99 Cents Only Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
1 Ratings
  1. "Looking for better opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Some store managers need more training on how to treat employees

    99 Cents Only2019-07-14
  2. "Mangement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly, discount, mandatory breaks

    Cons

    Management is horrible, horrible hours. No room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees fairly and the way you would want to be treated.

    99 Cents Only2019-09-19
  3. "It’s an ok job retail wise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Norwalk, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of overtime, always something to do. Opportunity to learn new stuff. Easy job

    Cons

    No life outside of work, you are always working. It’s hard to get a day off. Always short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate and reward good employees. Favoritism needs to stop

    99 Cents Only2019-05-12
  4. "Enjoyed my time working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Front End Manager in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Socializing with customers, fast pace environment and meeting new people .

    Cons

    They didn't have have enough works to fill shifts

    99 Cents Only2018-04-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Do yourself a favor and keep job searching. This place sucks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company promotes quickly. Offers benefits and 401k.

    Cons

    Amount of work/responsibility is not worth the pay. Company does not care about it's employees. Long hours and way too stressful for what they pay you.. ASMs work 11-12 hour shifts, 5-6 days a week. Store managers don't discipline employees, and HR does not fire employees who screw up repeatedly. Management is transferred frequently, without any notice, whether they agree to the transfer or not. Upper management is... a joke.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Discipline and weed out your bad performers & drama starters and stop letting your employees run you over. Lack of policy enforcement makes for bad morale, unhappy employees, and it's nearly impossible for other management staff to run the store when the employees think they can do whatever they want.

    99 Cents Only2018-05-15
  6. "Asm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Advancement is quick if you work hard

    Cons

    They don’t pay their stockers and cashiers enough so they don’t care

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more

    99 Cents Only2018-03-16
  7. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It can be fun, depending on the store and store management.

    Cons

    Very long hours, and hours vary, extremely.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees, and realize when upper management is destroying the store.

    99 Cents Only2017-10-31
  8. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Assistant Store Manager in Inglewood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only

    Pros

    Paid weekly. You can unload trucks with electric pallet jacks and/or forklift without being certified.

    Cons

    I've been working for the company for 6 years now. Making 11.71 for ASM. No matter how much I fight for better pay all the District Managers ever say is. "We can only give you this much because then they'll start to wonder why we're giving you so much" then you meet someone getting paid 18 p/h and only lasts 3 months in the company. I've been harassed, assaulted, and treated like garbage I've always had to have two... jobs. Finally saying good-bye!!!!!! Don't waste your precious lives working in this company. It's about the worst job you will ever have in retail.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to be professional. Go to work, treat everyone fairly, and stop trying to sleep with all of your employees.

    99 Cents Only2016-09-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company with lots to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their endless stock schedule will make or break employees. Will definitely build great work ethic.

    Cons

    Management works 10.5 hours per day / five days a week.

    Advice to Management

    Managers should be taught aspects of retail. Not just working out stock and bossing staff around. Ask store managers how much in profit their stores make and they can not give you an answer because they really don't know.

    99 Cents Only2016-05-04
  10. "A company with real growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Placentia, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are full time benefits such as company match up to a certain percent on a 401k, diversity of job for management, opportunity for advancement always

    Cons

    If not run properly, will be overworked in management, the location of the store will affect who is coming in and some areas are not the best.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the store clean and give your employees credit once in a while.

    99 Cents Only2016-04-20
Found 16 reviews