99 Cents Only Key Holder Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Key Holder Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
0 Ratings
  1. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Garden Grove, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always busy. 40 hours. Room to grow

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay. No career growth

    99 Cents Only2017-07-05
  2. "Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Santa Fe Springs, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyday is something new, moving up in management opens up doors (career wise), you don't stay in one place for too long

    Cons

    It gets very hectic from time to time

    Advice to Management

    Stop showing favoritism.

    99 Cents Only2016-08-30
  3. "Low Prices, Low Wages, Low Moral!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Due to the money saving concept, most customers are happy. A plus in retail! Flexible hrs. for part-timers.

    Cons

    Low pay with great expectations. Health and safety rules NOT a priority. Little harmony between staff members. Hidden racism.

    Advice to Management

    Rid out lazy, unreliable workers. Support your lower management team. Create incentives for a job well done.

    99 Cents Only2015-08-18
  4. "Good for a person who can't find anything else -key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, easy to get and keep job. See the best deals before the public. Many opportunities to get overtime.

    Cons

    Very low pay, promised raises that we never received, slave labor(they own you), poor staffing: 1 year with no store manager, 1 year with no district manager, 6 months with no assistant manager. We cannot keep good staff due to minimum wage pay with a higher expectation than similar jobs that pay more. Poor ordering systems causes back rooms to be overloaded which creates a stressful and sometimes unsafe work... conditions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more to key holders and offer them more opportunities to learn and grow. They are your future managers. Hold managers more accountable, they could get away with murder and you wouldn't notice. Train store managers about margin and give them more ability to impact it by ordering what the store needs and pushing items that give more margin. Margin is as important as sales and managers should know what their stores... margin is.

    Show More
    99 Cents Only2015-06-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    Work is harder than you might think

    Cons

    Underpaid and hard to advance

    Advice to Management

    Full time.

    99 Cents Only2015-04-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours depending on the profits your store makes. The love to promote from within. Those who work hard enough and prove themselves get promoted very fast

    Cons

    They will work you to the bone. I once worked 20 days straight, 12 hours shifts. The company no longer has head cashier titles so the jump from a regular associate is key holder. Key holders are technically "supervisors" EXCEPT you are expected to run the entire store by yourself with no other members of management with you. They try to train but you pretty much have to figure everything out on your own. There is no... work/home life balance if youre a part of management. Theyre the type of company that doesnt inform you of your mistakes. They just take your hours away instead and make you figure out what youre doing wrong. Sadly in newer stores with unexperienced higher management the work load is unfairly distributed. I have only been promoted two months and i know more about the store than my assistant manager so she makes me do most of her work plus my own. The bad thing about new hires is that it will take weeks for you to get paid. Its happened to everyone ive worked with. Youre supposed to be paid weekly but when you first start you probably wont get a pay check for at least a month. Associates are insanely overworked. Especially in new stores. They expect tons amount of work done in very little time with very few associates. And they hand out write ups like they were candy. Sometimes favoritism is within management so if they dont like you they are even more willing to hand out write ups for the littlest things. Also a huge con is that older stores have older systems and so their warehouses are filthy!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work with district managers about hiring more employees to help overworked associates. Show appreciation to your associates. Saying thank you and acknowledging their hard work goes a long way. Take initiative to better your stores and make executive decisions to help your associates out. Communicate with your associates about their jobs and inform them of their mistakes so they can fix them. Store managers, stop... forcing your key holders to run your entire store for you. Just because we are management does not mean we have to do your job for you.

    Show More
    99 Cents Only2015-04-10
  7. "Wow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well the people are cool at least till....

    Cons

    Late hours and always changing a lot of flirting and sexual misconduct in management

    Advice to Management

    Set schedule no sex

    99 Cents Only2014-12-27
Found 7 reviews