A. O. Smith Reviews | Glassdoor

A. O. Smith Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
A. O. Smith CEO Ajita G. Rajendra  (no image)
Ajita G. Rajendra
30 Ratings
  1. "Fair pay and benefits, awful management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Johnson City, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This company offers competitive pay and benefits. For the most part they are family oriented and realize life happens and are accommodating.

    Cons

    Project schedule needs work, communication between departments is nonexistent and moral runs low because management doesn't know how to inspire people.

    Advice to Management

    Better project scheduling, improve communication between departments

    A. O. Smith2017-09-05
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Technician in Ashland City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with friendly and knowledgeable people

    Cons

    Very hot during the summer - not climate controlled

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward with innovation, automation, and process controls.

    A. O. Smith2017-08-02
  3. "OK place to work that could pay more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unspecified Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's a well established global corporation with excellent resources. Many employees work their entire lives for A. O. Smith.

    Cons

    Low wages (well below average). Seems like they do what they can to pay you as little as they can get away with.

    Advice to Management

    I wish that management would get rid of bad employees, supervisors, managers, etc. Too many good employees are forced to do the work of their lazy co-workers.

    A. O. Smith2017-07-20
  4. "Not worth the money.Management sucks.Too much stress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Assembler in Johnson City, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people,I made some good friends there,pay was good but I got a point for clocking out a minute early to get to my friend/coworkers funeral who was murdered.

    Cons

    Too strict of a point system,I got a point when I was pregnant (high risk) and was out for 7 months and didn't find out about it til months later.The main boss at the time was a liar and totally unfait.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites.

    A. O. Smith2017-07-09
  5. "Good Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and they take care of their employees

    Cons

    Different attitude towards employees of the company they acquire.

    A. O. Smith2017-06-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -compensation in top 30% locally -beautiful office/work environment -great location, free covered parking -technology is up to date, e.g. iPhones issued, iPads, etc

    Cons

    -women are not promoted...NO C-LEVEL women exist, 13,00+ employees and only one woman in the level below C-Suite -C-Suite focused on self, poor managers of people -some departments have high levels of turnover -women engineers not promoted -lack of ethnic diversity, mangers all look like cousins lots of "values" talk but no paid sick time for hourly workers...what sort of value is that?

    Advice to Management

    pay attention to exit interviews

    A. O. Smith2017-05-05
  7. "INNOVATION HAS A NAME A.O.SMITH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Johnson City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Innovative company with its headquarter and several locations in USA and overseas ! Leader in consumer goods Residential Premium Signature LOWES Water Heaters.

    Cons

    Not Applicable, the Company has a High Standard Culture and Professional Values and Outstanding Customer Service and Product Excelence !

    Advice to Management

    Recomend Great Work Ethics and Company Values in all A.O.SMITH facilities.

    A. O. Smith2017-03-30
  8. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A. O. Smith full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Not to many cons to speak of

    A. O. Smith2017-02-20
  9. "Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A. O. Smith full-time

    Pros

    Sometimes there was free food. Some coworkers were cool.

    Cons

    Too much overtime. Work at least 55 hours a week and usually 6 days.

    A. O. Smith2017-02-22
  10. "Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at A. O. Smith for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is good. Binifets are good lots of overtime and opertunity to make good money

    Cons

    People don't know how to mind their own businesses and do their job

    A. O. Smith2017-01-14
Found 102 reviews