A.C. Moore Reviews | Glassdoor

A.C. Moore Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
A.C. Moore CEO Pepe Piperno (no image)
Pepe Piperno
136 Ratings
Pros
  • "Also, if you enjoy arts and crafts, there are many rewards benefits as well as an employee discount(in 52 reviews)

  • "the empoyee discount (even though some days they'd give customers coupons that were equal to our discount anyway)(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, micromanaging upper management, small room to advance unless hired at the right time(in 24 reviews)

  • "A lot of people get upset about coupons (but it's all there in fine print- they just don't read)(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Front End Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Specialist 

    I worked at A.C. Moore part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, above minimum wage for a simple retail job. Usually easy work, sometimes the store get's busy or is understaffed because of corporate hour cuts. Flexible hours usually.

    Cons

    Coworkers are a mixed bag. Some of them are great, some of them can barely function and do every task as slowly as possible to keep from having to do more work. Managers usually don't see this cause they are in the office or busy with their own tasks. Some managers cannot handle difficult situations. When the store says basically only managers can say no. Sometimes managers refuse to either come up because they... are busy in the office or cannot handle the situation leaving you between an angry customer and a lacking manger. If you do good work you have to do more. The only reward for working hard and well is getting to do more work. Managers will put hard workers with the lazy people so enough gets done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to Front end Specialists about what's going on on the floor. They spend a lot of time directly interacting with customers and coworkers.

    A.C. Moore2018-05-19
  2. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Supervisor in Shrewsbury, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.C. Moore full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    2 weeks vacation time not much else

    Cons

    None, company has no long term plans

    A.C. Moore2019-10-15
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Do everything the GM does"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Woburn, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.C. Moore full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always busy time goes by quick

    Cons

    Good work gets no reward lazy people get no consequence. No motivation to do well and no incentives.

    A.C. Moore2019-10-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I like what I do, and the people I work with, but the pay is terrible for the workload."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.C. Moore

    Pros

    I love getting 20% extra off on craft supplies and various things at the store. The people I work with are very friendly and it’s a good overall vibe for the most part. The work is pretty mindless, I have some creative control through custom framing, and I get pretty consistent 28-33 hour weeks, with two days off.

    Cons

    I was never told my pay rate, or where to find that information. Corporate pushes unrealistic expectations for “total package designs” in an area that really struggles to hit our goals. Petty drama-usually among younger employees- but generally harmless. Framers are expected to do associate work, plus manage frame shop, and clean bathrooms. I thought I would actually be involved in the construction of custom frames,... but it’s just choosing the design. Always a few coworkers cycling through who don’t care about the quality of their work..

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Custom framing needs to update and expand in house services if it is going to succeed, and if not, offer more affordable options. A management position does not exempt you from associate-level work; it is an added responsibility.

    A.C. Moore2019-08-03
  6. "Good starter job but not all that great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Bowie, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A.C. Moore part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy job good discounts

    Cons

    bad management not good enough pay

    A.C. Moore2019-07-22
  7. "Not Great, Not Bad Either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Specialist 

    I worked at A.C. Moore part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - friendly work environment - clear goals

    Cons

    - no opportunity for raise (even after a year of employment)

    A.C. Moore2019-07-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Needs Work to Keep Afloat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A.C. Moore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family-like environment Employee discount Connected with art community

    Cons

    No advancement Poor benefits Upper management Sometimes there's no flexibility Schedule Health insurance is not that great feels like a downgrade

    Advice to Management

    Being a former merchandising supervisor, I can tell that the company needs some serious work to keep up with the competition. Micromanaging is not going to fix any of this. Yes the stores need to look presentable for customers but other places are lacking (there needs some serious remodeling in most stores and that includes buying next modern fixtures). You need to offer more to customers and expand a little bit... more. Trends are so behind. Coupons and rewards are a great incentive but there needs to be more than just shopping to drive people in. My specific store had only one class to offer once a month. You need to inspire young artist and maybe support local communities or get an art competition going. Or invest some money for an after-school kids program. Connect to the community. As far as employees go, you need to offer better benefits. Other companies are a pleasure to work with because employees feel safe and feel like the company cares for them. My impression of our high turnover rate was because upper management saw associates as easily replaceable. There were many flexible people who did not get the treatment they deserved. Super understaffed. This is a headache not only to other associates but to management. Cutting hours is going to cut your intake. Data analysis is lacking. Hire a good data analysis who can tell you rising trends, peak hours, and can help you better cut cost on other areas. Also I am changing the location of where I actually worked because I have been vocal about how horrible working conditions are and also because I loved the people I worked with (specific store is in the same region). Disliked the general manager. He is out of touch with the job market and demands too much for no reward. No flexibility with students and shows obvious preference on specific employee(s). Well, he is out of touch with most of the real world. Needs to retire asap! The new regional manager and the vice president were actually a pleasure to work. I have seen them sit down with associates and interact with them. Great place to shop at; horrible place to work at. It's just structural nothing personal. I have made life time friends here.

    Show More
    A.C. Moore2019-07-17
  9. "Custom Framer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Custom Framer in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.C. Moore part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of hours available in other areas of store if you wanted them.

    Cons

    Full time position was not available even when you worked full time hours.

    A.C. Moore2019-06-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "AC Moore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Buyer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.C. Moore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Local corporate business, interesting merchandise and good prices

    Cons

    Corporate office is very stressful place to work. High turnover. People there are not happy

    Advice to Management

    Corporate management is an "Old Boys Club" Someone needs to realize this before its too late

    A.C. Moore2019-06-26
  11. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at A.C. Moore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    overtime opportunities during busy season

    Cons

    pay is not always worth the drama

    A.C. Moore2019-06-10
Found 397 reviews