99 Cents Only Cashier/Stocker Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 424 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
39 Ratings
  1. "Great place and people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and place to learn

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing from within

    99 Cents Only2019-03-25
  2. "99 Cents Store Only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Great Co-workers, Salary, A lot of opportunities to learn and grow your career

    Cons

    Lay-offs, Benefits and Work Politics Salaried employees are expected to work 24/7

    99 Cents Only2019-09-20
  3. "We all have opinions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Making friends and working with good people

    Cons

    Not enough pay for people who have a family and bills to pay

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay

    99 Cents Only2019-09-16
  4. "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Inglewood, CA

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    Pay was really good , 12hr was good

    Cons

    Work you like a dog

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people

    99 Cents Only2019-08-27
  5. "Fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Write your own schedule the customer

    Cons

    No support from upper management, no control over orders, no labor,

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge the hard work and effort, don't just criticize, anyone can come in with no vision and put your management down for everything.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-24
  6. "Mangement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly, discount, mandatory breaks

    Cons

    Management is horrible, horrible hours. No room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees fairly and the way you would want to be treated.

    99 Cents Only2019-09-19
  7. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of my coworkers are fun to talk to

    Cons

    They keep employees they know always show up late or never come in I still haven’t gotten (the raise) paid yet for being a head cashier

    Advice to Management

    They need to make a game plan and not try to overrule one another.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-14
  8. "It is a good place to start as a cashier."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Houston, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interview was easy. I was hired as a stoker but I took the position of cashier. The atmosphere is good, friendly and respectful staff.

    Cons

    Sometimes you don't have your time to eat or rest when the store is busy.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-13
  9. "It’s alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker/Backup Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Some of the people I work with make the time being there a little better -You can move up in the company quick -Benefits

    Cons

    There’s a lot... -Management -cut hours - feels like my position now is on call instead of just part time with the hours I’m getting -they literally want you to do everything, management is very lazy Then they want to get mad when you don’t finish something but we get no help from them whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    Just do better

    99 Cents Only2019-08-01
  10. "worst place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Ventura, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i did not have any positive experiences

    Cons

    the work schedule made it very hard to plan anything because it was given the day before the new one started.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-14
Found 424 reviews