A Pea in the Pod Reviews | Glassdoor

A Pea in the Pod Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Cheryl A. Sorokin
8 Ratings
  1. "A Pea In the Pod"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Lead in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A Pea in the Pod part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great Staff Flexible Hours Amazing Clients

    Cons

    Very Slow Days Unorganized High Standards Overpriced

    Advice to Management

    Communication with staff goes a long way

    A Pea in the Pod2017-10-10
  2. "Growing and expanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bridgeport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at A Pea in the Pod full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Work is always available if you want it

    Cons

    Short of management staff. Employees not always supervised.

    A Pea in the Pod2019-01-12
  3. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A Pea in the Pod full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    learn a lot about pregnancy

    Cons

    salary and requirements of making sales to get hours

    Advice to Management

    find a better way to motivate employees

    A Pea in the Pod2019-01-04
  4. "Limited Growth and available work hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at A Pea in the Pod part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Exposure to learn how to manage a store

    Cons

    Low hours.. company not for their employees, low rentition

    A Pea in the Pod2019-01-03
  5. "key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at A Pea in the Pod full-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule, commission, customer focused

    Cons

    not a lot of room for growth

    A Pea in the Pod2017-04-26
  6. "Client Books"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A Pea in the Pod part-time

    Pros

    Worked with some great people. Very effeicient managment.

    Cons

    The companies priorities were very out of order. They placed way too much emphasis on our client books in a specifi type of retail where inevitably the customers are not consistant for a miriad of reasons. It was a huge waste of energy and time in my opinion.

    A Pea in the Pod2016-12-08
  7. "Low Pay, Poor Management Across the Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A Pea in the Pod

    Pros

    Low traffic store which means you're not busy very often.

    Cons

    Unqualified Sales Associates are promoted to management across the country. They may have sales experience but usually no people managing experience. Upper management makes decisions, which may be justified for reasons unknown to the stores, but do not make sense at the store level. Sometimes there are unrealistic sales and magazine subscription expectations. Stores often run out of product before its been replaced and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees more so you can get and keep good employees. Provide management training if you're not going to hire managers from outside the company.

    A Pea in the Pod2016-09-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "On the Fence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A Pea in the Pod

    Pros

    Awesome hours Great clients Nice Products Decent discount Flexible hours

    Cons

    Upper management (district manager, regional manager etc) treats anyone below them terribly, it's all about money and numbers, even if we make our goal we get chewed out for other things (upt, parents magazine sign ups, conversion etc), the company wants to be high end but the store doesn't reflect that and the company doesn't invest in store. Since there is only one Pea in the Pod in the area our district is lumped together...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees we know what it takes to run the store, we know our clients and what they want. Let the employees know how appreciated they are. The stores need a serious make over

    A Pea in the Pod2016-06-20
  9. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A Pea in the Pod full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great environment, wonderful team and clients. Very positive place to work. It's so amazing to connect with all the moms and share her excitement!

    Cons

    No major cons. Wish we could work with the moms-to-be for more than 5-6 months. However, very exciting to meet her new baby!

    A Pea in the Pod2016-04-15
  10. "part time sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A Pea in the Pod part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    getting to see the mom's the whole pregnancy and hearing her awesome stories.

    Cons

    technology isn't up to par with other companies, stressing magazines, and frequent corporate really grills for numbers all the time.

    A Pea in the Pod2016-04-01
Found 16 reviews