A Place for Mom Reviews | Glassdoor

A Place for Mom Reviews

Updated March 22, 2019
318 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
A Place for Mom CEO Sean Kell
Sean Kell
216 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "ability to work from home (it is very encouraged)" (in 75 reviews)

  • "Helping families find the best solution for their particular needs" (in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lean staffing -- sometimes difficult to maintain work-life balance" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Working from home is not for everyone, you need to be able to separate yourself from work" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A Place for Mom full-time

    Pros

    -Great team with many new leaders over last several months
    -Great mission to help people find the right assisted/senior living accommodations
    -Downtown with easy transportation options, not near Mercer mess
    -Large, growing market opportunity
    -Good blend of start-up and scale

    Cons

    -More meetings than I'd like

    A Place for Mom Response

    Dec 10, 2018 – A Place for Mom Communications

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! We agree that we have a great team and are happy to have you on the team helping people find senior living options.


  2. "Great culture and amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A Place for Mom full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    1. Great technologies
    2. Very close to customer
    3. Great impact on customer
    4. Amazing Upper manager (CTO and Director of tech)
    5. Great collaborative culture
    6. Work place (Columbia Tower)
    7. ability to work from home (it is very encouraged)
    I have been in Microsoft for 20 years before joining APFM. When I talked to the Director of technology in APFM, I was amazed by the vision, technologies, and the values. I had a peek to Glass Door and I was almost refusing the offer because of the negative feedback I have seen. However, after talking to people and reading recent reviews, I realized that they have changed upper management completely and they are promoting new culture. I am writing this after 3 months of great experience. The Culture is better than Microsoft. They encourage collaboration with no competition. I have met very technical and smart people who can help you to grow and invest in you. Managers and directors sincerely invest in people and care about them. No politics and reasonable requirements. Very smart people in tech org. I love my work and feel excited to go to work every day.

    Cons

    Medical Insurance. However, I am comparing them to the best Medical Benefits in the world (Microsoft)

    Advice to Management

    I love the culture that you are building based on People and investing on developers. Thanks for making APFM a great place to work in. especial thanks to Nitin, Stuart, and Gary.

    A Place for Mom Response

    Feb 4, 2019 – A Place for Mom Communications

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad to have you on the team.

  3. "A Place in Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A Place for Mom full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    * Noble cause of helping families and their senior loved ones
    * Beautiful offices in downtown Seattle. Great holiday parties.
    * By in large, nice and talented co-workers
    * World-class Private Equity owners

    Cons

    The company went through an ownership change in 2017, which lead to a lot of churn at the leadership level. The top two brass (CEO and COO) had a falling-out which resulted in a lot of swirl and collateral damage, much of which is captured in these reviews.

    These two leaders had established diverging cultures, management philosophies and strategies in the respective offices they headed up. This lead to some discord throughout the organization. Change needed to happen, but there was a lack of transparency and in some cases downright dishonesty about the reasons for the change. This caused a lot of good people to leave, and more dominoes to fall including the entire Austin office getting shut down last year.

    There was a lot of disruption and a big talent drain in the process. In the void, there were some unqualified team members promoted to leadership positions.

    New leadership was brought in on the Marketing and Technology teams. They seem to be solid hires, however they inherited a mess to clean up and an underperforming business to course correct. Ultimately the advisors and partners are feeling the pain as lead volume and quality has dropped.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Management ruined it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Living Advisor in Port St Lucie, FL
    Former Employee - Senior Living Advisor in Port St Lucie, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A Place for Mom full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work at home. Help seniors find the care they need

    Cons

    Lead volume and quality dropped since the new ceo began. Can barely make a living now.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to what you did in the past. What you’re doing now is not working.

    A Place for Mom Response

    Mar 18, 2019 – A Place for Mom Communications

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear that your job helping seniors was fulfilling and that you enjoyed working from home. Our CEO, Sean Kell, has been with A Place for Mom since... More


  5. Helpful (5)

    "This place is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SLA in Orange, CA
    Former Employee - SLA in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A Place for Mom full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They do have a wonderful, informative two-week training program where the trainers are all very knowledgeable and supportive.

    Cons

    Very high-stress based on unrealistic metrics. The only ones that succeed here are the long-term employees. It is almost becoming somewhat of a pyramid scheme. They are constantly letting go of the new people who do not get paid for their previous month's sales.
    The communities/partners that they serve all have negative feedback.

    Advice to Management

    You need to actually allow time for the SLA's to listen to the families.

    A Place for Mom Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – A Place for Mom Communications

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our training program! We work with over 18,500 partners across North America and we are very proud of the relationships we have with... More


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SLA in Bellevue, WA
    Former Employee - SLA in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at A Place for Mom full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You can help some of the people some of the time.

    Cons

    If employment ends, they will steal your PTO hours if your state allows this.
    Most of your leads will not financially qualify for referrals. Leads must be able to private pay and 75% of leads will not financially qualify.

    Advice to Management

    Quit tricking people in to calling you. This is just wrong.

    A Place for Mom Response

    Feb 19, 2019 – A Place for Mom Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. As you know, we help families with one of the most difficult decisions they will ever have to make: the process of helping an aging parent make “the transition” from... More


  7. "Fast paced, ever changing environment. Great mission to help every family find the appropriate eldercare solution."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Sales Manager
    Current Employee - National Sales Manager
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A Place for Mom full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Helping families is rewarding. Growth within the company makes the work more interesting.

    Cons

    Growing pains can make the environment challenging. Different divisions don't always communicate well.

    A Place for Mom Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – A Place for Mom Communications

    Thank you so much for your feedback and everything you do every day to help families. We are glad to have you part of the A Place for Mom team and to hear you find your work helping families... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "High tech without the high touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Some great people working to help families

    Cons

    Not enough time to help families properly

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your ground level employees

    A Place for Mom Response

    Feb 19, 2019 – A Place for Mom Communications

    Thank you for your feedback and thank you for everything you do every day to help families! We would love to hear your suggestions. Please contact your manager or email HR (hr@aplaceformom.com) so... More


  9. "Great benefits, great support for employees and our work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Technical SEO in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Technical SEO in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A Place for Mom full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A lot of communication from executive leadership to employees further down the hierarchy; great support to drive success in our roles with tools and guidance and leeway to take ownership.

    Cons

    It's a decent sized company and we're spread out across the US and in other countries as well so all being on the same 'page' is sometimes challenging, but this isn't anything unique to A Place for Mom.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting employees, autonomy and flexibility are powerful motivators as you know!

    A Place for Mom Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – A Place for Mom Communications

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to have you on the A Place for Mom team!


  10. Helpful (5)

    "Not all sunshine and rainbows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A Place for Mom full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    PTO - 3 weeks to start + 10 holidays and 2 float days

    An abundance of free food

    Pretty flexible scheduling (in my department anyway)

    Cons

    Little to no room for advancement
    Benefits aren’t great
    Only care about the sales team
    Only care about money even if it means sacrificing relationships with partners or getting a bad reputation
    Raises don’t even cover cost of living increases especially in Seattle

    Advice to Management

    Address the issues with the sales team. Executives know there are invoicing issues but choose to ignore them because of how great monthly booked revenue looks.

    Take care of all employees the way you take care of the sales team.

    Considering how much revenue we bring in each month, it seems like you could afford better raises, and better benefits. Your 401k match is a joke (25cents on the dollar) .

    A Place for Mom Response

    Feb 1, 2019 – A Place for Mom Communications

    Thank you for your comments and thank you for being a valued part of the A Place for Mom team and for all you do to help families! A Place for Mom was founded as a business to provide free assistance... More