A. O. Smith Reviews | Glassdoor

A. O. Smith Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
A. O. Smith CEO Ajita G. Rajendra  (no image)
Ajita G. Rajendra
31 Ratings
  1. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator-CIM/Cross Reference File in Ashland City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great people here. Compensation, salary as well benefits, is very good. The company also goes above and beyond to reward and celebrate employees.

    Cons

    Job mobility, in my experience, hasn't been very accessible.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-31
  2. "Relaxed environment, not so good location wise."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extremely relaxed work environment. Higher ups willing to get you what you need to get the job done quicker or easier.

    Cons

    Ridiculous pay scales, slow to promote/give raises. Recently switched us to Salary Non-Exempt and took away our bonuses since we could now get overtime, were quickly told no overtime would be approved.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-08
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith part-time

    Pros

    great people, great benefits, overall great company and work environment

    Cons

    I have no cons for AO Smith

    A. O. Smith2019-04-30
  5. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EHS Intern in Johnson City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Established company culture, normal hours, great office environment

    Cons

    No cons, other than maybe having to work longer when the factory was in overtime

    A. O. Smith2019-02-28
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at AO Smith for 20 years. They always treated me and my family well. They are an honest company that does business with integrity.

    Cons

    I can’t think of anything.

    A. O. Smith2019-02-17
  7. "Benefit & Compensation Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time

    Pros

    Nice co-workers Great place to work

    Cons

    There's nothing bad about this company.

    Advice to Management

    None

    A. O. Smith2018-10-05
  8. "AO Smith"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time

    Pros

    Great day to day work Environment

    Cons

    Appreciation to loyal and hard working employees sometimes overlooked

    A. O. Smith2018-10-02
  9. "Great company with top notch management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time

    Pros

    Good management from top to bottom. Senior management is very approachable, and they actually listen to their employees. People are promoted based on ability. Decent benefits. Very ethical company that does the right thing even if it costs them money. Offers tuition reimbursement for employees, and scholarships for their children. Company is profitable and growing.

    Cons

    Some growing pains and policy issues related to standardizing policies and practices among all of the divisions, since most were stand-alone companies that were purchased. Hours can be long during busy periods. Pay is average at best.

    Advice to Management

    Deal with problem employees with the policies that are already in place. Don't institute company wide policies to deal with problems with a few employees or problems at one division. Review the pay scales to prevent good people from leaving for more pay.

    A. O. Smith2018-08-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Definitely worth the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tank Tester in Ashland City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bill paying job with Saturday and Sunday off. Once you roll over from temporary worker with a company like Aerotek, you get all the full time benefits from day one. Paid Holidays, vacation time, health insurance. If I had known it was this decent I would have started working here a long time ago

    Cons

    Honestly the only downside to this place is it gets hot. But it definitely beats the other 9$ an hour crap jobs

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    A. O. Smith2018-03-19
  11. "Janitorial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Janitorial in Ashland City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working for this company best people ever

    Cons

    There are no cons to this company

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    A. O. Smith2018-01-29
Found 103 reviews