99 Cents Only "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
38%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paid weekly, discount, mandatory breaks(in 21 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay was pretty useful for someone's first job(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bad hours, low pay wage, no real opportunities(in 26 reviews)

  • "Unorganized managers, unorganized store (some), paid minimum wage but not really that bad for the amount of work being done(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Pros/Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly And the managers are great depending on location.

    Cons

    Long hours and low pay

    99 Cents Only2019-03-02
  2. "Keep Looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You will learn time management - Helping the unfortunate with a job

    Cons

    - Long hours - Just a title, you will not manage - Never able to catch up - Low pay for associates - No hours to complete task - Unrealistic goals - No POGs creates constant shifting to fit unnecessary product allocation - High turnover - Poor upper management

    Advice to Management

    This company needs more structure within the store.

    99 Cents Only2019-11-17
  3. "Good entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super easy job Good starter job

    Cons

    Low Pay Employee Discount Angry Customers Messy Store

    99 Cents Only2019-03-20
  4. "Decent first-time job, but don't stay too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to great products, lots of deals Health insurance & benefits for full-time workers

    Cons

    EXTREMELY low pay compared to the amount of work expected Management treats you as disposable

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees more - they're the ones making you money. Every time I tried to bring up a concern with management, I was talked over or basically told to suck it up. Concerns were never addressed, which is why I eventually quit, despite my manager practically begging me to stay.

    99 Cents Only2019-02-08
  5. "Easy job, very well organized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -easy -flexible hours -mobile, no sitting around

    Cons

    -low pay -hard to get full time hours

    99 Cents Only2017-11-05
  6. "I would suggest only to somone looking for part time work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in City of Industry, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    get some 99 cent deals

    Cons

    Bad hours, low pay wage, no real opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    ...

    99 Cents Only2017-07-10
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay . Nice associates that work hard with no recognition . Associates not treated nicely talked down to frequently .

    Cons

    Really horrible experience . Company finally coming into the 21st century in IT. Disorganized ,extremely unprofessional in the way they treat their managers and people . Low pay , no vacation , nothing explained in training . Advise against this place .

    Advice to Management

    Get you're acts together . All you're people who are in higher upper management only know 99 and you will never keep quality people unless you treat them with respect .

    99 Cents Only2017-02-22
  8. "Register"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Westminster, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to start, but not good for staying

    Cons

    Pay isn't that great, low pay, needs more company culture, work life, and better communication.

    Advice to Management

    Good overall but needs to listen more to workers.

    99 Cents Only2016-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Never worked this hard for so little money in 30 years of retail."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only plus is being paid weekly. Otherwise unless you are looking for a temporary job till something better comes along do not go to work here

    Cons

    Horrible hours. Low pay no incentive to try and grow with company. Unless you are just looking for a temporary job until something else comes along do not even apply

    Advice to Management

    Take some of your profit and work to advance people in your company

    99 Cents Only2016-10-25
  10. "porter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Porter in Sahuarita, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Low stress

    Cons

    Low pay. Need better management. Discrimination

    99 Cents Only2016-02-16
Found 26 reviews