99 Cents Only Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 423 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
39 Ratings
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Apple Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best places I've worked great people

    Cons

    The hours are very inconsistent

    Advice to Management

    Hire less people so you can give more hours

    99 Cents Only2019-05-09
  2. "lost focus on being great at core things. trying to be more than what it can be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    too few to mention here

    Cons

    antiquated freight process that overwhelms store. broken model that over buys.

    99 Cents Only2019-05-16
  3. "Don't work here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly that's about it

    Cons

    Management is very sloppy!! They gossip about every employee to other employees which causes a lot of drama. Even though you are hired as a cashier you are made to stock and recover as well... They hire lazy employees that take way to long to close a store we would close at 10 but not get out until around 1. If they were planning on firing someone the whole store knew before the actual employee. It's just very... unprofessional!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to actually manage

    99 Cents Only2019-05-28
  4. "It's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with some really great people

    Cons

    Difficult to find the proper management team because of the pay

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more realistic on your expectations of people you pay a low wage to. Keep your promises or just don't make any you can't keep.

    99 Cents Only2019-04-18
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with a great team. This Organization helps communities and specifically, vulnerable populations in several important ways. The best ways our stores support families and individuals is through offering lowest prices for healthy fruits, veggies, critical items /quality basic necessities to people who otherwise could not afford them. The other important thing our stores are famous for is providing the highest... quality HoLiDaY /PaRtY items for right around a buck! Decorations, gifts & supplies helps parents give their families vibrant memories for a lifetime!

    Show More

    Cons

    Hours change frequently, sometimes on short notice. Sometimes I get more opportunities to work by manager calling needing a fill in as opposed to being able to plan for a scheduled shift. There are some frustrating issues with strategy. This can impact morale.

    Advice to Management

    Id like to share in person. I will say that there is a lot of missed revenue due to the constant unrealistic demand to complete more quick work as opposed to quality work.

    99 Cents Only2019-04-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "This company was horrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None just a horrible company.

    Cons

    Dirty stores no higher up support.

    Advice to Management

    There's no upper leadership all the way down to the district manager's and your peer's that's store managers they all cut throat no support from HR. They need to get rid of all the ones that's been there 5 year's are more if you want a functional life do not go there you have been warned.

    99 Cents Only2019-05-12
  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in D Lo, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You gain job experience so its good for a first job.

    Cons

    Pay is low. Not good

    99 Cents Only2019-04-03
  8. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Consistent schedule, no shortage on hours.

    Cons

    Poor management, if you take a day off they won't be happy

    99 Cents Only2019-04-09
  9. "Good entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super easy job Good starter job

    Cons

    Low Pay Employee Discount Angry Customers Messy Store

    99 Cents Only2019-03-20
  10. "Fantastic store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    If your a hard worker you get the advantage on anyone else (besides the managers)with getting hours also great coworkers and a great place to work

    Cons

    Can’t think of any cons

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to hard workers

    99 Cents Only2019-03-18
Found 423 reviews