99 Cents Only "paid weekly" Reviews | Glassdoor

99 Cents Only Employee Reviews about "paid weekly"

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
38%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
99 Cents Only CEO Jack Sinclair
Jack Sinclair
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paid weekly, discount, mandatory breaks(in 21 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay was pretty useful for someone's first job(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bad hours, low pay wage, no real opportunities(in 26 reviews)

  • "Unorganized managers, unorganized store (some), paid minimum wage but not really that bad for the amount of work being done(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "paid weekly"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Pros/Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly And the managers are great depending on location.

    Cons

    Long hours and low pay

    99 Cents Only2019-03-02
  2. "Mangement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Bakersfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly, discount, mandatory breaks

    Cons

    Management is horrible, horrible hours. No room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees fairly and the way you would want to be treated.

    99 Cents Only2019-09-19
  3. "Don't work here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly that's about it

    Cons

    Management is very sloppy!! They gossip about every employee to other employees which causes a lot of drama. Even though you are hired as a cashier you are made to stock and recover as well... They hire lazy employees that take way to long to close a store we would close at 10 but not get out until around 1. If they were planning on firing someone the whole store knew before the actual employee. It's just very... unprofessional!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to actually manage

    99 Cents Only2019-05-28
  4. "Do part timers not qualify for fmla?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recovery 

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly is good ok

    Cons

    No job security for maternity

    99 Cents Only2019-01-23
  5. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    Get paid weekly Longer shifts Benefits (health, dental)

    Cons

    very rude customers, homeless people bothering customers everyday and acting crazy in store Needs more employees(cashiers)

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees at least cashiers, Cashiers constantly have to deal with angry customers upset over only one or two registers being open ,every shift being cursed at no matter how polite you are to them, and always yelling and asking for the manager to yell at them isnt good for anyone. and all of it could be avoided if the company would have more cashiers . happy employees and happy customers .

    99 Cents Only2018-09-10
  6. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at 99 Cents Only part-time

    Pros

    Get paid weekly. Food is cheap for your breaks and lunch, can have friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Too much work for little pay, management is lazy, not worth it only if your a teen it’s a quick summer job but not permanent.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder just like your team did.

    99 Cents Only2018-09-19
  7. "Retail Job O/ N stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Stocker in La Quinta, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly, good sales. I'm always shopping after my shift.

    Cons

    No room for advancement. No pay raise anytime soon

    Advice to Management

    Relax dont be so uptight

    99 Cents Only2017-03-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Never worked this hard for so little money in 30 years of retail."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only plus is being paid weekly. Otherwise unless you are looking for a temporary job till something better comes along do not go to work here

    Cons

    Horrible hours. Low pay no incentive to try and grow with company. Unless you are just looking for a temporary job until something else comes along do not even apply

    Advice to Management

    Take some of your profit and work to advance people in your company

    99 Cents Only2016-10-25
  9. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Assistant Store Manager in Inglewood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only

    Pros

    Paid weekly. You can unload trucks with electric pallet jacks and/or forklift without being certified.

    Cons

    I've been working for the company for 6 years now. Making 11.71 for ASM. No matter how much I fight for better pay all the District Managers ever say is. "We can only give you this much because then they'll start to wonder why we're giving you so much" then you meet someone getting paid 18 p/h and only lasts 3 months in the company. I've been harassed, assaulted, and treated like garbage I've always had to have two... jobs. Finally saying good-bye!!!!!! Don't waste your precious lives working in this company. It's about the worst job you will ever have in retail.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to be professional. Go to work, treat everyone fairly, and stop trying to sleep with all of your employees.

    99 Cents Only2016-09-25
  10. "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 99 Cents Only full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Their is really one pro which is getting paid weekly other than that no pros for this job high expectations and management is not great

    Cons

    -high expectations for a small company that pays minimum wage and doesn't give chance for advancement. Your schedule is changed without notice

    Advice to Management

    Help out

    99 Cents Only2016-08-20
Found 21 reviews