9Gauge Partners Reviews | Glassdoor

9Gauge Partners Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Brian White
41 Ratings
  1. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners full-time

    Pros

    This place really has a fantastic culture. Everyone on the team is willing to lend a hand if needed. It's the first culture I've been a part of that it feels like everyone cares more about the team than themselves. I love being a part of this team.

    Cons

    Since we are virtual, connecting with team members is a little more difficult.

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2015-04-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and grow professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    What I love about working for 9Gauge Partners is that you get to work on different projects and areas for multiple clients at the same time. You're not stuck with doing the same thing all year round and learn a lot of new stuff and enhance your professional skills. Plenty of room to grow professionally and lots of flexibility. The team is extremely helpful and knowledgeable and we always help each other out. One of the best professional and career decisions I've ever made.

    Cons

    We don't get to see rest of the team as we all work with different clients. Monthly all-hands meeting is where we get to see other.

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2015-02-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting Work & Fantastic Coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The group at 9Gauge is by far the best co-worker experience I have ever had. There is a huge amount of support from top to bottom and a very impressive amount of knowledge and experience. It is a great combination of a team pulling together to do whatever is needed for a client, but at the same time having individual responsibility and accountability. Plus its just a great group of people to be around on a personal level as well. It is exciting and a great opportunity to work with growing and changing companies throughout the Austin area and beyond. Every day brings something new, the work is never dull and rarely routine. There are continually opportunities to learn new things on the job or to pull from a variety of experiences in your past. Management has been putting a growing emphasis on expanding employee's experience and helping them forward in their career. Because of the consultant lifestyle there more flexibility to juggle the work/life balance than at your typical office job. We work hard and sometimes have to put in the extra hours, but it makes it much easier to deal with when you have more control over when those extra hours fall in the day/week. Additionally, the company has very strong ethics and values which is constantly reinforced and shown through actions. While a lot of companies just talk about their values, at 9Gauge you don't just hear about it but see it in action.

    Cons

    As the team is spread out at various client offices, there will be some people on the team that you don't get to work with as often and only catch up with at monthly meetings. Although everyone is always easy to get in touch with, including top management, a lot of that interaction is virtual and not as much face to face as most people are used to.

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2015-02-06

    9Gauge Partners Response

    April 1, 2015Marketing Consultant

    Thank you for the great review! We're very proud of the amazing talent we have on our team, and we're glad to have you.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Combo of Flexibility, Balance, and Professional Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controller in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely supportive and caring leadership team. Smartest group of people I have ever worked with. Trustworthy leaders who will always do the right thing. Virtual office allows for flexibility and balance. Professional development and learning opportunities. Competitive benefits package.

    Cons

    Since we are virtual, we don't see some coworkers often. However, we manage to stay connected through monthly All Hands meetings, working with teams on most engagements, and weekly check-in calls.

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2014-04-14

    9Gauge Partners Response

    April 1, 2015Marketing Associate

    Great feedback! This is what we love to hear from our team. Glad you're happy here.

    Continue reading
  5. "Best job ever - and I've had more than a few!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    From day one, the management has been thoughtful, understanding, and driven. There's an unspoken but felt sense of urgency to deliver. We're growing, clients' demands are constant, and yet we approach each day as a team, with the full support of that trusted team. It's been a phenomenal experience, and I'm looking forward to the future.

    Cons

    This is different than a corporate role, in that you're forced to balance priorities, schedules, relationships, and personalities across a variety of clients, and internally. This job feature is not for everyone, but for those who are up for it, it's incredibly rewarding. Is that a con?

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2014-04-11
  6. "Remarkable team of razor sharp A+ players with very progressive, forward-thinking leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners for more than a year

    Pros

    9Gauge sincerely cares about its clients and its team. They have a strenuous hiring process that is well worth the effort. Once onboard they really set you up to succeed and work hard to help you grow and progress. The leaders trust their team to take care of their clients and give them the freedom to do so without micro managing. Although the firm is virtual, they do a really great job of creating a collaborative culture. I never feel like "an island unto myself". In fact I absolutely love the flexibility that comes with the virtual office.

    Cons

    The virtual office makes it more difficult to develop personal relationships with your co-workers. I sometimes miss the "water cooler" chit chat. However, the pros of the virtual office far out way the cons. It just takes more effort to build the friendships.

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2014-04-09
  7. "9Gauge cares about their team members and adding value to their clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with outstanding team members, and being supported by the leadership team (they have your back even when you are at the client solo). Engaging in a variety of clients accelerates learning as well as having other team members as resources when new issues arise. Also, 9Gauge's consulting model allows for better work-life balance allowing more flexibility.

    Cons

    Time management can be a challenge when all clients have needs at the same time, so sometimes can get stretched, although management tries to find solution as soon as practical.

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2014-04-08
  8. "Amazing place to work; grow as a professional; and build your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As an employee of 9Gauge, expect to be put into many new and dynamic situations. On the job experiences includes working with Austin's best start-ups while being surrounded by A-players. Colleagues collaborate to create the best solutions for clients while fostering learning experiences for all involved. Compensation and benefits are highly competitive in the Austin market. Employees are able and encouraged to take advantage of the virtual workplace in an effort to create a positive work-life balance.

    Cons

    Honestly, there are not many down-sides. However, 9Gauge does not have a 401k match yet but is looking to add this in the future.

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2014-04-07

    9Gauge Partners Response

    April 20, 2016Talent Acquisition

    Keep the recommendations coming! We added a 401k plan at the beginning of this year. Hope you're taking advantage of it!

    Continue reading
  9. "Exceptional team of A-Players, and a leadership team who genuinely cares!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners full-time

    Pros

    Being surrounded by phenomenal people is humbling, and inspiring -- personally and professionally. 9Gauge is team of highly collaborative professionals that strive to deliver remarkable client service. Working as a team, we elevate one another to higher levels of performance .....while having fun doing it! I love that management feels it can trust employees to deliver great client service without having to track or limit PTO! The leadership team really does believe in "family first"!

    Cons

    I love our clients, but I really enjoy hanging out with 9Gaugers as well! However, since we often work at client locations we don't get to spend as much time together as we'd like to......we're all friends, as well as colleagues! Good problem to have though.

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2014-03-30
  10. "Leadership Walks the Talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 9Gauge Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leaders role model company values daily basis and truly care about feedback from employees and clients. Company offers amazing flexibility in hours worked and encourage a healthy work / life balance for each employee.

    Cons

    No physical office, may perform a majority of job function while interacting with a small % of employees.

    Continue reading
    9Gauge Partners2014-03-30
Found 48 reviews