A+ Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

A+ Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
59%
Recommend to a Friend
A+ Federal Credit Union CEO Eric R. Kase
Eric R. Kase
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Officer in San Marcos, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at A+ Federal Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were phenomenal. I loved working with this company. The CEO was someone who cared about her employees and made it her job to remember your name. My Branch manager was flexible and cared about your work life balance. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

    Cons

    Stress that comes with banking.

    A+ Federal Credit Union2018-05-25

    A+ Federal Credit Union Response

    December 3, 2018AVP Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback, and we are glad that your time with us was beneficial! -- Tricia Lewis, VP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  2. "Not the best not the wrost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contact Center Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A+ Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with co workers, pretty sure I stay for them and the pay.

    Cons

    No manager in this department knows what they are doing. They spend all their time laughing in their offices when serious matters are pushed aside or outright avoided since again, they don’t know what they are doing or how to be a manager.

    Continue reading
    A+ Federal Credit Union2019-11-16

    A+ Federal Credit Union Response

    November 22, 2019VP Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and your perspective regarding your experience with our Contact Center. Due to the repetitive nature of contact center work, we do encourage an environment of fun at all levels. That encompasses cube decoration contests, nerf battles, and departmental games just to name a few. We wish you the best with your new chapter. ~Tricia Lewis, VP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  3. "You're gonna miss me when I'm gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A+ Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is the reason I haven't left!

    Cons

    Lack of leadership Passing up qualified employees for promotions Past banking experience means nothing Hiring anyone with a breathe to fill an open position Promotional items are hard to come by Traveling every time a branch is short staffed without any appreciation.

    Continue reading
    A+ Federal Credit Union2018-09-21

    A+ Federal Credit Union Response

    December 3, 2018AVP Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. While the feedback is definitely mixed, we are thankful that you are (hopefully) still a current employee and that you do find our compensation levels to be beneficial. We do love watching our team members grow. On average we see about 5-10 promotions per month. The majority of these promotions are through our branch levels program. This employee developed program puts the ability to grow in the employee’s hands. They put the work into themselves through a set curriculum coupled with proving their abilities in the branch environment, and that typically leads to a promotion from a Member Services Officer I to a Member Services Officer II. For promotions outside of the branch levels program, there are many factors that are taken into consideration to choose the best fit for a role. Thankfully, we have a plethora of tools available for employee growth and development. Your other comments were provided to the management team. Thank you again for sharing your feedback on our organization! —Tricia Lewis, VP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  4. "Things could be better for part time employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A+ Federal Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay Co-workers Holidays off Sundays off Reduced business hours

    Cons

    Little to no vacation or sick time for Part-time employees Peer Pressure for team building events Outdated Technology MEES

    Continue reading
    A+ Federal Credit Union2018-06-10

    A+ Federal Credit Union Response

    December 3, 2018AVP Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and that you took the time to provide constructive advice. We strive to provide benefits to employees that they will value. Our part-time employee do receive 25 hours of vacation annually, four hours of sick leave per month and on average 11 paid holidays per year. At A+FCU, we do not ask our team members to push or dump products onto our members. We expect that as service providers mentioning a product or service that would benefit our members is a reasonable request. It is not our intent that the Member Experience Evaluations (MEEs) be the sole indicator of an employee’s performance. They are intended to be a support tool for managers to utilize when coaching employees for service in line with our Core Values. As service providers, we must be the one to offer a product or service that will help our members. If we do not ask for their business, someone else will. Thank you again for sharing your feedback on our organization. —Tricia Lewis, VP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "not the worst but far from the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Processor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A+ Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunity to grow within company due to high turnover so there is always a position you can advance to.

    Cons

    besides branch operations training there isn't any formal training for back of house operations, which leads to a ton of frustration from all parties.

    Continue reading
    A+ Federal Credit Union2018-02-13
  6. "A+ FCU fosters teamwork and teaches you how to be a better you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern in Cedar Park, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A+ Federal Credit Union part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love my coworkers because we all help eachother and everyone is super friendly. Pay here is pretty great compared to many other places and I have to say having bank hours and holidays is pretty awesome.

    Cons

    As a new hire it's a lot of new information to take in and get used to but after you've learned your role things get much easier.

    Continue reading
    A+ Federal Credit Union2017-12-21

    A+ Federal Credit Union Response

    December 26, 2017AVP Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback and hope that your journey with us continues to be great! -- Tricia Lewis, AVP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to possibly grow but has some negatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PT MSO I 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A+ Federal Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not too sure of pay from other credit unions but entry level pay isnt too bad here. Room for advancement through the company usually look internally to fill a position before externally. Flexible scheduling (not including Saturday for part timers). Good entry into learning more about the financial industry. Nice co workers who you’ll actually enjoy working with. Lots of company wide activities and involvement throughout the year. Company will stand behind you in the case of some members who are rude or try and diminish you. For meeting quarterly goals the branch earns some monetary rewards.

    Cons

    Management plays favorites a lot. Advancement is based off longevity more than schooling. They do these things called MEE’s were random members come in and grade you in service this can be bad and good but doesn’t put MSO in stressful position if they don’t get a high enough score. When changes are made to certain lending products it’s not communicated to the members nearly enough or at all leaving the anger and aggression from members to be placed on MSO who face them daily. Knowledge over things you weren’t trained over is expected to stick with you after being told orally while helping some random member on some random day. The monetary rewards earned are usually spent on team bonding which not everyone at branch can go to or everyone from branch benefits from. If you work part time expect to work almost every Saturday full timers will usually work half the Saturdays you do or less than that you will usually get only one Saturday off a month even on months where there 5 Saturdays. Cross selling isn’t just encouraged it’s expected for every member even when it’ll do no good sometimes. Certain non branch workers like in certain departments aren’t a joy to communicate with when needing help. IT guys are rude and sarcastic about issues brought up to them even when they’re wrong they’ll barely help you. Sometimes with management it’s their way and that’s it. Starting to be really sales driven to the point where advertising is almost as bad as a bank with trying to sell members something every 20 seconds.

    Continue reading
    A+ Federal Credit Union2017-12-06

    A+ Federal Credit Union Response

    December 12, 2017AVP Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and that you took the time to provide some advice. At A+FCU, we do not ask our team members to push or dump products onto our members. We expect that as service providers mentioning a product or service that would benefit our members is a reasonable request. As service providers, we must be the one to offer a product or service that will help our members. If we do not ask for their business, someone else will. Additionally, in order to be accessible to our members six days a week, we have to ensure that we schedule our team members accordingly. We also love watching our team members grow. On average we see about 5-10 promotions per month. The majority of these promotions are through our branch levels program. This employee developed program puts the ability to grow in the employee’s hands. They put the work into themselves through a set curriculum coupled with proving their abilities in the branch environment, and that typically leads to a promotion from a Member Services Officer I to a Member Services Officer II. We have a plethora of tools available for employee growth and development. Your other comments were provided to the management team. Thank you again for sharing your feedback on our organization! —Tricia Lewis, AVP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A+ Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun workplace. Great perks. Back Office employees are allowed to wear jeans any day of the week. Great pay.

    Cons

    No cons. I would still be there if it weren't for my husbands job transfer.

    A+ Federal Credit Union2017-11-16

    A+ Federal Credit Union Response

    December 11, 2017AVP Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We love that you had a great experience here at A+! We wish you the best on your new journey! Maybe life will lead you back to Austin one day! -- Tricia Lewis, AVP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  9. "Branch Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A+ Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    There is plenty of opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    Credit unions can only ever make you so much money.

    A+ Federal Credit Union2017-10-25

    A+ Federal Credit Union Response

    December 12, 2017AVP Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and for your feedback about our organization. I’m thankful that our organization conducts a compensation analysis every several years to ensure that compensation for the various roles within the Credit Union are competitive! Additionally, the above average wage increases are very beneficial! Thank you for being a part of our team! -- Tricia Lewis, AVP Human Resources

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at A+ Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits if your single. Some very good people to work with. Has the potential to be a good place to work.

    Cons

    Lending is in total disarray. The CLO is chasing good people out the door. He has no clear vision and has no clue how to manage. Everyday is a new day. Doesn't back up his staff. Erratic and it's turning into a hostile work environment. Employees go to HR and it's meet on deaths ear. Upper management is turning a blind eye. Over 60% of the lending department is looking for new jobs. Moral is at a all time low.

    Continue reading
    A+ Federal Credit Union2017-09-15

    A+ Federal Credit Union Response

    September 19, 2017AVP Human Resources

    Later this week the Credit Union will share a plan for lending that provides opportunities for leadership growth, focuses on employees' strengths, and improves member experience. This was created with input from employees and intended for 2018, but due to recent staff changes, parts are being implemented earlier. We recognize that change, even if it is ultimately positive, can be unsettling in the interim. Since employees may have questions about the transition, HR will shortly be soliciting their questions and opinions. As an aside, our job in HR is to listen to all sorts of questions, complaints, and observations. We keep confidences as much as possible, and we usually work behind the scenes. As a result, for good reason, what we do to respond to concerns may not be obvious. But we do listen and we do care. Thank you for your review. We encourage you to participate in the upcoming employee survey. -- Tricia Lewis, AVP Human Resources

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 41 reviews