99 Cents Only "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 423 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paid weekly - sure that will change(in 21 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay, flexible scheduling, great management(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bad hours, low pay wage, no real opportunities(in 25 reviews)

  • "Unorganized managers, unorganized store (some), paid minimum wage but not really that bad for the amount of work being done(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Only good if your going to school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Stocker in North Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you manage to be a stocker the early morning hours are good I guess.

    Cons

    No hours, so tons of overstock they expect you to pretty much do what would take two 8 hour shifts in about 7 hours. On your days off someone else works your aisles makes a mess and put things where they don’t belong then you come in reorganize them and then they ask why was that their to begin with? Um idk I wasn’t here aren’t you the manager? Shouldn’t you know who touched up my aisle and messed it all up? So now... it goes to management horrible horrible horrible. No teamwork pay is low so a constant rotating door of employees who with every right shouldn’t stay since were all getting minimum wage and get this new CEO wants to cut even more hours see how well that goes for you bud ;D

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Help your employees don’t just yell orders and expect things to be done. You can’t expect someone to stock up 5 pallets of product in 7 hours that just ridiculous. If people are calling off then move those hours and let the night crew know hey someone called off can you guys stay 8 hours? That way we get alittle more in our pocket have a little more time to push things out and make more sales it’s not that difficult... to manage Jesus also if we’re working 7 and stay 8 how is that overtime? Lol again the way this company is run is a joke.

    Show More
    99 Cents Only2019-02-07
  2. "Produce lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Lead in National City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They were giving me 40 hours per week.

    Cons

    they do not appreciate the work you do for them. It’s a minimum wage job and they expect from you to do a 12 hours work in 7 hours or less.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate has to work more in the training of their managers. Managers do not respect employees and they are better ways to delegate some duties with out being disrespectful.

    99 Cents Only2018-11-15
  3. "Good first job or for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great first job, a good beginner learning experience depending on your manager, Meeting a lot of people, not too difficult.

    Cons

    Unorganized managers, unorganized store (some), paid minimum wage but not really that bad for the amount of work being done.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t be so rude, and try to make sure schedules are good enough.

    99 Cents Only2018-01-06
  4. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    Little stress Friendly workers Learning to talk to customers

    Cons

    Minimum wage and hard to get raise

    99 Cents Only2017-12-20
  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Garden Grove, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always busy. 40 hours. Room to grow

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay. No career growth

    99 Cents Only2017-07-05
  6. "Deli and frozen stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli and Frozen Stocker in Woodland Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a decent 10% discount on purchases

    Cons

    -You will always get your yearly raise one week before the minimum wage get raised -You will always be told to work outside your department since the store is always extremely understaffed. -Management is always disorganized. -When offered a head cashier position and I declined since the raise was 70 cents.

    Advice to Management

    To pay your hard-working employees what they are worth to keep them working to their fullest and stay with the company longer.

    99 Cents Only2017-04-08
  7. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Colleyville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only

    Pros

    Good music, can always keep busy, first on some good deals sometimes

    Cons

    The pay is not too good minimum wage maybe a lil above

    Advice to Management

    Pay better and the job would be even awesomer

    99 Cents Only2016-08-14
  8. "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Their is really one pro which is getting paid weekly other than that no pros for this job high expectations and management is not great

    Cons

    -high expectations for a small company that pays minimum wage and doesn't give chance for advancement. Your schedule is changed without notice

    Advice to Management

    Help out

    99 Cents Only2016-08-20
  9. "Fast pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time

    Pros

    Job security keep moving with enough hard work and determination you have the possibility of moving up

    Cons

    Long nights with lots of work and minimum wage but you know had that is a work hard now go

    Advice to Management

    Treat you workers good give some raises have dinners for employees try DVD and show company cares

    99 Cents Only2016-05-19
  10. "It's hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Ramona, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a good way to learn how to be a cashier and stocker, it teaches you pretty well, I now know how 99 cent store makes money, they work the cashier's and stocker's butts off.

    Cons

    Short breaks, short hours, Minimum wage, and hard work with extremely strict district managers who really beat down on the managers to beat down on the cashiers and stockers.

    99 Cents Only2016-04-11
Found 423 reviews