A. H. Belo Reviews | Glassdoor

A. H. Belo Reviews

Updated Apr 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
A. H. Belo CEO Robert W. Decherd
Robert W. Decherd
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A. H. Belo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great health and childcare benefits.

    Cons

    No Cons to report on my end

    A. H. Belo2019-02-12
  2. "Lots of areas for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. H. Belo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay Good Benefits Rare Overtime Relaxed Boss Free Coffee Great People

    Cons

    Asked for more work on many occasions, got nothing Open office environment increases stress unnecessarily Downsizing the workforce No real opportunity for advancement

    Advice to Management

    If your employees ask for work, it's because they have nothing to do. Give them something to do. If you get nothing, why would you keep asking? Treat your employees better. I don't feel like I was mistreated, but I don't agree with the way I've seen others treated. That may just be a boss to boss thing. Turnover in some of our subsidiaries is ridiculous. Improve communication. The number of times month-end was delayed...

    Show More
    A. H. Belo2019-04-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Change is good....or is it?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at A. H. Belo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It used to be the people

    Cons

    Change is good when it’s done for the betterment of all. Change is not good when it’s done for the betterment of one.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue! You laid off people who performed. Now what are you going to do?

    A. H. Belo2019-04-03
  4. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A. H. Belo full-time

    Pros

    Great company with growth opportunities

    Cons

    Processes and new sales initiatives are not properly rolled out.

    A. H. Belo2018-07-31
  5. Helpful (3)

    "People don't leave jobs, they leave managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. H. Belo for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the people are friendly, laid back, and easy to work with. When allowed, you can grow in your position and work outside the box.

    Cons

    Environment changes negatively impacting current employees as upper management continues to ignore the core issues (see unfit people in upper management positions). Taking the proper channels to express concerns is null and void as nothing is done about the situation.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees make up your company. They are the reason businesses generate revenue. When there are people causing a hostile environment and nothing is done about it, you'll never be able to retain qualified employees. Until this is fixed, high turnover will continue to happen.

    A. H. Belo2018-05-18
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at A. H. Belo full-time

    Pros

    They are trying to change the culture. The pay is competitive for salespeople and the benefits are good.

    Cons

    Most of the people in middle management are in desperate need of training. They lack leadership skills, intelligence (emotional and traditional) HR is a joke and don't understand confidentiality. They lead with fear and inconsistency. You never know what type of environment you're walking into on a daily basis.

    Advice to Management

    Be better

    A. H. Belo2018-04-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Trying hard to diversify while holding on to the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at A. H. Belo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trying hard to diversify revenue base. Balance is good.

    Cons

    But holding on to the past

    Advice to Management

    Pick a path and stick to it.

    A. H. Belo2017-12-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Decent entry level job, but not much room to grow. Monotonous work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Coordinator 
    Recommends

    I worked at A. H. Belo full-time

    Pros

    Work culture is diverse. Full benefits.

    Cons

    overloaded with too much work with too few employees to fulfill the orders. High stress environment and too much restructuring within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the support team and don't let the sales team bully the underlings.

    A. H. Belo2017-09-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "175 years in publishing Newspapers and in recent years Technology is killing the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Helpdesk Shift Lead in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A. H. Belo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly and helpful hardworking folks in all areas of the business Integrity and loyalty to the employees Proud intelligent and diverse environment

    Cons

    The Newspaper business is dying a slow but painful death After working there for 10 years in two departments. My job was outsourced and laid off 10 years later I applied and rehired for a year, then laid off again due to workforce reduction

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees concerns and follow through with effective solutions and action to resolve them

    A. H. Belo2017-09-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at A. H. Belo full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers to work with

    Cons

    no career path opportunities for advancement

    A. H. Belo2017-09-21
Found 34 reviews