99 Cents Only Sales Associate/Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Associate/Cashier

99 Cents Only Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 421 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
39 Ratings
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Apple Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best places I've worked great people

    Cons

    The hours are very inconsistent

    Advice to Management

    Hire less people so you can give more hours

    99 Cents Only2019-05-09
  2. "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Inglewood, CA

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    Pay was really good , 12hr was good

    Cons

    Work you like a dog

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people

    99 Cents Only2019-08-27
  3. "Fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Write your own schedule the customer

    Cons

    No support from upper management, no control over orders, no labor,

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge the hard work and effort, don't just criticize, anyone can come in with no vision and put your management down for everything.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-24
  4. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of my coworkers are fun to talk to

    Cons

    They keep employees they know always show up late or never come in I still haven’t gotten (the raise) paid yet for being a head cashier

    Advice to Management

    They need to make a game plan and not try to overrule one another.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-14
  5. "It is a good place to start as a cashier."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Houston, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interview was easy. I was hired as a stoker but I took the position of cashier. The atmosphere is good, friendly and respectful staff.

    Cons

    Sometimes you don't have your time to eat or rest when the store is busy.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-13
  6. "It’s alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker/Backup Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Some of the people I work with make the time being there a little better -You can move up in the company quick -Benefits

    Cons

    There’s a lot... -Management -cut hours - feels like my position now is on call instead of just part time with the hours I’m getting -they literally want you to do everything, management is very lazy Then they want to get mad when you don’t finish something but we get no help from them whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    Just do better

    99 Cents Only2019-08-01
  7. "worst place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Ventura, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i did not have any positive experiences

    Cons

    the work schedule made it very hard to plan anything because it was given the day before the new one started.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-14
  8. "Don't give non C level executives power"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good employees who actually care about the company

    Cons

    Upper management plays games with employees

    Advice to Management

    Stop allowing non C level executives to act like they are untouchable, reign them in and start listening to the employees who are under them when they come to you with serious allegations about how they are being treated.

    99 Cents Only2019-08-28
  9. "Looking for better opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Some store managers need more training on how to treat employees

    99 Cents Only2019-07-14
  10. "Easy but stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Rialto, CA

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The job is common knowledge. If you don’t get it you’ll struggle. If you’re hungry you can grab a quick snack for a dollar so you don’t really spend too much money on food.

    Cons

    People are lazy and call off too many times and won’t be punished for it.

    99 Cents Only2019-07-12
Found 421 reviews