEO is an egomaniac who surrounds himself with yes-men and micromanages every aspect of everything. We change directions at his whim constantly. He thinks we're producing a ton, but at the end of the day, we're just running around in circles.

    90 Seconds2018-09-30
  4. Helpful (44)

    "Scam - don't even consider it especially if you live in San Francisco."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 90 Seconds full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, decent pay, if you like working in endless circles on the same exact things that have nothing to do with your job, taking orders from the CEO that make no sense at all, and being micromanaged to the point where you have to show your progress almost hourly, then you might like it here.

    Cons

    Complete and utter maniac of a CEO, incredibly backwards thinking on how to build or market a product, leadership has little to no experience in what they're doing and even if they did they are reduced to being puppets for the CEO (he probably likes this fact because he's such a narcissist). It doesn't stop there. HR disaster all around...let's just say they like to have fun. There are so many great companies in San Francisco who are really trying to do great things in an honest way. This is not one of them so do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    90 Seconds2017-08-03
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Relatively Pleasant Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 90 Seconds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. It's a feasible business model and certainly an industry disruptor 2. 90 Seconds make good hires so you get to work with a bunch of talented and fun people 3. Flexible working hours/ Good work-life balance 4. Fruits, beer and snacks are stocked up weekly :) 5. Nice office space in a prime location 6. The chance to work with top brands and amazing clients. I've gained experiences that proved to be beneficial down the road

    Cons

    1. Not enough trust in employees. Will be great if the company can really listen to advice and suggestions given by employees as most are experts in their respective fields 2. Relating to first point, new rollouts/ changes are almost always determined by just the management. Employees need to feel like they can value-add.

    Continue reading
    90 Seconds2020-03-19
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Honest (not too brutal) review of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 90 Seconds

    Pros

    1. On-ground colleagues are mutually supportive, kind and friendly towards one another. Definitely people I’d connect with moving forward, as they have all too moved forward from 90. 2. Flexible hours: pros and cons - pros being you can come in at 11 and leave by 5 3. The idea behind the product is future-thinking (but the company is not) 4. Air conditioning is good during a hot Singapore day

    Cons

    1. Unhealthy working hours (cons): prepare for late night WhatsApp, phone calls, demands to reply on weekends or late night/early morning outside of work hours 2. Idea is great but this is not the company to bring it alive: lack of innovation on management part, and refusal to accept challenges/ideas provided by employees lead to a narrow-minded, ill-informed position for the company = they will eventually fall behind competitors 3. Overly-picky with hiring process leads to overworking of existing employees (as many have resigned), and causing current employees to resign too. It’s normal to be careful, but being overly picky is not helping the company’s situation 4. CEO - I’m sure anyone who is here already read all the reviews on this; he’s overbearing and is a reason that drives you to quit, but he won’t be the main reason (surprisingly?) 5. Passions die: employees aren’t able to value add due to lack of trust/space given by management to improve the product or the company. Employees are forced to become machines taking orders, unable to question, or value add. The mindless work eventually drives everyone to resign, for nobody except the management is valued in the eyes of the company/CEO. 6. “Restructuring” is a nice front for justifying that over 30 people quit within 3 months, and offices have to be closed down. Nice front don’t add up to reality 7. Top-down approach is very evident/stubbornly adhered to in the company, and trust me when I say that many existing employees are ready to quit

    Continue reading
    90 Seconds2020-03-14
  7. Helpful (20)

    "I would not recommend to my worst enemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 90 Seconds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. office space and we have plenty of that. 2. got to meet life long friends - most of them left the company and only a few remains as of now 3. internal WiFi works great across the road from the office but doesn't work inside the conference rooms 4. artificial plants bc reminds me of nana's house 5. yoga mats bc it's cheap to fill in space 6. location 7. mid-night WhatsApp message from the CEO to wake me up from the nightmare of working for a company called 90 Seconds. 8. able to claim PTSD disability for my next job 9. daily psychotherapy at a local bar between 4pm - 10. the pain will last a year or less

    Cons

    1. leadership is called "The Tripod" 2. toxic CEO! loves to blah blah blah. 30min meeting turns into all day meeting with the CEO. did I mention he likes to talk the entire time? 3. anyone who is remaining is looking for another job 4. 25% occupied in the office, .25% mentally occupied 5. high turnover and it's not bc of restructuring. rare anyone lasts over a year in this company 6. the CEO wants all the communication done through Slack but he only communicates via WhatsApp 7. broken products and no innovation, the internal term is called "continuous creation by recycling continuous creation" 8. leadership focuses on your desktop spaces to be arranged in a certain way and labeling each space bc the companies are built on "desktop space arrangements and labels" 9. the company is a classic case of ADHD bc that's how it's managed 10. MORNING HUGS AND KISSES BY THE CEO EVEN WITH THE CORONAVIRUS IS GOING ON!!!

    Continue reading
    90 Seconds2020-03-02
  8. "A great deal of change and a friendly culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 90 Seconds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’d suggest forming your own judgement and not leaning too heavily on these reviews. For a high growth company like 90 seconds, cultural shifts are all part of the process. The company has a clear strategic direction, the management team has grit and you’ll find pretty much everyone who remains is down to earth.

    Cons

    The company is still working on having truly open door style communication across all levels and teams and making the strategy everyone is contributing towards visible to everyone so they can feel part of it. You’ll still find that everyone is fairly approachable

    Continue reading
    90 Seconds2020-01-22

    90 Seconds Response

    February 3, 2020Careers

    Thank you for your feedback. Glad that you are enjoying your time while riding the wave with us! We are always looking to incorporate suggestions from the team. Thanks for the idea of a product roadmap - we've had this before and looking to revamp this with the latest and greatest. We have an internal Slack channel #we-are-live that you can continue voicing your thoughts on how to make the company even better. We are all owners here - looking forward to building an epic company with you and the rest of the team. Best, 90 Seconds Talent Team

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "A start-up that actually works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 90 Seconds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    90 Seconds is a start-up that has a solid idea built in years of experience, failures, successes unlike most of other start-up ideas around. And surprisingly, the idea and workflow is actually working with thousands of videos got produced as the proof of concept. So, when joining or considering to join 90 Seconds, don't imagine a lazy start-up environment with bunch of folks playing games, posting Instagram stories and tagging each other on Facebook to share their latest lunch meal. Instead, expect hard working people are trying to get things done to satisfy both business and product expectations. (And surprisingly they are also enjoying their job) Is working hard and having challenging tasks is a pro? Yep. If you are up to improve your skills, learning news ones or solve unsolvable problems to save lives (literally). p.s: Company is not going downhill. In fact, management is pretty transparent that reflects everything going on (financial and management wise) to TV screens all around the office. p.s: If anyone is actually reading here, probably they already get who I am and most likely they already know that I'm not the bottom licker type. So I'm not trying to look like a good employee to management with this review.

    Cons

    HR and management should be bit more picky when hiring new talents and remember the fact that 5 seniors are better than 25 juniors that call themselves senior. Self-driving culture is still missing. People rely on each other too much to get things done often instead of takings risks. Also, get a proper coffee machine please.

    Continue reading
    90 Seconds2019-11-26

    90 Seconds Response

    January 8, 2020Careers

    Thank you for your feedback. Glad that you are enjoying while riding the wave with us! Your description accurately captures how we run the company today, and we will continually seek improvement. Best, 90 Seconds Talent Team

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Reconsider the offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Success Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 90 Seconds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good opportunities for someone Junior, that is eager to learn

    Cons

    - There is no stability. The company has extremely high turnover, within my time working at 90 Seconds the company hired more that 80 people then made about 100 redundant/left on their own within 6 month period. - Salaries have been paid late on multiple occasions - No formal training in place. - No opportunities for career growth - No company benefits - No team bonding - The platform is constantly broken - Overworked and underpaid - Company does not conduct any reviews, so you can expect to stay on the same salary for the time you are working there.

    90 Seconds2020-01-02

    90 Seconds Response

    February 3, 2020Careers

    Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge that there have been some changes through 2019 but we're happy to say that currently 28% of our employees have been with us for over 2 years and 17% of overall employees have been with us for more than 3 years. We look to continue improving on our retention of quality employees that embrace our high performing culture, with speed, quality, passion and ownership. Best, 90 Seconds Talent Team

    Continue reading
Found 50 reviews