Cover image for A New Leaf
Logo

A New Leaf

Engaged Employer

A New Leaf

Add a Review

A New Leaf Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Nov 21, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 83 of over 83 reviews
4.1
81% Recommend to a Friend
92% Approve of CEO

Found 17 of over 83 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
A New Leaf President & CEO Michael T. Hughes (no image)
Michael T. Hughes
49 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    rewarding

    Nov 21, 2021 - Youth Support Partner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    on your feet, social, and make an impact

    Cons

    low pay, stress, not much upward mobility

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    A New Leaf Response

    Marketing Manager

    Thank you for the positive review, we do our very best to provide a good working environment for all of our employees! We will be sure to pass along your pros and cons to management so they are aware, we are working to improve pay and reduce staff stress in several programs.

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    High turnover in staff

    May 11, 2021 - Youth Care Worker in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with the children was the positive aspect in my position/role.

    Cons

    This organization is not organized. There is no support from higher ups. High stress and low pay. This is an extremely high turnover job. As a result to the high turnover the kids don't really benefit from the program. Rather than building relationships, this issue adds to the instability and distrust in people.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    A New Leaf Response

    Marketing Manager

    We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience, staffing challenges in the post-pandemic employment market have made turnover increase, however we are doing our best to address these challenges. Please make an anonymous contact form submission here if you have any feedback for us on how to improve this: https://www.turnanewleaf.org/contact/

  3. Join the A New Leaf team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Agency to Work For

    Sep 30, 2020 - Administrative Assistant in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, Flexible Management, Opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Low pay and lack of COVID-19 precautions

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    A New Leaf Response

    Annual Fund Administrator

    We appreciate your positive rating! We are working hard to raise pay and provide protection to all front line staff. We will be sure to pass your comments along to management.

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A lot of potential

    Feb 19, 2019 - Youth Care Worker in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I liked my co-workers and clients. I could pick up extra shifts often. Great training and team building.

    Cons

    Very little support from supervisor, some staff unprofessional with clients and should not be working with youth. Too many clients and too little staff per room. LOW pay.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    A New Leaf Response

    Annual Fund Administrator

    We are glad that you enjoyed your coworkers and the clients - but we will certainly pass on your concerns to the HR Department regarding oversight. Providing a well-structured and encouraging place to work for all employees is our top priority!

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Would not recommend

    Jul 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have a great mission and values. You can feel good about the work you do in the community They are a company with a great heart.

    Cons

    Low pay for the work that is done. For a company with a big heart they do not treat their employees well. Some managers do not work well with people.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good luck you will need it...don't do it.

    Aug 14, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You do get to improve peoples lives through service. Schedule flexibility.

    Cons

    My experiences were.....upper management was dollar driven and not best practice driven. Clinical advisement was often completely disregarded. Finance numbers never made sense, if you questioned too much they eventually laid you off. As they say. Noticed staff turn over is ridiculously high, due to poor clinical support/direction, low pay and CONSTANT re-organization of positions. Check your ethics at the door, on many different levels. Management displayed Very little understanding or respect for behavioral health practices.

    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Employer

    Apr 8, 2019 - Case Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A New Leaf is doing important work for people and the community. They treat their employees well. They also promote from within and give you the chance to further your career.

    Cons

    Low pay and sometimes stressful work environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    A New Leaf Mesa

    Sep 25, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fortunately had a great supervisor, easy to get overtime because they are constantly understaffed

    Cons

    Pays much less than other agencies for the same job (case manager) Extremely high turnover, probably due to low pay

    1 person found this review helpful

    A New Leaf Response

    Annual Fund Administrator

    We are happy to see you had a good manager, we work hard to foster quality leadership. We will pass your thoughts on opportunities to improve regarding pay and turnover to our HR department. Thank you so much for your thoughts!

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Review

    Apr 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy, laid back company to work for.

    Cons

    Low pay and not really limited advancement.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    A New Leaf Response

    Annual Fund Administrator

    Hello! We are glad that you enjoy your employment with A New Leaf. We do our best to offer competitive pay and benefits in accordance with resources available, and compete fairly strongly with many nonprofits in the area. We will certainly look into improving advancement opportunities and career planning, excellent feedback!

  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Collection

    Oct 6, 2018 - Collector 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None terrible managers low pay

    Cons

    Low pay bad management decisions

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    A New Leaf Response

    Annual Fund Administrator

    Hello there, we would love to better understand your reason for this rating, please call our HR department at 480.464.7466 to share your thoughts! We always want our employees to have positive experiences.

Viewing 1 - 17 of 17 English Reviews
</>Embed

Work at A New Leaf? Share Your Experiences

A New Leaf logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

A New Leaf Photos

+ Add Photo
A New Leaf photo of: Melinda prepares to work as a case manager in A New Leaf's shelter services programs.
A New Leaf photo of: Colette and volunteers help prepare meals at one of A New Leaf's shelters.
A New Leaf photo of: Large volunteer groups often prepare meals at A New Leaf's homeless and domestic violence shelters.
A New Leaf photo of: Melinda and Jess deliver food to a domestic violence shelter
A New Leaf photo of: A New Leaf lights our administrative office purple for domestic violence awareness month.
A New Leaf photo of: Colette helps with many administrative tasks, and also helps recruit interns at program sites across the Valley!
A New Leaf photo of: Laura attends an event with community volunteers!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

A New Leaf Job Seekers Also Viewed

Bank of America Logo
Bank of America

3.9

36,191 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 83 A New Leaf reviews submitted anonymously by A New Leaf employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if A New Leaf is right for you.