99 Cents Only Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 418 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paid weekly - sure that will change(in 21 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay, flexible scheduling, great management(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bad hours, low pay wage, no real opportunities(in 25 reviews)

  • "Unorganized managers, unorganized store (some), paid minimum wage but not really that bad for the amount of work being done(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Apple Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best places I've worked great people

    Cons

    The hours are very inconsistent

    Advice to Management

    Hire less people so you can give more hours

    99 Cents Only2019-05-09
  2. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of my coworkers are fun to talk to

    Cons

    They keep employees they know always show up late or never come in I still haven’t gotten (the raise) paid yet for being a head cashier

    Advice to Management

    They need to make a game plan and not try to overrule one another.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-14
  3. "It is a good place to start as a cashier."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Houston, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interview was easy. I was hired as a stoker but I took the position of cashier. The atmosphere is good, friendly and respectful staff.

    Cons

    Sometimes you don't have your time to eat or rest when the store is busy.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-13
  4. "It’s alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker/Backup Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Some of the people I work with make the time being there a little better -You can move up in the company quick -Benefits

    Cons

    There’s a lot... -Management -cut hours - feels like my position now is on call instead of just part time with the hours I’m getting -they literally want you to do everything, management is very lazy Then they want to get mad when you don’t finish something but we get no help from them whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    Just do better

    99 Cents Only2019-08-01
  5. "worst place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Ventura, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i did not have any positive experiences

    Cons

    the work schedule made it very hard to plan anything because it was given the day before the new one started.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-14
  6. "Looking for better opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Some store managers need more training on how to treat employees

    99 Cents Only2019-07-14
  7. "Easy but stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Rialto, CA

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The job is common knowledge. If you don’t get it you’ll struggle. If you’re hungry you can grab a quick snack for a dollar so you don’t really spend too much money on food.

    Cons

    People are lazy and call off too many times and won’t be punished for it.

    99 Cents Only2019-07-12
  8. "Nothing special, super easy, but super boring. Management was weak and unorganized,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Santa Clarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Very lenient workplace -Management hated their jobs so they hardly put pressure -very flexible hours

    Cons

    -lack of organization -store got neglected -spineless managers -employees expected first class items at a dollar store -managers didnt listen to schedule requests

    Advice to Management

    Keep on trucking, I know its hard and I know you wish you could do better and it is what it is, your bosses dont care about you but you gotta remember your employees depend on you

    99 Cents Only2019-06-27
  9. "Accounting/Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Commerce, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Co-workers provide friendly environment. Excess inventory often made available to employees.

    Cons

    Company in process of outsourcing many Corporate Office positions. Very high turnover in Executive Suite.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the outsourcing. Remember that employees are also customers.

    99 Cents Only2019-07-26
  10. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    Work around your schedule and they will literally hire anyone

    Cons

    Short-staffed constantly, rude and unprofessional managerial staff, changing rules daily and even by the minute, expected to do the impossible with 0 staff

    Advice to Management

    Please decide if you want to provide customer service or have your employees run around the store and be janitors. Telling employees they aren't fast enough when they expect you to recover aisles, cashier, clean the bathrooms, mop and do go backs in a 4 hour shift, when 3.3 hours of that is cashiering is nuts.

    99 Cents Only2019-07-01
Found 418 reviews