A. O. Smith Reviews | Glassdoor

A. O. Smith Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Ajita G. Rajendra
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "great people, great benefits, overall great company and work environment(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, Great people and Great goal that the company is working towards(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have no cons due to my limited time being there as an intern(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lack of alignment among senior management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Job Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith for more than a year

    Pros

    Good and welcoming company to learn about water heating and treating technologies.

    Cons

    Location of facility is inconvenient from a driving perspective.

    A. O. Smith2019-08-21
  2. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator-CIM/Cross Reference File in Ashland City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great people here. Compensation, salary as well benefits, is very good. The company also goes above and beyond to reward and celebrate employees.

    Cons

    Job mobility, in my experience, hasn't been very accessible.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-31
  3. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety Engineer in Johnson City, TN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Looks for new ideas from employees and will implement

    Cons

    If you are not part of a Clique, you will go un. noticed.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t have willful blindness.

    A. O. Smith2019-08-05
  4. "Relaxed environment, not so good location wise."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extremely relaxed work environment. Higher ups willing to get you what you need to get the job done quicker or easier.

    Cons

    Ridiculous pay scales, slow to promote/give raises. Recently switched us to Salary Non-Exempt and took away our bonuses since we could now get overtime, were quickly told no overtime would be approved.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-08
  5. "Pleasant Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Ashland City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a very good company to work for with a great employee retention rate. Great CEO and a very enthusiastic employees

    Cons

    I have no cons due to my limited time being there as an intern.

    Advice to Management

    None

    A. O. Smith2019-06-30
  6. "Dishonest Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High profit margin business that was not hugely impacted by the Great Recession.

    Cons

    If you plan to put in your resignation with a two week notice, they will fire you that day and refuse to pay you the two week wages. I worked in a corporate functions role and the department manager decided to kick me out that day without paying me. Yet they have a policy that states all employees are required to give a two weeks notice. Most companies leave this decision to Human Resources nor do they allow this type...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix your subsidiaries operating procedures.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-30
  7. "Poorly managed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florence, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay, overtime is sometimes available.

    Cons

    Management, no communication, no set schedule, not guaranteed holidays off.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-08
  8. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith part-time

    Pros

    great people, great benefits, overall great company and work environment

    Cons

    I have no cons for AO Smith

    A. O. Smith2019-04-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Need leadership changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company has a great mission, vision and values So much potential to be better than they are

    Cons

    Old guard leadership, lack trust in employees, command and control, too many silos

    Advice to Management

    Take time to REALLY LISTEN to what employees say and act on it with trust & integrity

    A. O. Smith2019-04-11
  10. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder/Fabricator in Ashland City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training and extra work hours

    Cons

    Demand in productivity and accuracy

    Advice to Management

    None

    A. O. Smith2019-03-14
Found 117 reviews