99 Cents Only Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Cashier Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
11 Ratings
  1. "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Inglewood, CA

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    Pay was really good , 12hr was good

    Cons

    Work you like a dog

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people

    99 Cents Only2019-08-27
  2. "We all have opinions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Making friends and working with good people

    Cons

    Not enough pay for people who have a family and bills to pay

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay

    99 Cents Only2019-09-16
  3. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of my coworkers are fun to talk to

    Cons

    They keep employees they know always show up late or never come in I still haven’t gotten (the raise) paid yet for being a head cashier

    Advice to Management

    They need to make a game plan and not try to overrule one another.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-14
  4. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    Work around your schedule and they will literally hire anyone

    Cons

    Short-staffed constantly, rude and unprofessional managerial staff, changing rules daily and even by the minute, expected to do the impossible with 0 staff

    Advice to Management

    Please decide if you want to provide customer service or have your employees run around the store and be janitors. Telling employees they aren't fast enough when they expect you to recover aisles, cashier, clean the bathrooms, mop and do go backs in a 4 hour shift, when 3.3 hours of that is cashiering is nuts.

    99 Cents Only2019-07-01
  5. "life at the 99cent only store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Chico, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working with the public.

    Cons

    Stressfully busy, the store is messy more than its clean, management is lacking

    Advice to Management

    Listen & support your staff. When they make a mistake, talk to them instead of cutting their hours

    99 Cents Only2019-05-30
  6. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Apple Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best places I've worked great people

    Cons

    The hours are very inconsistent

    Advice to Management

    Hire less people so you can give more hours

    99 Cents Only2019-05-09
  7. "Review for Store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Chula Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good team building and easy, fast paced there is always something to do

    Cons

    lots of change in employees and inthe way they give hours

    99 Cents Only2019-05-21
  8. "Don't work here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly that's about it

    Cons

    Management is very sloppy!! They gossip about every employee to other employees which causes a lot of drama. Even though you are hired as a cashier you are made to stock and recover as well... They hire lazy employees that take way to long to close a store we would close at 10 but not get out until around 1. If they were planning on firing someone the whole store knew before the actual employee. It's just very... unprofessional!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to actually manage

    99 Cents Only2019-05-28
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with a great team. This Organization helps communities and specifically, vulnerable populations in several important ways. The best ways our stores support families and individuals is through offering lowest prices for healthy fruits, veggies, critical items /quality basic necessities to people who otherwise could not afford them. The other important thing our stores are famous for is providing the highest... quality HoLiDaY /PaRtY items for right around a buck! Decorations, gifts & supplies helps parents give their families vibrant memories for a lifetime!

    Show More

    Cons

    Hours change frequently, sometimes on short notice. Sometimes I get more opportunities to work by manager calling needing a fill in as opposed to being able to plan for a scheduled shift. There are some frustrating issues with strategy. This can impact morale.

    Advice to Management

    Id like to share in person. I will say that there is a lot of missed revenue due to the constant unrealistic demand to complete more quick work as opposed to quality work.

    99 Cents Only2019-04-10
  10. "Pros/Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly And the managers are great depending on location.

    Cons

    Long hours and low pay

    99 Cents Only2019-03-02
Found 99 reviews