99 Cents Only Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 421 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
39 Ratings
  1. "A few bumps here and there but it was ok."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only

    Pros

    Good experience and learned a lot of new things.

    Cons

    They want you at a fast pace.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing really.

    99 Cents Only2019-03-08
  2. "Pros/Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly And the managers are great depending on location.

    Cons

    Long hours and low pay

    99 Cents Only2019-03-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fast pace, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety/Compliance Lead in Huntington Park, Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very fast paced so you are always busy throughout your shift.

    Cons

    Pay is low for the amount of work that you do and corporate management is clueless of what goes on in their stores.

    Advice to Management

    Promote qualified individuals already working for the company that have a feel of how the store operates and not hire outside individuals with a degree that have no idea of the workload and pressure it takes to run these stores.

    99 Cents Only2019-03-10
  4. "Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Santee, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not many pros for this job other than we had lunch breaks and front end lead was nice.

    Cons

    Horrible management. Both managers were completely horrific straight out of a movie. They never smiled and heavily micromanaged every single employee. If you made a mistake, prepare for an earbite even on your first day as with me.

    Advice to Management

    Fire management

    99 Cents Only2019-04-01
  5. "Average Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Lancaster, CA

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay was pretty useful for someone's first job

    Cons

    Not many cons out of the ordinary

    99 Cents Only2019-02-19
  6. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. Not bad pay when you start.

    Cons

    Your days off they always call you in.

    99 Cents Only2019-02-19
  7. "Lots of missing process'....very behind the times compared to others."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to merchandise and get creative. Great team in store. Good support from DM.

    Cons

    Hectic delivery schedule. You will be out on the floor stocking or in the backroom breaking pallets down if you can't stay ahead of the wave freight you will get. And it is a constant flow. Alot of their technology is grossly out of date. You may run into favoritism if you don't play politics well and let your results speak for themselves.

    Advice to Management

    You have a tiger by the tail, invest in yourself and your people.

    99 Cents Only2019-03-06
  8. "Toxic Work Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Marketing Team is amazing, Loyal customers, company is growing.

    Cons

    Senior Leadership lead through fear and intimidation, Employees are fearful of retaliation if they voice concerns. HR completely disconnected from reality.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your people.

    99 Cents Only2019-03-05
  9. "Great place to work and learning is endless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Fixture and Supply Supervisor Corporate Distribution in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Monday - Friday 6:00 am to 2:30, Salary great benefits, so many resources, fantastic co workers, Don't know why I left... Very bad choice

    Cons

    There is no Cons in my eyes

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work as you provide resources, tool, teaching and development. This is for Store Operations Tony Yera.... I really enjoyed be a part of your team, you are truly what a real leader should be, Thank you Tony

    99 Cents Only2019-02-15
  10. "Good Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Inglewood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get discounts, great work opportunities, and good management

    Cons

    It is a fast paced work area but it was a great experience

    99 Cents Only2019-01-30
Found 421 reviews