A. O. Smith Reviews | Glassdoor

A. O. Smith Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
A. O. Smith CEO Ajita G. Rajendra  (no image)
Ajita G. Rajendra
31 Ratings
  1. "Where to start..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Johnson City, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays decent. I’m really giving this one star because it won’t let me proceed with none.

    Cons

    Sexual harassment, 0 Management, Cliques, Favoritism... it’s basically high school all over again. This place is a joke. You start as a temp and when you make a sexual harassment claim you are “no longer needed”. Their motto is “family first” u til you need to take time off for family. Save your sanity and just avoid applying.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on how to actually manage, avoid gossip and showing obvious favoritism.

    A. O. Smith2019-10-06
  2. "warranty department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warrant Department in Ashland City, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good hours and no weekends

    Cons

    Difficult to get in a better position

    A. O. Smith2019-08-26
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    An amazing company, very ethical and lost of room to grow and advancement if you work hard. A large global team where everyone treats you as family

    Cons

    If you are good at your job, you get inundated with more work which effects your work/home balance. But if you want to advance, that is the sacrifice required

    Advice to Management

    Keep a home/work balance for your top performers, do not burn them out

    A. O. Smith2019-08-12
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety Engineer in Johnson City, TN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Looks for new ideas from employees and will implement

    Cons

    If you are not part of a Clique, you will go un. noticed.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t have willful blindness.

    A. O. Smith2019-08-05
  5. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator-CIM/Cross Reference File in Ashland City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great people here. Compensation, salary as well benefits, is very good. The company also goes above and beyond to reward and celebrate employees.

    Cons

    Job mobility, in my experience, hasn't been very accessible.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-31
  6. "Dishonest Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High profit margin business that was not hugely impacted by the Great Recession.

    Cons

    If you plan to put in your resignation with a two week notice, they will fire you that day and refuse to pay you the two week wages. I worked in a corporate functions role and the department manager decided to kick me out that day without paying me. Yet they have a policy that states all employees are required to give a two weeks notice. Most companies leave this decision to Human Resources nor do they allow this... type of behavior to happen due to repercussions on employee moral. AO Smith lets HR at their subsidiary companies and plant locations run rogue. When you reach out to AO Smith corporate directly for resolution they are unresponsive. My suggestion if you are a current employee that wants to leave do not give this employer any notice since department managers and local hr use this to retaliate against leaving employees. Unless you are in desperate need of a job, stay away from this dishonest employer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix your subsidiaries operating procedures.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-30
  7. "Overall Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Trainee in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working Environment Managers Work Timing Policies Employee Benefits Management Team

    Cons

    Salary Incentives Appraisal Policies Clear Communication Value of the employees

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your asset doesn't leave you if he or she has given the company 2+ YEARS. Recognize him or her and When he deserves a salary increase do it. Don't ask to stay for more time and den go ahead.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-23
  8. "Poorly managed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florence, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay, overtime is sometimes available.

    Cons

    Management, no communication, no set schedule, not guaranteed holidays off.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-08
  9. "Relaxed environment, not so good location wise."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extremely relaxed work environment. Higher ups willing to get you what you need to get the job done quicker or easier.

    Cons

    Ridiculous pay scales, slow to promote/give raises. Recently switched us to Salary Non-Exempt and took away our bonuses since we could now get overtime, were quickly told no overtime would be approved.

    A. O. Smith2019-07-08
  10. "Good for those who are able to make the decisions on there own"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Good Salary. 2. Friendly peoples. 3. Robust systems.

    Cons

    1. No one to guide you or teach you, you have to learn by yourself. 2. Market base is poor.

    A. O. Smith2019-05-20
Found 103 reviews