A.M. Best "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

A.M. Best Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
70%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
A.M. Best Chairman and President Arthur Snyder III (no image)
Arthur Snyder III
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very little support from senior management even when you go to them with issues that need to be addressed right away(in 7 reviews)

  • "old fashioned - but this is changing(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Wonderful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Oldwick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.M. Best full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    benefits work life balance management - great managers who care about their employee's professional growth.

    Cons

    old fashioned - but this is changing

    A.M. Best2017-02-09
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Wouldn’t do it again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A.M. Best full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    3 weeks PTO, ability to work from home, some helpful co-workers, work life balance.

    Cons

    The company is run mostly by people that have never worked anywhere else in their entire careers outside of AMB, which is a big part of why nothing ever really changes for the better at the company. Barely anything EVER gets done on time either. There is lots of turnover among new employees. During my time, I saw many employees leave the company within their first year, most within 2-3. AMB is also without question the most dull place I’ve had the opportunity to work at. The company lacks any real culture/personality.

    Continue reading
    A.M. Best2018-11-28
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Stuck in the 1950s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Oldwick, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A.M. Best full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. The job is easy.

    Cons

    Not challenging. Management moves at a glacial pace.

    A.M. Best2018-05-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.M. Best full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work from home once a week. Work life balance.

    Cons

    Pay not that high. Wish can work from home more.

    A.M. Best2018-02-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Financial Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Oldwick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A.M. Best for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance; teams were extremely encouraging and knowledgable

    Cons

    There were periods where I had few assignments. Felt like I wasn't challenged

    A.M. Best2017-12-12
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Depends on what you are looking for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oldwick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.M. Best full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful campus and buildings, great people and relatively stress free environment. Diverse workforce. Outstanding work/life balance. Other perks include on site cafeteria, free coffee and quarterly employee luncheon and/or activities.

    Cons

    Slow pace and rigid decision making process due to layered management structure, which could lead to frustration for those accustomed to a more rapid fire environment. Painfully slow in adopting simple modern business initiatives such as casual dress (men still required to wear ties) and work from home policies, let alone larger business strategies.

    Continue reading
    A.M. Best2016-12-21
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Regulatory Risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.M. Best full-time

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Some people change their schedules a bit. Option to work from home. If you have something to do and need to leave early, you can always make up the time through the week without taking personal time.

    Cons

    Things move very slow in this company.

    A.M. Best2016-12-21
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Oldwick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at A.M. Best full-time

    Pros

    The job offers a great work/life balance if you can get your work done on time. As an analyst you have 4-5 weeks of pto and the one work from home per week. Most employees in ratings work from 7:30-3:30, but some work later as well. Time management is a key to success... one other added benefit is that the company has an outstanding professional designation reimbursement program. It fully funds most of the desired programs and has raises built in for each passing grade.

    Cons

    Change has happened rather often. Management is continuously updating tools and processes to bring the company up to date. In addition, some deparodents outside of ratings seem to have horror stories of poor management and team work. Going outside of your division to offer ideas is almost never received lightly.Trying to prove yourself can be very difficult. Office politics are 100% present

    Continue reading
    A.M. Best2016-11-23
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oldwick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.M. Best full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The PC reinsurance team that I joined is great. Everyone seems genuinely friendly and eager to help with any issues or questions that I have. The work itself is interesting and dynamic, so you never feel bored. Also, this company values work/life balance and they offer flex time and work from home, which a lot of people take advantage of. There are barely any people in the office past 5pm, which is something I haven't seen anywhere else.

    Cons

    The health benefits could use some improving.

    A.M. Best2016-11-03
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oldwick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.M. Best full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hard and you will get noticed. Many people complain about stagnant salaries when they don't do the work required to qualify for a significant raise. Good work life balance and employees are nice.

    Cons

    Management should promote continuing education for employees. Use the latest technology so that we can compete with others in the insurance ratings industry.

    Continue reading
    A.M. Best2016-10-04
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews