99 Cents Only Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 424 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
40 Ratings
  1. "Toxic Work Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Marketing Team is amazing, Loyal customers, company is growing.

    Cons

    Senior Leadership lead through fear and intimidation, Employees are fearful of retaliation if they voice concerns. HR completely disconnected from reality.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your people.

    99 Cents Only2019-03-05
  2. "Great place to work and learning is endless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Fixture and Supply Supervisor Corporate Distribution in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Monday - Friday 6:00 am to 2:30, Salary great benefits, so many resources, fantastic co workers, Don't know why I left... Very bad choice

    Cons

    There is no Cons in my eyes

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work as you provide resources, tool, teaching and development. This is for Store Operations Tony Yera.... I really enjoyed be a part of your team, you are truly what a real leader should be, Thank you Tony

    99 Cents Only2019-02-15
  3. "Good Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Inglewood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get discounts, great work opportunities, and good management

    Cons

    It is a fast paced work area but it was a great experience

    99 Cents Only2019-01-30
  4. "Complex organization struggling to find a cohesive strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They had tacos on some of the holidays

    Cons

    Location is in an unpleasant area with no windows in the offices or selection of places outside to eat. Work culture is hectic and driven by egos and executives trying to push their pet agendas while driving the underlings to constantly pivot and adjust until the executive eventually leaves.

    99 Cents Only2019-03-07
  5. "99 cents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only

    Pros

    Good hours, nice coworkers, flexible

    Cons

    Not recognized for work, etc

    99 Cents Only2019-01-30
  6. "Decent first-time job, but don't stay too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to great products, lots of deals Health insurance & benefits for full-time workers

    Cons

    EXTREMELY low pay compared to the amount of work expected Management treats you as disposable

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees more - they're the ones making you money. Every time I tried to bring up a concern with management, I was talked over or basically told to suck it up. Concerns were never addressed, which is why I eventually quit, despite my manager practically begging me to stay.

    99 Cents Only2019-02-08
  7. "Only good if your going to school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Stocker in North Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you manage to be a stocker the early morning hours are good I guess.

    Cons

    No hours, so tons of overstock they expect you to pretty much do what would take two 8 hour shifts in about 7 hours. On your days off someone else works your aisles makes a mess and put things where they don’t belong then you come in reorganize them and then they ask why was that their to begin with? Um idk I wasn’t here aren’t you the manager? Shouldn’t you know who touched up my aisle and messed it all up? So now... it goes to management horrible horrible horrible. No teamwork pay is low so a constant rotating door of employees who with every right shouldn’t stay since were all getting minimum wage and get this new CEO wants to cut even more hours see how well that goes for you bud ;D

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Help your employees don’t just yell orders and expect things to be done. You can’t expect someone to stock up 5 pallets of product in 7 hours that just ridiculous. If people are calling off then move those hours and let the night crew know hey someone called off can you guys stay 8 hours? That way we get alittle more in our pocket have a little more time to push things out and make more sales it’s not that difficult... to manage Jesus also if we’re working 7 and stay 8 how is that overtime? Lol again the way this company is run is a joke.

    Show More
    99 Cents Only2019-02-07
  8. "Do part timers not qualify for fmla?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recovery 

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly is good ok

    Cons

    No job security for maternity

    99 Cents Only2019-01-23
  9. "Cashier/stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Stocker in Arcadia, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got alot of hours as a cashier

    Cons

    Management is mean and don't support you

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer and try to make a better environment

    99 Cents Only2018-12-18
  10. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to meet new people, manager is very nice.

    Cons

    Supervisors horrible they treat employers like if they were the owners of the company they behave bad with employer, talk behind your back, and disrespect employers. You have to put sticker in the things you buy because they will think that you are stealing, a very dirty place to work also.

    Advice to Management

    treat your employees with more respect.

    99 Cents Only2018-12-17
Found 424 reviews